No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Yew Tree Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Yew Tree Inn, Monmouth road, , Longhope, GL17 0QD
The Yew Tree is located on the gloucestershire and Herefordshire border and only a 20 minute drive to the welsh border and to Cheltenham racecourse. The Yew Tree dates back to 1609 and was recently purchased from the brewery and has undergone extensive refurbishment. The pub and restaurant has been finished to a high standard and we have just finished the building of 9 self contained ensuite chalets to the rear of the property again being finished to a high standard. The forest of dean is a 5 minute drive and has an enormous amount of activities to offer with cycling,climbing, walking,Golf Courses and the severn bore just to name a few. The Restaurant has 50 covers with alog fire and beamed ceilings and hops and gives a country feel. The bar area has sofas and televisions where you can relax and enjoy a drink or bar snack. Accomadation is on a room only basis with breakfast, lunch and dinner all available in our restaurant. The rooms have ensuite facilities, colour freesat television and dvd, also tea coffee making facilities.
Picture of The Yew Tree Inn, Longhope at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an excelent break in traveling

Reviewed by
Irene Marsden

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a short break
Booked the Yew Tree as I needed somewhere to stay overnight as I was working in Ross-on-Wye for a couple of days and the Yew Tree is only about 8 miles away. I found it in the small village of Longhope with no problem and they have a large car park so no problems there. The pub was open so I checked in and was shown to my room which was a purpose built block of rooms behind the pub. The room was a double, well furnished with Freesat TV and plenty of tea and coffee. The bathroom was very nice with a fantastic show and was spotlessly clean. I decided to eat at the pub and the meal I had was very nice and very well priced. I had to leave early so was not able to try the breakfast. I would be more than happy to stay here again.

Reviewed by
Stephen D

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very adequate
Room modern and spacious in separate block, food and beer good, only one small gripe, had to walk right around pub to reach rooms at rear of premises - not a problem, but if cold or wet, not nice as you expect to go from bar to rooms undercover (well I do anyway)

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Yew Tree
This accommodation is fantastic. set in a great location, within a friendly pub. The breakfast is excellent, I must like the place as I have been there whenever I am working in the area.

Reviewed by
Bob Woods

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean, cheerful and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Mary D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant
We were a group of 3 motorcycles and 4 people, wanting a base in this area for a few days touring. It suited us perfectly. Good parking for the bikes, rooms were clean and pleasant. The food was excellent and the staff were very helpful as I have a number of food intolerances and they were able to guide me exactly as to what I could eat; plenty of choice.

Reviewed by
Claire B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best food ever! Lovely staff!

Reviewed by
J Mills

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dissapointed I had to tune in my TV, Not being IT minded, this was a nuisance.
Unable to get breakfast, 7.00 was too early.
Room was seperate and private, no noise from pub or road, and did allow me to drop off bags early at 1pm, which was very convenient.

Reviewed by
N JOnes

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant and relaxing short break
Good accommodation to the rear of the pub was spotless upon our arrival. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Good choice of food and drink, both of a high quality. Full English breakfast will set you up for the day. Ideal base for getting out and about. Stayed for 3 nights and visited Chepstow, Ross on Wye and Monmouth, together with numerous villages along the way. We will definitely stay again and would recommend The Yewtree Inn to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

Reviewed by
d bedford

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Forest of dean visit
Spent three days at Yew Tree Inn, our double room was very clean and comfortable with coffee and tea facilities. Good large shower. Good place to stay for visiting the Forest of Dean area, would stay here again with pleasure.

Reviewed by
GILLIAN R

From LEICESTER , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next