No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Court Hotel & Suites

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
The Old Court Hotel Symonds Yat West, Ross on Wye, HR9 6DA
The Old Court is an Elizabethan Manor House which was converted into a hotel in the late 1960s. The hotel is set in the Lower Wye Valley within the ANOB. The setting is perfect for all country pursuits from a gentle stroll along the River Wye to more energetic Canoeing or moresedate Fishing and Shooting. We are perfectly located for exploring the Brecon Beacons, Malvern Hills, Wye Valley and Cotswolds. Bristol, Cheltenham and Cardiff are all also on the doorstep if in need of some retail therapy!

The hotel has a spacious garden where you can sit on the Patio and drink coffee or hide away at the back of the garden behind the beds and shrubs. The hotel has a fabulous Tudor Dining Room which is candlelit each evening served hearty a la carte food. It also boasts the busy Cotswold Bar with a more informal menu but with the same hearty value behind the dishes.
Picture of Old Court Hotel & Suites, Ross on Wye at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location, helpful staff
This was a nice place to stay for a weekend break, the staff were very helpful giving directions and advice for places to eat and walking. Our room was very small but it was the basic rate room. Breakfast had a wide choice of food and the location is great, the grounds are lovely with nice gardens.

Reviewed by
s daniel

From Cowbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent venue and mini-break
We stay in hotels frequently on mini-breaks both here and abroad. This hotel is excellent, clean, great staff, beautiful gardens and location. We have already recommended this hotel to daughter and friends.

Reviewed by
Paul Allen

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant family -run hotel
Comfortable standard room in an old hotel with character . A very enjoyable evening meal with a good range of dishes and an excellent breakfast. We used the main restaurant for a lunch after a local funeral and it was delicious. The staff, without exception were helpful and accommodating.

Reviewed by
David Foss-Smith

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
We stayed here for one night to rest well before a 3 day canoe, so had high hopes for a good night's sleep. The room was comfortable, the bed well made, though the pillows were a little lumpy. The bathroom was basic but clean. The curtains were quite thin and only just met in the middle, which let in light in the morning, but since we were getting up anyway this didn't matter so much. If you're hoping for a lie in, perhaps request one that isn't facing east. The hotel itself is beautiful and set in gorgeous surroundings. Breakfast is served in a little 'great hall' with enormous fireplace and wooden beams. The food was good, freshly made and the coffee was plentiful and fresh. The staff were very friendly. All in all, I enjoyed the stay and would stay again.

Reviewed by
A Zander

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel.
The hotel and food were excellent. A beautiful building set in a beautiful location. The staff were welcoming and relaxed.

Reviewed by
Sally M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All staff very helpful and polite
Hotel having new roof so scaffolding etc round hotel, and there had been a leak in the dinning room ceiling, staff and owners very helpful and under the circumstances

Reviewed by
HELEN W

From Prestatyn, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff are very helpful and always seeking to ensure you have all you need. They cannot be faulted.The two bedrooms that we had were desparately in need of the bathrooms being updated and sorting out the miles of electrical cables trailing around the room. Lampshades had clearly not be cleaned for months. Beds very comfortable. Breakfast was good. In general this was not what I expected for the costs we paid, even with a laterooms deal. Sorry to say this but we have stayed in much higher quality hotels for half this money. Its such a shame as this place could be top dollar.

Reviewed by
Guy R

From Launceston, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quick overnight stop
Only stayed for one night whilst up fishing the Wye. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating.
I was planning an early start (5am), so was able to settle up and leave easily. Single room 'Simpson' was packed with double bed and a host of furniture, ensuite was large, but shower pressure was just passable

Reviewed by
J Alexander

From , England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel but dark family rooms
We enjoyed a nice stay at the hotel with exceptionally friendly staff, very good English breakfast and very good food. Very family friendly. We didn't like the family suite, because it does not have any windows in the main room, making it very dark and depressive mainly during a rainy day.

Reviewed by
Gregor H

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely old building in a beautiful countryside setting.
Lovely staff, particularly the young lady and reception.
The room was large but was above the wedding reception area which could be a problem at a weekend (we were on a Monday and it was not a problem!). Very steep stairs to the room which could be a problem for some people. The room was a little bit dated but was absolutely clean and the shower worked very well, which is not always the case in an older building.
The hotel was very quiet (on Monday when it was snowing!) And we ate, with others, in the very quaint bar with a very comfortable bar.
The breakfast was excellent, and is situated in the conservatory.
The hotel has a beautiful garden, which would be lovely for a lunch in the summer. We will come back again at that time!

Reviewed by
Ian D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.