No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Imperial Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE IMPERIAL HOTEL, ESPLANADE , EXMOUTH, EX8 2SW
Designed by the son of Sir Charles Barry, this truly striking Victorian Hotel is set within four acres of its own grounds. We have the look of a classic, white fronted seaside hotel outside, but our recent refurbishment means we now also have a fresh and modern look inside. Here at The Imperial we take our food very seriously – Breakfast is served each morning, and the restaurant offers a varied lunch and dinner menu in our impressive dining room.

The hotel is situated near The Jurassic Coast. Covering over 95 miles of truly stunning coastline from East Devon to Dorset, with rocks recording 185 million years of the Earth's history. Whether you come for the sea, the beautiful Devon countryside or to explore the town, we are sure you will be delighted with your stay at The Imperial.
Picture of The Imperial Hotel, EXMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Had a lovely stay at the Imperial. Room excellent, breakfast good, wonderful location.

Reviewed by
J Perkins

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely

Reviewed by
Andras Paszto

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 night stay
Generally ok without being anything special. Excellent location though, right on the esplanade, and quiet. Service was poor in the restaurent and the food substandard, especially the breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Edwards

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
The staff were very good,the room was clean and comfertable,parking not explained very well in their advert,and the lift and floor directions leave a bit to be explained(we were told the 2nd floor,which we did, you then turn L up 2 steps through a door and down 2 flights and then turn L and your there,we got told 2nd floor not good if you have had 2 knee replacements,apart from that good for a 3 star hotel.good for a weekend break

Reviewed by
B Westaway

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed my stay, good value for money.
One criticism: Breakfast was 8am-10am, starting time was far too late in my opinion, I needed to be out early and so couldn't have the breakfast I paid for.
Surely 6am is a more convenient and sensible time?

Reviewed by
D Bond

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
Good value accommodation. I booked a single room and got a double so no complaints there. Hotel seems to cater mainly for older guests on coach tours as it's owned by Shearings. The hotel looks a bit tired in places. The dining room is quite an imposing room. Food mediocre. Dining room service provided mainly by youngsters and a bit sloppy. Hotel is on the seafront and the town centre is a few minutes' walk. Not recommended for a special stay.

Reviewed by
colin h

From Flint, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were all friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean, warm and comfortable with everything we needed, including a sea view. There was plenty of hot water and white fluffy towels. Breakfast was OK - my husband enjoyed the kippers but my gammon and poached egg turned out to be a slice of cold ham with the egg on the top. Sadly the ham made the egg cold before it could be eaten. There was a nice selection of fresh fruit and yoghurt.

Reviewed by
Susan A

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY
At the Laterooms rate it was excellent value. Great room with a balcony, large and comfortable bed and an unrivalled view of the estuary and sea. Ample off road parking.

Reviewed by
Steven Bishop

From Oxted, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
We stayed in the imperial and normally go to another hotel but unfortunatly could not get in,we are so pleased we didn't as our stay was fantastic and will be returning very soon.The staff were very friendly and accomodating and the room was brill with a sea view and balcony and the food was good too.

Reviewed by
Ellan F

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good budget stay
Hotel needs a bit of a makeover but otherwise generally good. Seems to cater for Saga coach parties - if you like that then go!!

Reviewed by
keith mallett

From Chesham, England
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next