No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
14, Gloucester Road Almondsbury, Bristol, BS32 4AA
With views across to the River Severn, this hotel is located in the rural village of Almondsbury but is within 2 minutes’ drive of the M4 and M5 motorways.

This award winning, family friendly, independently run, gastropub serves food all day and is the perfect spot to unwind at the end of the day over a pint and some locally sourced, seasonal food, for which the pub is famed for.

There is also ample space in the bar and onsite meeting room for a morning coffee and business meeting or catch-up. All areas of the bar, hotel and meeting room have access to free wi-fi.

Free private parking is available and Bristol city centre is just a 15 minute drive away. Bristol Airport is a 30 minute drive. The nearest train station - Bristol Parkway is a 12 minute drive and a bus can be taken from the station directly to the hotel.
It is ideally located only 30 minutes away from Historic Bath Spa, and is also a perfect place to explore the "England's favorite destination" being only a short drive from the Cotswolds.

The rooms are located in annex buildings within the pub's grounds, so you can enjoy the aspects on having an onsite bar and restaurant, without having to worry about being disturbed by the bar noise.

Rooms include flat screen TVs with built in free view, tea and coffee making facilities, en-suite bathrooms, toiletries, and free wi-fi. All our linen is 100% Egyptian cotton to ensure the best nights sleep.

Food is served throughout the day in the restaurant, and guests can relax with a drink in the bar area. Free Wi-Fi is also available in public areas.

For guests wishing to leave before breakfast is served, a take-away breakfast pack can be provided. Otherwise rooms include a free breakfast, that consists of a variety of hot and cold items, and is, of course, freshly made using only the best ingredients.

Picture of The Swan Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
My partner and I stayed at this hotel and had a lovely stay! The staff were lovely and the food was gorgeous! I would highly recommend this place and will definitely go back! Thank you to the swan for making our stay enjoyable!! In my opinion an easy 5/5!!!

Reviewed by
C Rich

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good all round experience.
This is nice gastro pub with clean and smart rooms. Very good service and tasty food served til 2130.
The only slight criticism is that the twin room was very small.

Reviewed by
Robert V

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was absolutely freezing. The bed was poor quality and extremely uncomfortable. We would not recommend staying here as it is not good value for money.

Reviewed by
Sean Russell

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food, friendly atmosphere, noisy room.
This hotel offers good value for money. It is well situated with easy access to both m4/m5. The food was great, stayed on a tuesday(steak night). I stayed in the annex. Rooms were well presented, furnished from ikea. Main issue was noise both from the A38 adjacent and other guests banging doors etc. Breakfast was hearty and recommended. Overall good value for money.

Reviewed by
Neil M

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very disappointing stay, never to be repeated.
I booked the Swan because I enjoy staying in interesting places rather than sterile boxes, and it sounded interesting, even down to the creaky upper floors in one of the reviews. (Yes, I do read them!) First impressions on arriving - good - the new owners were obviously trying to make a difference. Big car park, lots of space. Reception was the bar itself - fine. But after taking my name, the first thing I was asked to do was to pay for the room.
Then breakfast. I needed an early start (away by 7.30 - 7.45). When did breakfast start? 7.30 - the staff don't come in until 7 and chef doesn't start cooking until 7.30. Could I have a cold breakfast - cereal, some fruit juice say just after 7 once the staff are here? No problem, I'll leave the morning staff a note, says he behind the bar. So far so good.
And shows me to the room. By leaving the pub, walking me into the courtyard and pointing me through an archway to a separate 70's (80's?) accommodation block, and telling me it's Room 7 on the ground floor to the right when once you get into the building. And here's your keys. Disappointed? I should say so. Not staying in an interesting pub after all. Not taken to the room (or even to the building!). Found my way through the arch and down the steps, got the front door unlocked, found the lightswitch (push timer), worked out where the room was, got my key in the door, and the light went out. But by then I was in, found the switch and got the room lights on.
OK, the room's fine as overnight boxes go, its clean, reasonably roomy, good crisp linen, smelled OK, obviously recently decorated in monochromatic black & white - and pretty chilly. And although outside it was below 10 degrees overnight, as far as I know, despite turning the radiator valves full on, the heating never came on all the time I was there. But it was late, I was tired and I needed to be away early the next day. A quick cup of tea, and to bed, and quite a comfortable night's sleep. Next morning, up bright and early, ready, with lots of SCALDING hot water (You have been warned!).
7.15am - up the steps, through the arch and across the courtyard for breakfast - push on the pub doors - locked solid. Could see staff behind the bar, so rattled the doors to get their attention - they looked up, saw me, looked away and ignored me. Taking the hint - no breakfast for me that day - I just finished packing, stuck my room keys in the dropbox by the door, and left ... never to return!!

Reviewed by
brian s

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
I wanted somewhere cheap and I got somewhere cheap. I asked for a quiet room but could hear traffic clearly. The keys to the doors were fiddly. The breakfast was adequate. My room had no pillowcases on the pillows. The plus points were the price and the shower. I wouldn't take the wife there for a romantic get away but I would stay again if working in the area.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your review. We were disappointed to hear that your pillows didn't have any pillowcases on. Did you let anyone know as we could have resolved this instantly? As you will have noticed, all our linen is top quality Egyptian Cotton. You note that the breakfast was adequate, we always welcome feedback on how to improve. Currently our breakfast consists of a choice of a variety of hot dishes including Full English and French Toast. We also offer unlimited Tea, Herbal Teas, Coffee, a selection of 6 different cereals along with Toast and Preserves. We also offer a variety of fresh fruit juices.

Reviewed by
Rob S

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
pleasant helpful staff, decent location, good value for money but better off with an upstairs room as floors are very creaky

Reviewed by
TREVOR G

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service
The hotel was very well kept, shame whilst i was there they had but of exterior work going on. The comfort of the bed was very good, the service was lovely, the only things that let it down was the range of the food was minimum and instead of coming on gradually, the hot water comes on almost straight away and if your not careful u can end up scalding yourself. Other than that it was all in all a very pleasent visit, and the staff was really helpful and let me back inmy room when they realised i checked out too early

Reviewed by
B Henderson

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Place fairly quite nice bar and food
Great value nice place to stay ideal for short stay.

Reviewed by
Jamil Sheikh-Ali

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5 star
All round accommodation very good but the bathroom had no heating so very chilly. Convenient stop over and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Stephen H

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next