No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Southlands Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
15 WEST STREET , SCARBOROUGH, YO11 2QW
Situated on Scarborough's South Cliff, a short walk from the town centre, the New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property boasting comfortable bedrooms, tastefully decorated spacious public areas to relax and unwind in, plus entertainment is available in the piano bar and lounge.

Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with stunning architecture and walkways, as well as boasting modern entertainments and attractions. The South Beach has all the fish and chip shops, arcades and traditional seaside things you might expect. The North Beach is a very different environment with beautiful walks, a lovely beach, no shops and an old castle sandwiched in the middle. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an often overlooked gem of a county offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern.
Picture of The New Southlands Hotel, SCARBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking, nothing like website advertisement.
Shearings coach holiday hotel, very dated as were all the other guests.
Room (311), terrible, like going back 40 years, advertised rooms looked very nice.
Woke up freezing in the morning, central heating didn't work, an electric heater was left in the room, but I personally don't like using these as they dry up the air.
Luckily only for 1 night, definatly WILL NOT be returning.
Should not be allowed to show room photos, if all rooms are not to that standard.

Reviewed by
Martin B

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love Scarborough
My wife and I have stayed at the New Southlands several times and once again we enjoyed our stay
We received a free upgrade which made the stay even more enjoyable.

Reviewed by
N Hardman

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we recently stayed at southlands hotel scarborough good value for money near bus stop only had bed and breakfast but was nice to be served instead of self service food was plenty and service was excellent would stay again plus there was entertainment the two nights we stayed

Reviewed by
susan johnson

From sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The New Southlands is modern hotel,we upgraded our bedroom to superior. The breakfast was a little dissapointing, as the previous time we stayed there was a abundance of fresh fruit available

Reviewed by
Neil H

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reception staff were very good, room had central heating that was turned off evan when our rad was turned up to full as a result our room was freezing cold at night. as we left another geust was at reception complaining about the same thing, the room was very basic no duvet on bed but there was an old blanket under the sheets, we had to fix the tv when we got into room as it was not working correctly. restraunt manager asked us how we were enjoying our FREE breakfast puting the enthisist on FREE, which anoyed my wife greatly. will not be going back.

Reviewed by
b cook

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a nice overnight stay
We stopped on a sunday night at this pleasant hotel and it was nice to receive our room keys when we arrived there at dinnertime.The room was of a decent size and clean and when we went in to the bar area on the night there was a nice atmosphere and everybody was chatty The hotel was in a good location and we would happily go there again..

Reviewed by
donald b

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well run clean and tidy we realy enjoyed it. Woiuld stay again in winter.
Too hot to stay in summer' air con is a must. Attention to detail required in bathroom shower and toilet not good.

Reviewed by
M Fox

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okay for a short break
I can't really complain about this hotel. I spent a night here with my husband, and it's about what I expected after seeing photos of the rooms. The room furnishings were old fashioned, but the bathroom seems to have been refurbished not too long ago and was clean and modern. The bathroom wallpaper was peeling a bit though, so that could do with some attention. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful and the waiting staff were courteous and quick to bring extra coffee when requested at breakfast. We only stayed for B and B, but the breakfast was a range of hot breakfasts, cereal, toast, yogurt etc so good value and everything was well prepared. The only thing that bothered us was the bed. The mattress was not kind to achy middle aged spines! That would put us off staying here again. The good thing about this hotel is the car park. It costs £5 a night but we felt it was worth it to have the car in a safe spot and not have to roam the streets looking for a parking spot. A permit would have been much cheaper at 80p a day, but no guaranteed parking spot.

Reviewed by
Ann W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend stay
It was our first time at the New Southlands, we have never stayed at the south side befor. We thought it was in agood position and not as hilly as th Norbreck. It had been revamped and was very nicely refubished. We stayed bed and breakfast. The room was a comfortable twin on the first floor, one of the beds was electric. There was only one problem we were above the entertainment lounge and it sounded like they were in the bedroom with us. The entertainment was better on the Friday, but all in all a good experience.

Reviewed by
j winder

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay
they were very accomadating and nothing was to much trouble

Reviewed by
Jeffrey Holmes

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next