No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Imperial Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
CORNWALLIS STREET , BARROW-IN-FURNESS, LA14 2LG
The seaport of Barrow-in-Furness is found at the tip of the Furness peninsula, bordered by Morecambe Bay, the Duddon Estuary and the Irish Sea. It offers the ideal base to explore the Lake District and is close to Furness Abbey, Piel Island and many other attractions including South Lakes Safari Zoo (to which Imperial Hotel residents enjoy discounted admission).

The Imperial Hotel is situated in the heart of Barrow, opposite the impressive Victorian Town Hall. Designed by Architect Thomas Bennett, the hotel was built in 1875 during the boom to accommodate the wealth of prospectors and gentry attracted by the town’s industrial riches.

Closed for many years, the hotel has been gloriously restored following an extensive redevelopment programme. Now re-open to the public, the Imperial Hotel is renowned for impeccable service and traditional values, bestowing each guest with a memorable stay.

The Imperial Hotel consists of 49 en-suite bedrooms, all of which are designed to provide luxurious comfort and style that every guest deserves. All bedrooms feature pocket sprung luxury beds, flat screen televisions with an abundance of channels, tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI internet access.

For pure splendour, choose one of our executive rooms or suites. With king size beds, walk-in wet rooms and jacuzzi baths, each offer a delightful environment for you to relax and indulge.

After a busy day of work or pleasure, the ground floor Aspire Bar provides the perfect setting to unwind. Whether you desire a long drink, a continental beer, a refined wine or celebratory champagne, your tastes are well and truly catered for. Cocktail lovers can savour the delights of an extensive menu devised by our resident mixologist – from classic Cosmopolitans to a modern Mojitos.

The Imperial Hotel is seamlessly in tune with the needs of the modern world, offering wedding, business and commercial services with a choice of conference and banqueting suites accommodating up to 180 guests. A prestigious venue and impeccable support services combine to make it the perfect choice for any event.
Picture of Imperial Hotel, BARROW-IN-FURNESS at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 168 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
No frills, but very clean and tidy. Staff were helpful and it was excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Annette W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend away in the Imperial Hotel
Very pleasant experience was had by myself and my husband.
Friendly and helpful staff on Reception and serving breakfast.
Breakfast was 1st class, so much choice and the cooked breakfast was really nice. Service was impeccable.
Car parking was available and just next door to the hotel.
Our room was great. Clean and tidy and nice bathroom, everything we needed. We had no problems with any noise.
Couldn't fault our stay; so thank you to the Imperial and staff.
Mr & Mrs W.

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
the receptionist was not very welcoming and not very helpful and appeared totally disinterested whether this was becuase we booked the hotel at a cheap i am not too sure - but she was more interested in talking to the bar staff. The room was nicely decorated but needed attention as there was damp patches coming through in the bathroom, and attention to detail was lacking as we were given a mug and teacup on our drinks tray in the room so essentially one of us only got half a drink! they should have been mayching cups at least. the room also needed a double glazed unit to stop the noise coming through from the function room. the breakfast on the other were most attentive and should be praised and the food was excellant for breakfastr with a good choice.

Reviewed by
a hughes

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Party on evening Saturday
On Saturday evening was a party at first level and I didn't sleep
Until 2am. I think if you go to a hotel you neee to relax . I tried to sleep
But the music was so loud ........
There was a hotel not a club night!!!!!!!

Reviewed by
Emilia Z

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value good breakfast no complaints

Reviewed by
D Adey

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

booked 2 rooms asked for adjoining. One on 3rd floor one on 1st floor. We had 1st floor, awful view. Lift was not working on 1st floor to go down, struggled with cases. Very large hole in skirting board, looked ghastly. Soap dispenser in shower did not work (Room 108). Very squeaky floor boards on left side of bed. Needed more hangers. Cleanliness of sheets and towels 100% and fantastic breakfast all staff in breakfast room friendly and helpful, unlike most on reception. Would stay again but would ask for room facing town hall and on higher floor. Do not like the idea that function room on 1st floor, one night going to bed was met with a foul mouthed drunk on staircase, just as well no children with us.

Reviewed by
ian welford

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank Holiday Stay.
Waiters & waitresses could do with some training regarding approach to customers. Good morning mate at breakfast is unacceptable. Rubbish bins scattered around front of property could do with sorting. On one side of hotel there is a rundown property which detracts from the front of the hotel but don't be put off as this is a clean and well furnished place to stay.
My single room (218) was really very nice. Value for money.

Reviewed by
K Evans

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and cheerful
This was a last minute booking for us, for just 1 night, our expectations were not great, however, we were very pleasantly surprised to find the room was nice, the hotel itself was great, easy to find and quiet.

Reviewed by
Emily A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth the price
I found the hotel well worth the price. From other reviews I was expecting a bit of a shabby, rundown look, but to my surprise it was actually very nicely decorated. Everything looked modern and the rooms looked clean etc. It was sometimes a bit noisy from the traffic, but I expected that as the hotel is in the middle of town! If I was ever in the area again, I would certainly stay there again as the hotel was definitely value for money.

Reviewed by
Robert d

From Brackley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value comfortable Hotel.
Hotel was excellent for price we paid.
Rooms where clean and comfortable, reception and bar area also clean and staff well mannered.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice on offer but sadly let down by dirty table cloth.
Having said this would stay again if visiting area as we have stayed in a lot worse hotels paying a lot more.

Reviewed by
LINDA NEILL

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next