No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Melville Hotel

1Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
70-72 Adelaide Street West, , , Blackpool, FY1 4LA
Now under new management, there has never been a better time to stay at The Melville! With their extensive experience in the hospitality industry and their tremendous enthusiasm, the management will be working hard to provide you with the best possible service. Set in the very heart of Blackpool, the hotel offers comfortable rooms, good food and a full entertainment programme. What’s more, step outside and you’ll find the Tower, the Promenade and the main shopping centre all within minutes’ walking distance - and the famous Winter Gardens literally across the road, making us the perfect base for conference delegates and dance competitors! Ideally situated opposite the Winter Gardens and within minutes walking distance of the Tower, Promenade and main shopping centre. Britain’s most popular holiday destination…and for many good reasons! This is such an exciting place to be - whatever time of year, and whatever the weather, there’s always so much to do and see that you’ll always be spoilt for choice; and wide-eyed with amazement!
Picture of Melville Hotel, Blackpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic, but clean. No shower in room just bath. Couldnt pay by card and no parking. However did what we wanted a bed and somewhere to wash as just staying 1 night to watch a show at winter gardens.

Reviewed by
clare p

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

other guests noisy, little sound proofing in rooms, no remote for tv

Reviewed by
Lavinia M

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

blackpool army reunion 2014
Nice hotel..friendly helpful staff..close to all amenities and would definitely recommend to friends and stay here again all thanks to LateRooms.com

Reviewed by
j roberts

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

blackpool army reunion 2014
Not been blackpool for over 20years and apart from the rain friday it was an enjoyable stay especially at the Melville with friendly helpful staff. Definitely stop at this hotel again

Reviewed by
j roberts

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant!
I would recommend this hotel to anybody!
Staff are super friendly and the lady who works their doesn't half make you laugh she's such a lovely woman who knows 100% banter!
The man on arrival was super friendly and even went all out to tell us the attractions and how to get to them such a lovely bloke.
Another lad set up an ironing board and iron for us in the dining room.
We booked to go on a night out but before we went out we got drinks from the bar, all hotel is super clean can't fault it one bit. Bedding smelt gorgeous and fresh bathroom was lovely and clean!
As we said we went for the night out so we was the noisy ones walls must be sound proof because I didn't hear a thing!
Thank you for the experience!

Reviewed by
Abbie O

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wouldn't stay again
we stayed in a twin room which was quite small, there was a bath, no shower. the bathroom needed decorating as paint was peeling off the walls and the taps had green on them. there was a..... let's just say an unpleasant gift, waiting for us in our toilet which we found totally unacceptable. The walls were very thin, we could hear the people in the room next door talking, practically word for word! and when the people in the room on the other side were walking around we could hear very loud squeaking, i'm assuming a problem with floor boards.
My friend and I were planning on returning to our room at different times of night but on request of a second key we were told there weren't any! instead I had to leave my friend with the key as he was to return later than me and I had to ask the porter to let me in the room with his master key. when I did this I was spoken to in a very abrupt manner as if I was asking for something illegal! and he'd never met me and just let me into the room I asked for without any id or proof that it was in fact my room! I dread to think what could have happened, i'm surprised people haven't been robbed.
We thought it was going to be a nice hotel as on late rooms where the pricing info is it said £40 per room but above it was £100 with a line through it. if i'd paid £100 i'd have asked for my money back, there was no breakfast included and for £100 I would have expected it.
I go to blackpool quite frequently and i'm not a fussy person. I look for somewhere clean with an ensuite. I have to say without exaggeration that this is the worst stay I've ever had in blackpool and couldn't UNrecommend it enough

Reviewed by
andrea s

From Egremont, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
I was in the room right next to the bar and i couldnt even hear the television until 10.30 every night (never mind sleep) due to the entertainment.

Reviewed by
gordon m

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary weekend ruined
we turned up at the hotel at approx. 1500hrs and asked about parking, they only have 4 parking spaces and then it took 1 hour to find somewhere close to park. The room was at the very top od the hotel and smelt very damp. early evening my wife went to shower and to say that I have had better showers in the jungle is an underestimate. we were told there were no rooms to move to and try the pressure in the morning as it might be too many users. no change, I went to make a cup of tea only to find the appliances were out of date PAT testing by 15 months with the TV showing failed test do not use. Fire extinguishers were being used to keep doors open. to that end the staff were very pleasant and tried to resolve some issues. Breakfast was OK but not a full English as I was expecting. 1/4 of fried bread, no mushrooms. very disappointed and only saved by a very good meal at an Italian restaurant.

Reviewed by
Steve G

From Knaresborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Melville Hotel Blackpool
Location excellent. Friendly helpful reception staff. I just wanted somewhere to sleep as it was hot out, so I did not spend much time in the room in the day. Bar was quiet except the bar man putting 'ddd' music on. Some people come back late and there was noise in the bar until 1.10 in the morning. The hotel should advise beforehand if they are putting you in a room by bar, although they kindly moved me. There was a dirty hand towel behind the bathroom door, and a cushion which the underside was abit dirty. I would stay there again for location providing the bar is quiet.

Reviewed by
Linda P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel
Me and my girlfriend are early 20's and our last stay was the 3rd time we have stayed at the Melville Hotel. We absolutely love it there, the rooms are clean and great value for money. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our last stay we took a couple of friends with us and they completely agreed with us, they enjoyed every minute. The food is also fantastic. I have recommended this hotel to all my friends and family if they ever in the future need a hotel in Blackpool. Me and my girlfriend would not stay anywhere else and we are planning on making our Blackpool visit an annual thing.

Reviewed by
Robert Charlton

From Neston, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next