Reviews - The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel


The Esplanade, Sidmouth, EX10 8AX

Price From 110.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • C A

  • November 2015

A One Night Stay

An older Hotel but a good attempt at smartening up.

Good Breakfast and friendly staff. At just over sixty I felt special in being one of the youngest guests!. A very quiet night was had by all!.

  • H Stephens

  • November 2015

Fantastic, friendly, welcoming hotel

I was staying alone for the weekend as an escape from the stress of everyday life.

I was a little nervous but everyone was lovely and accommodating especially Jane on front of house. I loved my seaview room which was spacious, clean, contemporary and comfortable. The food was excellent and the morning coffee/afternoon tea was delightful. A wonderful hotel in a wonderful location. Can I go back again soon please?

  • John Austin

  • July 2015

Really nice Place to stay

really enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Food very good although we could not get in one night fully booked. All the hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained. Reception very helpful but could only find me a parking spot for two nights which is a bit of a pain. All the other staff were really nice, polite and helpful. Our room was a bit small and the bed very hard but was ok for what we wanted. Great location on the sea front and close to the town.

  • Lisa W

  • June 2015

Birthday night away

It was OK and view from balcony was amazing.

However, for price of room. £164 - it was TINY!!. And quite bland. Balcony was so small (and quite dirty), we couldn't even manouvere the 2 chairs on it around the door. At breakfast time, we found a note on our table for someone else telling them they were moving into our room when we had gone. The said couple were then placed next to us at breakfast and complained we had "stolen their table" even though a member of staff seated us and we were still room 110 til checkout time. My partner enjoyed his full english and I had scrambled egg and smoked salmon but the scrambled egg was so runny and watery, I had to leave alot and felt sick.

  • Phyllis S

  • June 2015

Great views

Relaxed, friendly, clean, and great food.

Enjoyed the morning coffee and afternoon tea.

  • Susan B

  • December 2014

Great experience

I stayed here overnight on business.

when I arrived I found I have been upgraded from a rear facing single to a double with a sea view. The room was great, very comfortable. They had though of everything. I had a fantastic breakfast. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Wished I could have stayed longer. Would definitely stay again and would absolutely recommend.

  • john walker

  • December 2014

Just perfect

Perfect location, attentive and kind staff, everything good.

  • paul vasilenko

  • November 2014

a very confortable and clean establishment, real value for money

Would stay here again on a personal note.

  • G Cawley

  • November 2014

Stay in Sidmouth

A comfortable room, shower a bit weak.

A long and winding road to get to the room. All a bit old fashioned, but pleasant, and a fantastic location right by the sea.

  • john davy

  • November 2014

sidmouth the best