No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Golden Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE GREEN , HUNSTANTON, PE36 6BQ
Built in 1846, The Golden Lion Hotel is the oldest building in Hunstanton and, whilst it has been added to and recently modernised, it still holds on to its old world charm.with panoramic views of the sea and enticing sandy beach; The views across the Wash are stunning and a real feature for us, and sunsets are often a sight to behold.
Recent refurbishment has given us a beautiful restaurant, updated function room and some lovely bedrooms.
Picture of The Golden Lion Hotel, HUNSTANTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful sunny location with great views over looking the wash and gardens
On arriving the receptionist was a little cold. I didn’t feel very welcome. "You will have to" is not the best terminology when helping guests to find parking.
My room (304) ground floor was situated next to a garden path and an outside drinking area. It was also overlooked by 3 storey flats, therefore was not very private. The room didn’t have net curtains over the bedroom window witch would have alleviated the problem.
The corridor leading to the rooms smelt of mould and looked damp in places, as did my room. The accommodation was very clean as was the bathroom. Both were well equipped.

Reviewed by
K Fuller

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in great position
Had a lovely time and the staff were really nice

Reviewed by
Derek Moore

From Beccles, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than we ever expected!
I booked The Golden Lion Hotel when I had a spontaneous moment and decided I wanted to take my youngest step daughter to the seaside for a night. When we arrived we were thrilled with the location of the hotel and the fact we could park right outside, for free! We had expected to share a double bed but the room was absolutely huge and had a double and single bed as well as a massive bathroom and table and seating area. It was literally a minute walk to the beach and all the attractions Hunstanton has to offer. The hotel was clean and well staffed. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Our room rate included breakfast and although we chose not to eat, the menu offered a good selection and the food we saw coming out looked good. I would recommend The Golden Lion to anyone, we literally could not find fault and had a lovely stay!

Reviewed by
Joanna C

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was directly above the kitchen and the smell of the kitchen was present when the kitchen was active - the room itself was functional and clean ... it was disappointing considering the price of the room... the staff were attentive, friendly and very good in all cases.

Reviewed by
J Morgan

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would highly recommend
Lovely place to stay with loads of local facilities

Reviewed by
Michelle L

From Benfleet, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Staff, Good Value Accommodation
Impressed with the hotel as a whole, staff were very nice. Especially the frontdesk staff, we we're greated by a lovely lady who obviously loves her job, which is a nice change.
Room was clean, warm. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Charles Marsh

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable and clean. Lovely view from window. Windows opened well.

Reviewed by
J Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms look a little tired and in need of refurbishment.

Reviewed by
C Manig

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent welcome
Arrived after a long, tiring, drive, but an excellent welcome and good food soon had me refreshed. Bracing walk on the sea-front really revived me - lovely location.

Reviewed by
Diana H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean With a very comfy bed. Excellent base for bird watching. Very relaxing .

Reviewed by
A Cox

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next