Reviews - The Yew Tree Inn


The Yew Tree Inn, Monmouth road,, Longhope, GL17 0QD

Price From 118.37 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (15)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Thomas L

  • August 2015

Get what you pay for?

Stayed for one night.

Good reviews so was expecting good value for money as the room rate was reasonable. Walking in, first thing I see is the chef in the kitchen on his phone. Whole place had that lingering smell of grease about it. Service was fine. There's a group of small chalet-types outside. The door on mine took some opening. Room and bathroom was fine. Food in pub was ok - decent portion size although they charged me about a fiver for what was clearly a packet of defrosted garlic bread that you can get for about £1 in a supermarket. Night's sleep wasn't great - lots of noise from stamping feet in room/pub above until about midnight. There was also a group of youngish lads staying in another of the chalets and they chatted right outside my door - although to be fair this stopped about midnight too. Didn't bother with breakfast. But the room rate was reasonable so can't complain too much really.

  • A Gander

  • July 2015

Yew Tree Pub

Good value for money.

Accommodation was excellent.

  • Stephen M

  • July 2015


Accomodation was good, food excellent and the service friendly.

Highlight of visit was definitely the quality food complete with good service. One breakfast was a bit hap-hazard as the only person on duty was the chef who had to do everything himself. Certain items in the room were either missing or damaged, these were all put right for the second nights stay. Overall we would return for another stay.

  • Dave W

  • January 2015

Very good accommodation

I was very surprised by the cleanliness of the accommodation, very nice to stay in.

  • B Woods

  • December 2014

Yew Tree

Whenever we are working in this area we stop here as the rooms are great, as is the food & beer.

All looked after by friendly hosts. we will be back

  • Mark S

  • November 2014

Spotless ensuite, perfect welcoming upon arrival and During stay .


  • Roy Austen

  • October 2014

Try the Yew Tree Inn

Welcome was very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Nothing was too much trouble, our host was always willing to go that extra mile. Food was excellent, if not a little too much, which was due

to an over-excited chef, who would vary the menu to suit your taste.

  • Andrew P

  • September 2014

Very adequate

Room modern and spacious in separate block, food and beer good, only one small gripe, had to walk right around pub to reach rooms at rear of premises - not a problem, but if cold or wet, not nice as you expect to go from bar to rooms undercover (well I do anyway)

  • Irene Marsden

  • September 2014

an excelent break in traveling

  • Stephen D

  • August 2014

Perfect for a short break

Booked the Yew Tree as I needed somewhere to stay overnight as I was working in Ross-on-Wye for a couple of days and the Yew Tree is only about 8 miles away.

I found it in the small village of Longhope with no problem and they have a large car park so no problems there. The pub was open so I checked in and was shown to my room which was a purpose built block of rooms behind the pub. The room was a double, well furnished with Freesat TV and plenty of tea and coffee. The bathroom was very nice with a fantastic show and was spotlessly clean. I decided to eat at the pub and the meal I had was very nice and very well priced. I had to leave early so was not able to try the breakfast. I would be more than happy to stay here again.