Reviews - Manor House Hotel


11-12 Main Street, ,, Saint Bees, CA27 0DE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Holden

  • September 2015

Good hotel/pub staff let down by owner

It was a Friday night stay, Bank Holiday weekend, I travelled to St.

Bees to participate in a race on the Saturday. I had to check out a 5am so paid for the room and dinner before heading of to bed. I was slightly surprised to have a voice mail message explaining I hadn't paid for the room and could I go back. It was 6pm before I could call the Hotel, there was no reply but as it was Saturday evening on a B/H weekend they were very busy. Being only 5 minutes away at the end of the race I drove round and spoke to a very nice lady who explained she had spoken to the owner and it was all sorted.

Imagine my surprise on the Monday when I received a call from the owner of the hotel explaining I still hadn't paid!. Thankfully I think the chap in the background on the phone was the barman I paid and he corroborated my story - Nice hotel, great staff but keep your receipt.


  • July 2015

Lovely Area

Hotel was spot on for me, 15 minutes from next days appointments in Whitehaven.

Value for money, food good, nice beer garden and lovely weather when i stayed what more do you need.

  • Peter Brixey

  • October 2014

A Great Place To Stay

Parking was hard to find.

But the room was great, the staff very helpful. And the food was very good. For the price and location it is one of the best places i have stayed

  • K Kennedy

  • October 2014

please stay here

stayed here with my elderly mother for two nights.

We were told that they had originally put us in a refurbished room, but, as I had advised that my mother has difficulty with stairs, they put us in a room that only had 6 or so steps to it. Although it was not refurbished, the room was spacious and clean, the beds very comfortable and the bathroom both clean and spacious. I saw one of the refurbished rooms which was lovely.

with regard to service - on going down to breakfast on the first morning, we found that they had very kindly set a table for us in the bar to save Mum having to go down another flight of stairs to the restaurant, and then asked her what cereals she would like and brought it to her from the buffet area. Most appreciated. They also remembered the next morning what our beverage preference was - very impressive. They also very kindly stored Mum's wheelie-walker in the reception area, so we didn't have to drag it up and down the stairs,

The only one thing I would say is that the room we had was very close to the bar so on the Saturday night, there was some noise from the bar. But we put the TV on and could not hear the noise at all. And, as stated previously, we should have had different room, and we would not have had this issue. The hotel is in a great place to access the main roads around for sightseeing, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the food is very good, the service exceptional. I work in the luxury travel market, and I would put the service here in the bracket with this.

  • A Shaw

  • October 2014

Small room and friendly but rather chaotic service offset by good food

Room fairly comfortable but very small.

Shower temperature impossible to adjust. On arrival there had been no parking space kept for us; we were also given a confusing message re availability of table which resulted in us unnecessarily eating less well elsewhere the first night. Food at both breakfasts and second night dinner all very good, but dinner service disorganised.

  • Catherine Simpson

  • September 2014

Enjoyable break

Very happy with everything about the Manor House in St Bees.

Good traditional hotel . We were in room 6 which is a generous sized room with an equally generous sized bathroom. Plenty of drawers for us, a huge wardrobe and a small two seater sofa. It is a beautiful bright room on sunny days, and it also has the best lighting I have ever seen in a hotel. What a change to switch on lights and and see a room get brighter!!. Plenty of breakfast choices (including fresh strawberries when we were there), and hot breakfast cooked to order. It's a really busy place at all times which is always a good sign. Staff friendly and helpful. We had a relaxing, enjoyable weekend here.

  • Julie R

  • August 2014

Pleasurable Stay

Our stay was very nice, accommodation was clean and comfortable.

Staff were very friendly and accommodating and nothing was to much trouble. Food was excellent and very good value for money, portions were more than adequate and the dessert could have been shared.

  • John Paul Allcock

  • June 2014

Arrived late and left early as doing C2C bike ride.

Hotel staff were extremely helpful in offering breakfast facilities for us at 530am.

Comfortable room

  • Mick H

  • April 2014

Mannor House

Poor experiance to start as I waited by reception for nearly 10 minutes befor I had to go and find staff to book in.

Room clean & tidy TV didn't work but as only there for 1 night and i needed to do work on laptop so this was not a problem. No hangers in wardrobe but again didn't affect me as only there 1 night. Noise in room was very loud as this was directly above the bar but did stop by 11pm. Good breakfast overall good stay was it worth £50????

  • J Halliwell

  • April 2014

Done wonders

The present owners have transformed the public areas and created a fantastic restaurant which is backed up with superb food.

Few traditional beers caters for everyone be they tourists or locals. Visitors to the area must give the Manor House a try I know they will be pleasently surpirsed. The bedrooms ars spotless and, while not the biggest, provide everything required for a comfortable overnight stay.