No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Yew Tree Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Yew Tree Inn, Monmouth road, , Longhope, GL17 0QD
The Yew Tree is located on the gloucestershire and Herefordshire border and only a 20 minute drive to the welsh border and to Cheltenham racecourse. The Yew Tree dates back to 1609 and was recently purchased from the brewery and has undergone extensive refurbishment. The pub and restaurant has been finished to a high standard and we have just finished the building of 9 self contained ensuite chalets to the rear of the property again being finished to a high standard. The forest of dean is a 5 minute drive and has an enormous amount of activities to offer with cycling,climbing, walking,Golf Courses and the severn bore just to name a few. The Restaurant has 50 covers with alog fire and beamed ceilings and hops and gives a country feel. The bar area has sofas and televisions where you can relax and enjoy a drink or bar snack. Accomadation is on a room only basis with breakfast, lunch and dinner all available in our restaurant. The rooms have ensuite facilities, colour freesat television and dvd, also tea coffee making facilities.
Picture of The Yew Tree Inn, Longhope at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant
We were a group of 3 motorcycles and 4 people, wanting a base in this area for a few days touring. It suited us perfectly. Good parking for the bikes, rooms were clean and pleasant. The food was excellent and the staff were very helpful as I have a number of food intolerances and they were able to guide me exactly as to what I could eat; plenty of choice.

Reviewed by
Claire B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best food ever! Lovely staff!

Reviewed by
J Mills

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dissapointed I had to tune in my TV, Not being IT minded, this was a nuisance.
Unable to get breakfast, 7.00 was too early.
Room was seperate and private, no noise from pub or road, and did allow me to drop off bags early at 1pm, which was very convenient.

Reviewed by
N JOnes

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Forest of dean visit
Spent three days at Yew Tree Inn, our double room was very clean and comfortable with coffee and tea facilities. Good large shower. Good place to stay for visiting the Forest of Dean area, would stay here again with pleasure.

Reviewed by
GILLIAN R

From LEICESTER , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant and relaxing short break
Good accommodation to the rear of the pub was spotless upon our arrival. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Good choice of food and drink, both of a high quality. Full English breakfast will set you up for the day. Ideal base for getting out and about. Stayed for 3 nights and visited Chepstow, Ross on Wye and Monmouth, together with numerous villages along the way. We will definitely stay again and would recommend The Yewtree Inn to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

Reviewed by
d bedford

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Longhope
Chalet style rooms were well appointed, spacious and clean. Bed was very comfortable. Full English breakfast was delicious.
We did not eat here in the evening as we wanted to explore the area and the owners were hosting a party of 38 guests on Saturday night so we would have had to eat early.
There was easy access to Gloucester and the Forest of Dean.
Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Annie Wilson

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice hotel
I could not work the tv. i could not be bothered to go through the whole book to find out. beds were nice and comfortable.

Reviewed by
m sheehan

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hospitality!
We arrived at The Yew Tree Inn after a long journey, and several hours later than planned. The landlord met us at the door, knew exactly who we were, and showed us to our room. Our room was basic, but had everything that we needed, and was clean and fresh. We were made to feel really welcome and had a lovely time! The cider in particular is worth returning for!

Reviewed by
M Grindrod

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a home from home
The accommodation consisted of chalet type rooms which were private including a courtyard. The room was a family room with a double and twin beds, shows, toilet and tea coffee plus satellite TV. We dined in the restaurant and must say the food was top quality. You have to pay for your breakfast and in my opinion this should be included in the price. I would recommend the yew tree inn for anyone wanting a base to travel the beautiful countryside of Gloucestershire.

Reviewed by
J Kelly

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic, lovely accommodation and great value!
I stayed one night at the The Yew Tree Inn, Longhope and booked at the last minute as I was on a trip to Gloucester to view properties in anticipation of my move to the area. My friend and I really enjoyed our stay, the room was massive and very modern. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the location was lovely. We enjoyed a nice meal in the pub on arrival in the evening and had breakfast in the morning. I also thought it represented great value for money. We will be going back!

Reviewed by
A Wills

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next