No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Captain Hotel

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
The Captain Hotel, 46 Albemarle Cresent, , Scarborough, YO11 1XX
The Captain Hotel is a traditional guest house situated in the centre of Scarborough close to the Spa Conference Centre and Stephen Joseph Theatre, offering the ideal location for all attractions including both North and South bays, Peasholm Park, Indoor Swimming Pool, Indoor Family Bowls, Scarborough Castle, Cricket Ground, Sea life Centre, Surfing, High Street Shopping, Theatres, Restaurants and Nightlife.

Scarborough Train Station and Bus Terminals are less than a five minute walk away giving great access to Whitby, Filey, Bridlington and Pickering. Our friendly family run hotel has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable.

Scarborough is a wonderful place for adults and children alike, there are an abundance of activities to suit everyone. Ideal for children are the lovely sandy beaches, Sealife Centre, Indoor Pool, Cinema, Eden camp, Flamingo Land and Outdoor activities in Dalby Forrest. Let the magnificent Yorkshire Countryside cast its spell on you - it could be breathtaking views from glorious cliffs or strolls along wide sweeping beaches, fine dining or a snack in a cosy pub, the warm welcome of the people is only matched by the areas beauty and heritage.

Scarborough has lots of good restaurants and cafe's which are only minutes away from the guest house. From traditional English to Italian, Chinese and Indian, there are plenty of clubs, pubs and wine bars for those of you looking for nightlife. Also to be found is the world renowned Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough Spa and Futurist theatre.
Picture of The Captain Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
Enjoyed the stay, had discussed arrival time by phone but then had to book back in later. Had a choice of room which was nice and we were happy with the one we chose. Traditional setting and clean. Breakfast a little chaotic, and cramped, waited ten minutes before anyone came, but understand breakfasts are to be stopped. Owners were really nice though, and I'd be happy to visit again. Very close to town too, managed to get a parking spot and the permit system is good.

Reviewed by
stephen c

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend getaway from the stress of work

Reviewed by
S Brennan

From Crook, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rock and rool weekend
lovely hotel owners very good location.we had a top floor room at the back so no traffic noise but no lift . the owner carried one of the cases for me this was a nice touch. breakfast ? no fruit or grapefruit but we did not ask for any.the breakfast was average but the bacon was dry and the plates were cold simple things to put right. in the bed room ?only one bath towel and one hand towel for two people. a very small soap on the hand basin but none in the shower.would we stay here again not sure we slept well and location was great .

Reviewed by
brian macey

From york, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our 1 and only negative report from out stay was the shower in room 6 , although the owners did explain about the water pressure which was understandable , we found we only had 2 temeratures , scolding hot or freezing cold , not good for a family room and quite dangerous we felt , we only managed to shower once in our 4 day stay and had to wash baby in the sink , that aside extremly pleased with everything else ,

Reviewed by
lisa russell

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed for 3 nights at The Captain Guesthouse with my partner and 12 yr old daughter. We had a lovely stay, the couple running the it were very friendly, the breakfast was great as well. The pro were that the shower temp never stayed constant, we could have done with fresh towels everyday, apart from that I would stay again.

Reviewed by
W Lau

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely large room
lovely big room and bathroom,although sink was in the bedroom,close to center,room was very clean,breakfast was ok but was cold on second day and bacon was very very well done,so abit disappointed as we were the only ones there,but all in all good

Reviewed by
dawn craft

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family stay
Excellant location very clean gud size family room and very pleasant owner

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for little break
Owners very friendly even changed room we were staying in so I wouldn't have extra flight of stairs to walk up as walk with crutch, beds very comfortable would definitely stay with again. Only slight downside is very noisy outside on Saturday night but didn't bother daughter sea air sent her to sleep straight away, and we were warned it would be noisy.

Reviewed by
Dawn Call

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

got meet at the door very helpful at all times the only complants I got is family room at top with kids running about

Reviewed by
paul green

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family run guest house in a good central location
This was fantastic value for money on a late deal. The family was really friendly and they made a really good breakfast.

Reviewed by
James J

From Bonnyrigg, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next