No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Atlantic Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
32 BEACH ROAD , WESTON-SUPER-MARE, BS23 1BA

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Beach 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Grand Atlantic Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in Weston Super Mare, a truly iconic Victorian hotel with turrets, towers and stunning views across the sea. A stone's throw away from the sandy beach and a short stroll from the town centre the hotel has maintained its charm and character. It boasts an elegant reception and lounge area and also offers a restaurant and bar overlooking the seafront. Full English Breakfast served in the Restaurant from 8.00am (Continental Breakfasts are offered at earlier times)
With 71 rooms all with en suite bathrooms, sea view rooms are available at a supplement and a recently refurbished restaurant with picturesque views across the sea and complimentary Wi-Fi in public lounges and ample onsite car parking free of charge.
Suitable for families and couples, The Grand Atlantic Hotel is the perfect location for hotel breaks in Weston Super Mare.
Picture of The Grand Atlantic Hotel, WESTON-SUPER-MARE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 118 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again!
We booked the hotel through Laterooms.com to celebrate my wifes birthday. The room was apparently normally £200. We asked for a sea view. When we arrived, the disabled lift to gain access to the reception from ground level outside displayed a sign saying it was broken, and there was no way of attracting anyone's attention so I struggled up the steps with the case. When we were eventually seen at reception we were given the keys and on arriving at the room via an antiquated little lift, not only was the room tiny, musty smelling and well overdue for re-decorating, but it was also in partial darkness. This was due to the fact there was only one small window which was filthy and had a view of a fire escape and a brick wall opposite. A quick look in the en-suite showed this was very dated too. We returned to reception and told them the room was not up to standard. They attempted to defend the state of this £200 room. Needless to say we left, drove a few hundred yards to the Premier Inn and secured a beautiful comfortable room with a magnificent view of the beach, the Pier and the Welsh coastline for £30 less...and the staff could not have been more pleasant.

Reviewed by
m mears

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The grand atlantic weston super mare
Charming hotel great room and good breakfast would stay again

Reviewed by
john S

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel!!!
We stayed at the grand atlantic as a stop off on our way to Newquay. Fantastic hotel right on the seafront. Reception staff were fantastic and very accommodating and one room was even upgraded which was fantastic. The views were stunning. We had our evening meal in the bar/lounge which was fan however bar staff could seem a little happier :-/ this is be because the general clientele is generally slightly older so perhaps they weren't used to having younger guests? Still pleasant none the less. Breakfast was great, staff lovely and again very accommodating. Overall fab stay and plan to return next year!!

Reviewed by
L Green

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was like a sauna even without heating. The enamel on the bath was nearly all worn off and all bath handles were loose. the window in the room was very small and would only open 3 inches and because of this I was waking up every 2hrs because I could not breath. The lift was to small and took forever. the bar service was very slow and the breakfast was small and cold. the payment was taken from my account before I WAS Given a key.

Reviewed by
Kenneth C

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room 322
We have stayed in cheaper B&Bs that were better quality than this hotel room. Ceiling paint peeling off, bath panel coming off, damp above shower, shower looked like it was from the 50s as was the furniture. The floor boards made so much noise it woke my partner up when either one of us got up for the toilet. We stayed on a cool weather weekend but had to keep the window and curtains open to gasp for any type of breeze. My husband even slept on a towel as he was sweating that much. If you walked across the room the signal on the tele would go or it would freeze but soon come back. Under the bed hadn't seen a hoover in a long time, even found nail clippings in the carpet by the chairs.
Breakfast portion was very small and the bacon was like rubber. The breakfast staff were very polite as were the Reception staff.
We were originally given room 213 which was a twin not a double and this room was the same state as the one we moved to.
On review, amazing friendly staff but very very over priced for the state of the rooms, would not recommend nor would we return.

Reviewed by
m brown

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was a very nice room. spacious and airy. My wifes bed was a bit lumpy she said. The bathroom needed a makeover. It wasn't very clean at all. But for one nights stay was o.k. The hotel its self was nice and entertainment in the evening was good.

Reviewed by
s wright

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Grand Atlantic
Enjoyed very much the days we spent in the hotel, the staff were helpful and nothing too much trouble. We certainly would stay again at this hotel.

Reviewed by
Leslie Fell

From Southminster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very very disappointing would not stay again.
The entrance to the hotel was dirty. Although we had an upgrade the room was very very shabby. Bed and pillows tired, the coloured throw and matching cushions was dirty and stained. The window frame was absolutely filthy with black mould and did not close properly. The bathroom had a bad small, the wash basin taps was loose, the loo roll holder was broken and the tiles behind the toilet were broken. The shower curtain was disgusting and one wanted to ensure no part of it touched your body. The bedroom furniture was chipped and stained and the carpet was sticky one did not want to tread on it with bare feet! The door handle to our room was broken and it was challenging to say the least to manage to gain access to the room.
The dinning room was shabby and very tired the cushions were stained and seating areas dirty. When we requested to sit at a window table where the air was fresher and the seating was slightly cleaner, it was not received well and after the waitress tried her utmost to dissuade us against the move it was not happily received when we insisted we moved. The food was not to the standard we would expect and my cutlery had to be changed because some of it was dirty!
The waitresses were not particularly happy and the young man who was serving had a dirty apron and a scruffy shirt although he was very pleasant in his manner.
All in all we felt like we had landed in an episode of Faulty Towers every about the hotel is run down scruffy and clearly lacks maintenance in all public areas and certainly in our room. The breakfast was what could be termed 'greasy spoon quality' indeed very poor !
Clearly we are very very disappointed even at the discounted rate because the hotel was so dirty and shabby this is such a shame as it was a prestige hotel years ago. We would never stay there again and would recommend that it is a hotel to avoid. First impressions count and if management cannot ensure they have the front steps to the hotel kept clean and inviting they do not deserve to be in business.

Reviewed by
C Harris

From Bewdley, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel set right on the seafront. The only critical thing I can say is that we were put in a room overlooking a wall and lower roof. However we booked through Late rooms.com and was probably the only room left so can't really complain. Rest of hotel was very plush and food in restaurant excellent.

Reviewed by
S Mayne

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Staff were lovely, upgraded us to a sea view room upon arrival, said the room was small but had a sea view. Was still a fine size, excellent facilities. The hotel is clearly very old but that didn't detract from our stay!

Reviewed by
S James

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next