Reviews - The Grand Atlantic Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (62)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Diane J

  • May 2014

The hotel really needs a face lift.

The shower was dirty, toilet wouldn't flush!. No spoons with cup & saucers. In restaurant

Staff were friendly enough and food was of a good standard just a shame about the rooms being very dated

  • S James

  • May 2014

Lovely stay

Staff were lovely, upgraded us to a sea view room upon arrival, said the room was small but had a sea view.

Was still a fine size, excellent facilities. The hotel is clearly very old but that didn't detract from our stay!

  • Judy Hampson

  • May 2014

Staff very obliging and courteous.

  • John Wardell

  • May 2014

Good value for money, hotel slightly dated but clean.

  • R Beadle

  • April 2014

Last minute trip in the sun

On arrival we were given upgrades to sea view double rooms which was very much appreciated.

The hotel was clean, tidy and welcoming and everything we wanted.

  • P Loveday

  • April 2014

Good value for money

Lovely old grand hotel with wonderful sea views.

  • andrew b

  • March 2014

great experience

Hotel was 2nd to none.

Cant fault it would recommend it and willb staying there again

  • G Davis

  • March 2014

Great quality ,location and friendliness

  • Jo S

  • March 2014

No Internet and disappointing issues over dinner

This hotel is easy to find, has good parking and is right on the front with fab views.

The reception service was slow - they had only one member of staff working and she was tied up with a complicated enquiry but didn't acknowledge us for some time.

There is no internet in the rooms and the wi-fi in the lobby was poor, worse in the bar area. Rooms were clean and neat - a little old-fashioned but that was the nature of the place, I think. We ate in the bar in the evening and this was the most disappointing part: we ordered scampi and chips and the gourmet burger, waited for 40 mins before being told that they had only just got to our order and they had no chips and no gourmet burger. They offered saute potatoes in place of chips and said that my colleague could have anything from the menu without extra charge over the cost of the burger. He chose the steak, naturally, and when the food arrived it was good although, by that time, boot leather would have tasted good. We understand that kitchens run out of things but it was very irritating not to be told this earlier. The rooms were reasonably comfortable and not too hot, the sea view was amazing but we were both woken by council workers blowing sand off the prom with leaf blowers at 6am.

The very cheap price through LateRooms made this stay good value, but I wouldn't pay more fr a stay here.

  • A Butler

  • March 2014

it will do

This hotel is over a hundred years old and more run as more of a bad of operations for retired peoples excursions.

I am not retired sadly. The rooms need a lot of work to bring them up to date. Really the whole hotel does. Staff are very nice and pleasant and turn b was excellent. We has a bad meal a well and that was simply whatever the brake Bros van left, nothing special, but over cooked really, which isn't that God for fish and chips. Knowing what to expect I'd stay again however and this is what matters.