No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Esplanade , Sidmouth, EX10 8AX
An elegant, relaxing retreat at the centre of Sidmouth’s delightful Regency seafront,
the Kingswood & Devoran Hotel provides 49 bedrooms, and over 60 years
of renowned family service and hospitality, in an environment mixing the best of
tradition and contemporary style.
The hotel is ideal for exploring the town’s excellent variety of independent shops and
is just a stones throw away from the beach.
All bedrooms are tastefully furnished, each having their own individual character
and, typically for a building of this era, varying in style and size. All are en-suite, with
facilities including flat screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, and refreshment tray. Free
wi-fi is also available throughout the building. Many sea facing rooms have a private
balcony, bay or picture window overlooking Lyme Bay and the sandstone cliffs.
The flower-filled patio, dining room, lounges and bar overlook the sea with stunning
views of the World Heritage Coast. The perfect place for watching the world go by
whilst enjoying a drink or meal, or both!
Access to the hotel is also excellent from both street level and our private car park.
There is direct lift access to all public rooms and the majority of bedrooms.

**Please note car parking is not guaranteed**
Picture of The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel, Sidmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff, tiny en-suite
Everything about this hotel is geared for the more "mature " guest. At 60 and 61 years of age my wife and I were the youngest patrons during our stay...The staff are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Our room was perfectly adequate and had the sea-view we particularly wanted. However the en-suite shower room was ridiculously small and would have been very difficult to negotiate for less able guests.

Reviewed by
David Askew

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel on seafront
Great hotel, friendly welcome, centrally located on Sidmouth sea front. Bonus to have room with sea view. Good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Martin D

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fun Birthday Break
We used this hotel as a base to celebrate a birthday in Sidmouth. We weren't dissapointed. The room was small but had everything we needed, including a great view of the seafront. The staff were helpfull from the start, and it seemed that all the other guests staying in the hotel seemed happy too - meaning a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We ate in the hotel one evening and the meal was good, including good vegetarian choices. The breakfast was equally as good. We would stay here again.

Reviewed by
G Willis

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful stay
We spent a wonderful 3nights at this Hotel friendly and welcoming staff. Thank you we will return in the near future!

Reviewed by
Anthony M

From Brackley, Reino Unido
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break in Sidmouth
We booked this break at short notice going by the favourable weather forecast. We normally have something to criticise,but on this occasion everything was to our liking.
,

Reviewed by
b giles

From shirley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly
Hotel staff were friendly. Room was clean.Would stay again.

Reviewed by
R Nichols

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The whole experience was very good. Staff very helpful and friendly. v. Good room, clean with good
facilities. Breakfast very good, although eggs a little small !

Reviewed by
Paula W

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good service

Reviewed by
Stephen Kirby

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break
We only had 2 days at Sidmouth, but the hotel was lovely, right on the sea front with a sea view from our room.
The staff were excellent, couldn't do enough for you. We had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant of which we could not fault it. Breakfasts too were of a good size and hot!
Would definately revisit in the future!!

Reviewed by
Paula Fitch

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely traditional hotel
Very warm welcome on arrival. Personalised note in the room was a nice touch. Kindly upgraded to a seafront room. Parking had been arranged. Room was small but comfortable and clean. Afternoon tea and evening coffee available in the pleasant lounges free of charge which is a nice touch. All staff very warm and helpful.

Reviewed by
Jenny Brown

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next