No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Imperial Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
CORNWALLIS STREET , BARROW-IN-FURNESS, LA14 2LG
The seaport of Barrow-in-Furness is found at the tip of the Furness peninsula, bordered by Morecambe Bay, the Duddon Estuary and the Irish Sea. It offers the ideal base to explore the Lake District and is close to Furness Abbey, Piel Island and many other attractions including South Lakes Safari Zoo (to which Imperial Hotel residents enjoy discounted admission).

The Imperial Hotel is situated in the heart of Barrow, opposite the impressive Victorian Town Hall. Designed by Architect Thomas Bennett, the hotel was built in 1875 during the boom to accommodate the wealth of prospectors and gentry attracted by the town’s industrial riches.

Closed for many years, the hotel has been gloriously restored following an extensive redevelopment programme. Now re-open to the public, the Imperial Hotel is renowned for impeccable service and traditional values, bestowing each guest with a memorable stay.

The Imperial Hotel consists of 49 en-suite bedrooms, all of which are designed to provide luxurious comfort and style that every guest deserves. All bedrooms feature pocket sprung luxury beds, flat screen televisions with an abundance of channels, tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI internet access.

For pure splendour, choose one of our executive rooms or suites. With king size beds, walk-in wet rooms and jacuzzi baths, each offer a delightful environment for you to relax and indulge.

After a busy day of work or pleasure, the ground floor Aspire Bar provides the perfect setting to unwind. Whether you desire a long drink, a continental beer, a refined wine or celebratory champagne, your tastes are well and truly catered for. Cocktail lovers can savour the delights of an extensive menu devised by our resident mixologist – from classic Cosmopolitans to a modern Mojitos.

The Imperial Hotel is seamlessly in tune with the needs of the modern world, offering wedding, business and commercial services with a choice of conference and banqueting suites accommodating up to 180 guests. A prestigious venue and impeccable support services combine to make it the perfect choice for any event.
Picture of Imperial Hotel, BARROW-IN-FURNESS at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 172 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed, would not stay again
We found the photos displayed to be very misleading as our room looked like a cheap version of this. Our room (215) was a fair size but the bed was pushed against the wall in the corner, there were marks all over the walls and the floor. The sheets were bobbly, the bed wasn't particularly comfy, the 'designer toiletries' were awful and the location is in a run down area. We also weren't impressed with the customer service, the party going on all night on the floor below us or the breakfast area and food.

Reviewed by
Elaine T

From Scotland
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice friendly place
will stay here again as its very pleasant.

Reviewed by
roger johnson

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

imperial hotel in barrow
the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of it, the only downside to this hotel is that the windows in rooms needed a lick of paint and some attention to the opening of them, overall a very clean and friendly hotel and would stay here again

Reviewed by
J Milburn

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Myself and my boy friend stayed for one night hotel car park was full.
Public car park next to hotel
Room was lovely no issues with cleanliness at all - lift was also working despite other peoples reviews
Staff very helpful - excellent breakfast choices
All modern - must have had recent refurb
Doesn't look best from outside but inside is lovely
Would absolutely stay again

Reviewed by
Nicola Mackle

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good

Reviewed by
reginald davies

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
No frills, but very clean and tidy. Staff were helpful and it was excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Annette W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend away in the Imperial Hotel
Very pleasant experience was had by myself and my husband.
Friendly and helpful staff on Reception and serving breakfast.
Breakfast was 1st class, so much choice and the cooked breakfast was really nice. Service was impeccable.
Car parking was available and just next door to the hotel.
Our room was great. Clean and tidy and nice bathroom, everything we needed. We had no problems with any noise.
Couldn't fault our stay; so thank you to the Imperial and staff.
Mr & Mrs W.

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

don't stay here if you want a peaceful weekend
When I arrived at the hotel I thought it was really nice and great value for money, we came home after a day out to the hotel being a party hotel with a private party going on under my room very very loud. I rung reception who I found quite unhelpful and not very understanding. Nobody had warned me about the noise. I would not stay again,

Reviewed by
L Robinson

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
the receptionist was not very welcoming and not very helpful and appeared totally disinterested whether this was becuase we booked the hotel at a cheap i am not too sure - but she was more interested in talking to the bar staff. The room was nicely decorated but needed attention as there was damp patches coming through in the bathroom, and attention to detail was lacking as we were given a mug and teacup on our drinks tray in the room so essentially one of us only got half a drink! they should have been mayching cups at least. the room also needed a double glazed unit to stop the noise coming through from the function room. the breakfast on the other were most attentive and should be praised and the food was excellant for breakfastr with a good choice.

Reviewed by
a hughes

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Party on evening Saturday
On Saturday evening was a party at first level and I didn't sleep
Until 2am. I think if you go to a hotel you neee to relax . I tried to sleep
But the music was so loud ........
There was a hotel not a club night!!!!!!!

Reviewed by
Emilia Z

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next