No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
14, Gloucester Road Almondsbury, Bristol, BS32 4AA
With views across to the River Severn, this hotel is located in the rural village of Almondsbury but is within 2 minutes’ drive of the M4 and M5 motorways.

This award winning, family friendly, independently run, gastropub serves food all day and is the perfect spot to unwind at the end of the day over a pint and some locally sourced, seasonal food, for which the pub is famed for.

There is also ample space in the bar and onsite meeting room for a morning coffee and business meeting or catch-up. All areas of the bar, hotel and meeting room have access to free wi-fi.

Free private parking is available and Bristol city centre is just a 15 minute drive away. Bristol Airport is a 30 minute drive. The nearest train station - Bristol Parkway is a 12 minute drive and a bus can be taken from the station directly to the hotel.
It is ideally located only 30 minutes away from Historic Bath Spa, and is also a perfect place to explore the "England's favorite destination" being only a short drive from the Cotswolds.

The rooms are located in annex buildings within the pub's grounds, so you can enjoy the aspects on having an onsite bar and restaurant, without having to worry about being disturbed by the bar noise.

Rooms include flat screen TVs with built in free view, tea and coffee making facilities, en-suite bathrooms, toiletries, and free wi-fi. All our linen is 100% Egyptian cotton to ensure the best nights sleep.

Food is served throughout the day in the restaurant, and guests can relax with a drink in the bar area. Free Wi-Fi is also available in public areas.

For guests wishing to leave before breakfast is served, a take-away breakfast pack can be provided. Otherwise rooms include a free breakfast, that consists of a variety of hot and cold items, and is, of course, freshly made using only the best ingredients.

Picture of The Swan Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a little bit more!
The hotel and staff are lovely, but being the only pub, hotel in the area your prices were a little on the high side. Also there wasn't enough choice on the menu. Again very expensive for what it was and the amount on the plate.

Reviewed by
S Moore

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only stayed for1 night as a stopover but couldn't fault the hotel in anyway. Staff were very friendly.

Reviewed by
Christine pownall

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food and a real pub.
The quality of the food and service at The Swan was excellent. A well stocked bar, real ales and staff who know about customer service. There were 16 of us having a meal together and all the various options from the menu were cooked to perfection and served hot. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was also cooked fresh and very good.
The rooms are a little basic but very clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Ian Walbeoff

From New Tredegar, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly service, but rather hard beds

Reviewed by
J Nicholas

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wanted a good night away from home.
Very impressed with the room we stayed in, we felt instantly comfortable with staying there.
Breakfast in the morning was an excellent touch and a nice end to our stay, we weren't at all disappointed.
Location further away from the city than expected but local cabs were fairly priced and decent.
We would definitely stay again sometime in the future.

Reviewed by
Shareen F

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traffic, I wish I had asked for a room away from the road, the meal I did not feel was good value for the money nor the breakfast

Reviewed by
Martin E

From , England
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't fault it
An amazing little find- will certainly be staying again if in the area. Room excellent, staff very welcoming and attentive and the food was amazing- to describe this as 'gastropub' cuisine is to do it a huge injustice - would not be out of place in a posh restaurant.

Reviewed by
C Mcewan

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for what we were looking for

Reviewed by
Ian D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
My partner and I stayed at this hotel and had a lovely stay! The staff were lovely and the food was gorgeous! I would highly recommend this place and will definitely go back! Thank you to the swan for making our stay enjoyable!! In my opinion an easy 5/5!!!

Reviewed by
C Rich

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good all round experience.
This is nice gastro pub with clean and smart rooms. Very good service and tasty food served til 2130.
The only slight criticism is that the twin room was very small.

Reviewed by
Robert V

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next