You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Golden Lion Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (15)

60% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • L Longbourne

  • June 2016

Room was freezing cold as the heating was not working and although this did get rectified it took some time a few hours as we reported it when we checked in at around 4pm and it wasn't fixed until around 9.30 pm.

Breafast wasn't great mediocre and the room that it was taken I was a very dark room with no natural light . We had been told on check in that it would be served in the dining room over looking the sea .but when we came down the workman were in and starting to refurbish the room. Not good value at £109.00 for one night would only stay here again if nowhere else was available


  • July 2015

Absolutely disgusted with this hotel

Cant believe i paid £99 for this hotel.

Toilet was blocked. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Mike H

  • June 2015

The Golden Lion Hotel

Found room very tired.

Would have appreciate if wifi being available in our room.

  • Shaun L

  • April 2015

The Golden Lion Hotel

The room was small but adequate.

Staff were pleasant but the duty manager did not seem to be enjoying her position her overall persona was just going through the motions. The room was extremely cold and when questioned about it came up with a load of waffle.Other guests were also complaining if waking in the middle of the night cold due to the heating being switched off. I wouldn't stay again in winter due to this but would try in the summer.

  • Ann Norman

  • April 2015

very satisfied

Booked this late deal and found that the Hotel was very pleasant.

The standard room was good with a side sea view. Everything we needed was provided and breakfast was good. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • P Deakins

  • April 2015


Super room.

Super service. Super view.

  • H Turner

  • April 2015

Great location, nice hotel. Staff not so good

the hotel is in a perfect location and very well done inside, the food was nice, the rooms were basic but clean and tidy.

However the staff were very unwelcoming and not helpful in the slightest. It says there is onsite parking, though on arrival we were told it was first come first serve and that the chances of a parking space was slim. There was a young blonde girl working in the restaurant being very difficult about us having a meal in there so we resorted to having a snack from the bar area. Customer service skills and a few smiles would have made this hotel great a great one. Unfortunately would not stay here again

  • J Meadows

  • February 2015

A lovely stay

The hotel is an attractive building in a wonderful position, overlooking the sea.

We were pleased to have been given a lovely room with sea view at no extra cost. Room and bed were very comfortable. Bathroom was spacious with very nice power shower. Breakfast had lots of choice and staff throughout were pleasant and helpful.

  • Bryan Whiteman

  • February 2015

warm comfortable and clean room, friendly and efficient staff good choice for breakfast.

most enjoyable stay.

  • stewart jenkins

  • February 2015

Weekend break

The weather was wild outside - strong freezing winds so the old sash windows let in the cold air, so the room was a bit cool.

We had a side room with a sea view which was a bit of a bonus; despite the weather. The staff gave us an extra quilt for the bed and we were snug as bug in a rug. The breakfast was very good and the staff very courteous - we will definitely return.