No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
14, Gloucester Road Almondsbury, Bristol, BS32 4AA
With views across to the River Severn, this hotel is located in the rural village of Almondsbury but is within 2 minutes’ drive of the M4 and M5 motorways.

This award winning, family friendly, independently run, gastropub serves food all day and is the perfect spot to unwind at the end of the day over a pint and some locally sourced, seasonal food, for which the pub is famed for.

There is also ample space in the bar and onsite meeting room for a morning coffee and business meeting or catch-up. All areas of the bar, hotel and meeting room have access to free wi-fi.

Free private parking is available and Bristol city centre is just a 15 minute drive away. Bristol Airport is a 30 minute drive. The nearest train station - Bristol Parkway is a 12 minute drive and a bus can be taken from the station directly to the hotel.
It is ideally located only 30 minutes away from Historic Bath Spa, and is also a perfect place to explore the "England's favorite destination" being only a short drive from the Cotswolds.

The rooms are located in annex buildings within the pub's grounds, so you can enjoy the aspects on having an onsite bar and restaurant, without having to worry about being disturbed by the bar noise.

Rooms include flat screen TVs with built in free view, tea and coffee making facilities, en-suite bathrooms, toiletries, and free wi-fi. All our linen is 100% Egyptian cotton to ensure the best nights sleep.

Food is served throughout the day in the restaurant, and guests can relax with a drink in the bar area. Free Wi-Fi is also available in public areas.

For guests wishing to leave before breakfast is served, a take-away breakfast pack can be provided. Otherwise rooms include a free breakfast, that consists of a variety of hot and cold items, and is, of course, freshly made using only the best ingredients.

Picture of The Swan Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too Noisy
The quality of the accommodation was ok and appeared to be value for money but unfortunately the traffic noise spoiled the stay. Room no 8 is next to the road and the glazing is unsufficient to block the noise. This comment has apparently been made in the past and consideration is being given to installing triple glazing. I would advise guests to request a room away from the road until this work has taken place.

Reviewed by
Fiona C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good stay
Stayed a Friday and Saturday night. Room good in almost all ways. Enough space and storage for a short stay. Very clean. Unfortunately the bed, although large was very hard.
No noise from the pub part of the Hotel which had a gala night on and was very busy. This was a lovely surprise for us as there was live music and the place was humming. We had forgotten to book a table for dinner but they found us a good spot. Staff always smiling, and nothing too much trouble.
Food excellent and no trouble with altering menu for difficult dietary requirements.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Janet W

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms okay, food good, beer variable. Good value for £50.00.
Stayed on a Sunday night due to early meeting the next day. £50.00 including breakfast. They'd run out of beef for the roast, but the pork was very nice. My first pint (Budvar) tasted of cleaning fluid, so it was promptly changed for an Amstel, but this too tasted of cleaning fluid but I couldn't be arsed to complain again.....so I'm doing it here! Room was okay. Clean. Sort of needs modernising. There was some road noise evident. Breakfast is good quality and more than adequate in terms of size. Despite the negatives, I would stay here again (I've stayed before and the beef and Budvar was good).

Reviewed by
J Gould

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok

Reviewed by
ian williams

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bristol
Nice accommodation food served until 9 so ideal for a work commute! Good service! Clean room, free wifi!

Reviewed by
D Morley

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable bed double room a bit small. Very quiet.

Reviewed by
Felicity S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpectedly Lovely Hotel
Very friendly staff, fabulous food, comfy bed, couldn't really have asked for more.
Heating boiler had broken down, but staff offered extra blankets and heaters, and there was still hot water in the showers, so all was well.

Reviewed by
Crow D

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice weekend!!!
The staff were warm, friendly and helpful when we arrived. The food in the restaurant was excellent for both dinner and breakfast the next morning and there were plenty of staff in the dining area and behind the bar.
The room was clean and tidy, the bed was very comfortable. I couldn't find fault with anything during our time there and would have returned the next night if there had been any vacancies.
The next time I'm in that area, it will be the first place I try to book.

Reviewed by
D Proctor

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth booking
The only thing wrong with the hotel is it is not a city center hotel . . .but then you don't pay city center prices either. Very friendly welcome, all the staff were attentive, and happy to deal with any requests. I was only intending to sleep at the hotel, but my event finished earlier than expected so I had the opportunity to sample the food which was excellent, as was the beer.
I had a ground floor room, and the only problem was that it sounded as though the room upstairs had laminate flooring with no insulation between. Very loud whenever anyone walked around up there.

Reviewed by
Tony Barnsley

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great night sleep - quiet & dark
I stayed for one night - and I slept really well. The room was nice and clean.
The staff were lovely and really friendly.
However the biggest let down for me was the food. It was steak Night - and I didn't have steak. Maybe that was my mistake. I ordered the Lamb with dauphinoise potatoes and veg. I was really disappointed with the whole dish.

Reviewed by
helen b

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next