No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kerrington House

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Musbury Road, , , Axminster, EX13 5JR
Welcome to Kerrington House. Set in beautifully landscaped gardens on the edge of Axminster, Kerrington House has been lovingly and sympathetically restored, retaining many period features such as marble fireplaces and fine plasterwork ceilings. Decorated with a comtemporary feel, in soft neutral colours, the hotel has been furnished with relaxation in mind, with a personal collection of antiques and favourite pieces to suit the mood of individual rooms. Conveniently located with great travel connections, many local places of interest are easily accessible. For example, the historic coastal town of Lyme Regis, popular to writers such as Jane Austen and John Fowles, is a short bus-ride away, and Exeter, the region's capital, is accessible by train. Home to Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall's most recent River Cottage head quarters, which boats delicious organic produce and a delightful tea-room and garden, Axminster is becoming a thriving market town, whilst maintaining its quaint and relaxing air. We have created a unique atmosphere of warm and friendly informality with a high level of personal service and attention to detail. Kerrington House is in an ideal setting for soaking up the beautiful scenery of Devon and Dorset.
Picture of Kerrington House, Axminster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fortunate find..
Warm greeting, comfortable room in a Victorian house, outstandingly good breakfast, friendly local staff. agreeable fellow guests.

Reviewed by
roger ellis

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic room and host, breakfast was a work of art
We booked Kerrington House for one night because we were attending a River Cottage HQ course the following day. The host was happy to arrange late arrival (we couldn't get there until after 10pm because of business commitments) and was welcoming on arrival. The room was well decorated and the bathroom was very large, good quality bedding and towels etc.
Breakfast was a work of art - the English breakfast option used local bacon, eggs and sausage, was cooked speedily, and could not be faulted. Plenty of other breakfast options were available too.

Reviewed by
Adrian I

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real treat
A very warm welcome and a beautiful home. My room had a double bed with the most comfortable mattress ever! It was tastefully decorated with two armchairs and a spacious bathroom ensuite. A very nice touch was the decanter of sherry along with bottles of water and the usual tea and coffee in the room. After a long journey this was very much appreciated. A full cooked breakfast was very tasty and the staff were very attentive and willing to do anything to make my experience a good one. If you choose to stay here you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by
Tracey N

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay, close to River Cottage HQ
This is a lovely B&B. Spacious rooms with lots to nice little touches, such as sherry and dressing gowns. The staff were really hospitable, including booking taxis to and from River Cottage for us. And above all, the breakfast was amazing!

Reviewed by
Phillip P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place.
Best breakfast I've had anywhere and that includes the Kempinski Palace on the Bosphorus. I'd happily refer friends and family to come here, it has a charmingly relaxed feel, much like being in your own home. Everything was spotless - plenty of towels, a flannel and dressing gowns awaited in the bathroom. We even found hair straighteners!
I've stayed in a few places similar to this and some can have a shabby feel to them but the standard of decor throughout the house was fine - I'm a decorator by trade.

Reviewed by
kelvin mann

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely,lovely,lovely
A real gem . Food excellent, bed lovely and comfortable, room large and very very pretty . Can't wait to go again .

Reviewed by
karen r

From parkstone, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and relaxing
Very nice nights sleep, very comfy bed and rooms are of a very good quality with good space in the rooms i stayed at. Breakfast was great and service very good, overall a lovely place to stay, relaxing and private, would recommend and stay again.

Reviewed by
Kris S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The perfect B & B
Fiona and staff were really charming and helpful. Our room was beautifully furnished with really comfortable beds, which is not as common as it should be. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Altogether a really enjoyable stay. Would certainly stay there again and recommend it to friends.

Reviewed by
Jean Everett

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Excellent and welcoming hotel with great hosts and a superb breakfast!!! Highly recommended!!!

Reviewed by
Isabelle W

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Far from the madding crowd
If you want a very pleasant, relaxed and quiet escape from the city life, Kerrington House is the best place to go. Cosy, friendly atmosphere and great service from very hospitable staff. The rooms are absolutely lovely, Victorian style also kept for bathrooms and hallways. Very clean and comfortable. Would come back any time, knowing I would feel welcome and I would enjoy the stay.

Reviewed by
Alexandra Z

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next