No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Manor House Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
11-12 Main Street, , , Saint Bees, CA27 0DE
The Manor House Hotel is situated in the heart of the beautiful seaside village of St Bees. Our location is ideal for walking the start of the Coast to Coast walk which leaves from the beach, sightseeing through the surrounding coastal town of Whitehaven. Manor House has a lounge bar and a restaurant serving a variety of traditional home-cooked food throughout the day. Free private parking, free wi-fi and large flat screen sky sports are all available at Manor House. Scenic walks can be enjoyed less than 15 minutes’ drive away in the Lake District National Park. A flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities are provided in each traditionally furnished room. All rooms also have a private bathroom with a bath, a shower and a selection of toiletries. St Bees Head is just a 5-minute drive away and offers beautiful coastal walks. Ravenglass and Eskdale Miniature Steam Railway and Muncaster Castle are both within 25 minutes’ drive of Manor House. Full English breakfasts are served in the restaurant. Packed lunches are available on request.
Picture of Manor House Hotel, Saint Bees at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Place To Stay
Parking was hard to find. But the room was great, the staff very helpful. And the food was very good.
For the price and location it is one of the best places i have stayed

Reviewed by
Peter Brixey

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

please stay here
stayed here with my elderly mother for two nights. We were told that they had originally put us in a refurbished room, but, as I had advised that my mother has difficulty with stairs, they put us in a room that only had 6 or so steps to it. Although it was not refurbished, the room was spacious and clean, the beds very comfortable and the bathroom both clean and spacious. I saw one of the refurbished rooms which was lovely.
with regard to service - on going down to breakfast on the first morning, we found that they had very kindly set a table for us in the bar to save Mum having to go down another flight of stairs to the restaurant, and then asked her what cereals she would like and brought it to her from the buffet area. Most appreciated! They also remembered the next morning what our beverage preference was - very impressive!
They also very kindly stored Mum's wheelie-walker in the reception area, so we didn't have to drag it up and down the stairs,
The only one thing I would say is that the room we had was very close to the bar so on the Saturday night, there was some noise from the bar. But we put the TV on and could not hear the noise at all. And, as stated previously, we should have had different room, and we would not have had this issue.
The hotel is in a great place to access the main roads around for sightseeing, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the food is very good, the service exceptional. I work in the luxury travel market, and I would put the service here in the bracket with this.

Reviewed by
K Kennedy

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small room and friendly but rather chaotic service offset by good food
Room fairly comfortable but very small. Shower temperature impossible to adjust. On arrival there had been no parking space kept for us; we were also given a confusing message re availability of table which resulted in us unnecessarily eating less well elsewhere the first night. Food at both breakfasts and second night dinner all very good, but dinner service disorganised.

Reviewed by
A Shaw

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable break
Very happy with everything about the Manor House in St Bees. Good traditional hotel . We were in room 6 which is a generous sized room with an equally generous sized bathroom. Plenty of drawers for us, a huge wardrobe and a small two seater sofa. It is a beautiful bright room on sunny days, and it also has the best lighting I have ever seen in a hotel. What a change to switch on lights and and see a room get brighter!!. Plenty of breakfast choices (including fresh strawberries when we were there), and hot breakfast cooked to order. It's a really busy place at all times which is always a good sign. Staff friendly and helpful. We had a relaxing, enjoyable weekend here.

Reviewed by
Catherine Simpson

From Galashiels, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasurable Stay
Our stay was very nice, accommodation was clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and accommodating and nothing was to much trouble. Food was excellent and very good value for money, portions were more than adequate and the dessert could have been shared.

Reviewed by
Julie R

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived late and left early as doing C2C bike ride. Hotel staff were extremely helpful in offering breakfast facilities for us at 530am.
Comfortable room

Reviewed by
John Paul Allcock

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mannor House
Poor experiance to start as I waited by reception for nearly 10 minutes befor I had to go and find staff to book in. Room clean & tidy TV didn't work but as only there for 1 night and i needed to do work on laptop so this was not a problem. No hangers in wardrobe but again didn't affect me as only there 1 night. Noise in room was very loud as this was directly above the bar but did stop by 11pm. Good breakfast overall good stay was it worth £50????

Reviewed by
Mick H

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Done wonders
The present owners have transformed the public areas and created a fantastic restaurant which is backed up with superb food. Few traditional beers caters for everyone be they tourists or locals. Visitors to the area must give the Manor House a try I know they will be pleasently surpirsed. The bedrooms ars spotless and, while not the biggest, provide everything required for a comfortable overnight stay.

Reviewed by
J Halliwell

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Rooms Good Food
I' enjoyed my stay at the Manor House Hotel. The room was perfect for my needs and the satff are very friendly and very accommodating when it comes to reasonable requests for assistance. I enjoyed an evening meal from the varied menu, and a most satisfactory breakfast the following morning. The bar is well stocked with a superb range of regular and guest ales. I would stay here again and do recommend the Manor House Hotel to you.

Reviewed by
John Kimberley

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely village pub with Bed and Breakfast
Very friendly and helpful staff. The furniture and decoration was a little bit dated but a refurbishment is happening in January 2014 when the pub will be closed for 5 weeks. The owner couldn't do any more to help. We travelled with 2 teenagers and 2 large dogs who were accommodated and well catered for. We will stay here again if we visit St Bees - which is also a really nice village with the beach only half mile away.

Reviewed by
J Barker

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next