Reviews - Imperial Hotel



Price From 116.93 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (159)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Dawn R

  • October 2015

Better than expected

I booked this hotel very last minute (on the day to be precise).

I didn't have a lot of choice, so my expectations were not very high. I was fortunate to be able to park on-street/NCP carpark across the road without additional cost, providing I was careful about the time restrictions. My room (a single), was quite pleasant. Lovely comfy 4ft bed with ensuite shower. I was on the 3rd floor, so noise was not an issue, which I believe could have been a problem due to the vicinity of the night clubs. The hotel is very close to the town centre, and only a few minutes walk. Breakfast was pretty normal, the only fault I can make is that they had no mushrooms on the Monday morning. Otherwise, I would definitely stay there again.

  • John G

  • September 2015

Imperial Hotel Barrow

The hotel is central and eay to find though the area surrounding the hotel is a bit run down but quiet and, as far as we could determine, safe enough to go for a stroll - even after dark.

The entrance involves a couple of steps but these are managable. Car parking is across the street in the public car par which is free between 18.00 and 08.00 and all day Sunday. Even over a weekend you couldn't get into the hotel carpark, can't all be contractors. The hotel has a lift but beware, the floors have mezzanine levels which means negotiating stairs, some quite steep. The room we had was small but adequate, clean enough as long as you didn't look too close - under bed or behind matress. The windows are in desparate need of attention, I wouldn't risk opening them, and they can be draughty with little barrier to outside noise. The "wardrobe" and clothing storage is minimal so we just used our luggage. The toilet is a killer. The toilet is too low and if you sit on it for more than a couple of minute your legs go numb. The shower had a bit of mildew in the corners but I've seen worse and the shower was hot and powerful. The issue is that because the space is restricted anyone with mobility issues is going to struggle as trhe door can't open fully because of the washhand basin. The room has tea and coffee making facility and free wifi. The signal is low and can drop out unexpectedly as does the television which, on one evening, lost more than half the channels and the rest had a very poor quality signal. The food was served on the first floor and breakfast was excellent though coffee and tea could have been warmer. The bar on the ground floor was packed every night when we were there with parties of some description and too noisy to have a quiet sit and chat but the Irish bar, which opens off the main entrance was basic but well priced and fine for a quiet chat. If I were staying here agan, which I might, I would be very specific about mobility issues and ensure I knew what room I was getting prior to my stay.

  • Darren Kennedy

  • September 2015

Imperial Hotel

Hotel was lovely would definatly recommend it to anyone else will most likely be back to stay.

  • s Towns

  • September 2015

Last min booking.

Me and My fiancé booked this on a whim for his birthday get away and we was not left disappointed.

Hotel staff were super helpful, polite and friendly, Car park was very convenient and secure, and first impression was that it was very much to our taste. We stayed in the Executive Suite room 214 and it was fantastic. Emperor size bed with fresh crispy bedding and sunken over sized bath at the bottom of the bath was added luxury we didn't expect. The bathroom was very modern and I really loved the his and hers sinks, the shower and the mirrors with the lights were perfect for putting on your makeup. The Bar kept with the Modern/luxurious theme and had a fantastic range of cocktails. We headed to Francesca's which was an Italian and was lovely food for very cheap prices. they gave us a booklet which entitled us for 15% off cocktails back at the hotel which I thought was a great way to share custom. Breakfast was included and we were made up at all the choice it went down a treat.

Overall I was so happy with our booking i could of stayed there for a week. hopefully be back soon. xxx

  • S Smith

  • September 2015

Imperial Hotel

Lovely room modern decor.

Nice cocktails.

Our room was next to the cleaning closet and it was very noisy early morning so not much for a lie in. Mouldy glasses in bar.

  • David S

  • September 2015

Used as a base for exploring the Southern Lake district

Nice trendy hotel in the middle of Barrow-In-Furness.

Only real complaint was that the available parking was limited. But yeah, was a good stay, especially for the price.

  • C Davison

  • August 2015

Overnight stay at the imperial.

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and I was pleasantly surprised at the value for money.

The hotel itself was lovely, our room was also really well decorated, modern and clean. The location of the hotel was great for us, the only issue would be parking as on arrival we were informed the garage was full so we had to pay to use the car park across the road and collect in the morning before a parking ticket was issued. Breakfast was good, with a large variety to choose from and was refilled often. Overall the hotel was excellent value for money and would stay here again.

  • Darrel R

  • August 2015

Good hotel but let down by minor details

Firstly, to clarify parking details (which I couldn't find online): The hotel has 6 or 8 spaces but I found these all taken up by contractor's vans.

There are a hundred plus spaces directly over the road in the public car park. However this comes with the risk of a parking ticket between 8am and 6pm and I only narrowly missed getting one as luckily I saw the warden at my car from the hotel breakfast table. Upon arrival the receptionist completely ignored me for 2-3 minutes while a contractor was trying to fix a broken security door access system. Once she engaged me she was polite and helpful. The hotel has been recently refurbished and to quite a high standard (although never a 4*). However small things really let it down; the stairs leading to the upper floors were filthy and even chewing-gum rubbed in to the carpet. Even on a cool-ish summers day the hotel and my room was very hot and fortunately two large windows opened on to the street side of the hotel (so at least I could see my car in the public car park!). However the old Georgian timber-frame windows were rotting. The door in the bathroom had been bashed open so the wall was dented and the lovely free-standing basin in the bathroom had an overflow that pointed up and was full of mildew. All that said; the bed was very comfy, the big Samsung LCD TV with loads of freeview channels was great (although no HD of course), the shower was really good too. Breakfast was pretty good, with a good choice and came extremely quickly. Although the sachets of brown sauce were pathetic and tasted like thick vinegar. The heat in the room meant I had to (try and) sleep with the windows open; so I spent a lot of time in the middle of the night listening to the seagulls arguing, the locals arguing over taxis, the boy-racers racing and at 6am the village-idiot drove his road-sweeper up and down the road SIX times!!

  • R Randle

  • August 2015

Lovely hotel

What a lovely hotel this is, we booked this hotel for my husband and myself to enjoy 2 nights away for our 1st year wedding anniversary, couldn't of asked for a better hotel, the room was amazing and very quiet and couldn't hear outside at all, staff where lovely, the bar downstairs serve amazing cocktails, and the breakfasts are brilliant 5⭐️ Hotel that's all I'm saying, don't no why there has been negative comments about this hotel when it's been brilliant 😄 x

  • linda r

  • July 2015

Fantastic hotel, well above the standard expected for the rate paid

We stayed in room 102 and we have no complaints whatsoever.

Very large room for 2. Nicely decorated with extremely comfy bed and a modern bathroom with good shower and plenty of space. At breakfast, there is a substantial buffet plus you can also order extra from the menu. Thoroughly enjoyed our comfortable stay. No parking though but as we stayed on a Saturday night, parking was free in the Town Hall car park. This might be an issue any other day.