No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George and Dragon

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Market street, East Harling, , Norwich, NR16 2AD
Situated just of the A11 (Thetford 15 mins, Norwich 20mins) the George and Dragon provides a perfect base if you are visiting Norfolk for business, holiday, or Snetterton Race track. Thetford is an ancient market town filled to the brim with history and heritage sites, quiet gardens, open parkland and a relaxing riverside. With Thetford Forest right on our doorstep, this is also the best base for discovering the wildlife and outdoor pleasures of The Brecks … ideal for walking, cycling, riding and action-packed adventure days! From its breathtaking cathedral to the splendid ancient houses, Norwich has some fascinating places to visit. Discover the rich history of the city and its people over the past 2000 years, learn about the famous Colman's Mustard or enjoy a delicious cream tea in of one the beautiful medieval buildings. Whatever time of year you visit there is much to explore and enjoy in and around this amazing city.
Picture of George and Dragon, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome and good atmosphere
We were warmly welcomed and shown to our well-appointed room. Our evening meal was delicious and well-presented and good value for money. The hotel is extremely popular with locals and also has 'open house' at breakfast time, with several groups of locals popping in for a sociable breakfast together. Altogether a very welcoming place.

Reviewed by
John C

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay, ideal location for Snetterton Circuit

Reviewed by
M McCourt

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Snetterton bsb
our stay was very good food ok rooms ok

Reviewed by
C Hurst

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant place to stay
Sue and the rest of the staff are fabulous and the food is fantastic.

Reviewed by
Redmond Bush

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly reception, with good food and good value wine. Breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Richard Knight

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Village atmosphere with up to date modern accommodation and service.
Recently refitted accommodation to a high standard including good size TV with all normal channels. Very clean, actually HOT water, which not always the case.
Only comment on the accommodation is the access by circular staircase which could cause problems for customers with restricted mobility. This should be pointed out to those booking accommodation. Food excellent with good choice of menus and specials.
Hostess runs the show with a hands on and friendly approach.

Reviewed by
gordon W

From Hockley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night business trip
Great place, very easy going pub with rooms. Clean, up to date rooms & importantly to me quiet. My only critisism is no bin in the room for tea ags rubbish etc.
Food good with fast & friendly service

Reviewed by
Jerry H

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I only ate breakfast here but the hotel has an excellent reputation for its food

Reviewed by
Sharon P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay in Norfolk
Stayed here for 4 nights as a base for exploring Norfolk and visiting relatives in Norfolk and Suffolk. Excellent accommodation, very helpful and friendly staff, good food and Ale. I looked forward to breakfast every morning, having ordered it the day before and even being able to pick the time you want it. Room was just right for us, being modern, clean and comfortable, with good T.V. hot drink making facilities and comfortable bed. Good strong shower.
On the possible minus side (depending on your own circumstances) the shower compartment may bit a bit tight for some, the spiral staircase up to the rooms may be a bit awkward to ascend for some. However these are small niggles that should not put you off giving the place a go, as we would stay there again if in the area. By the way there is England's only Single Malt Whisky Distillery (St George Distillery) just one mile away!

Reviewed by
Ian Riley

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay for Snetterton - perfect
Was working at Snetterton the next day so George and Dragon was ideally located, but when I checked in was immediately impressed by the size and cleanliness of my single occupancy room and also the friendly restaurant downstairs where I was able to grab a good meal (scampi was spot on) and even sit and watch England game whilst working away on the laptop and chatting to the locals.
Was asked what time I would like breakfast (nice) and seven was not an issue (even nicer) full English was perfect start to a busy day's work. Would undoubtedly stay again when back at Snet.

Reviewed by
Neil W

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next