No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Esplanade , Sidmouth, EX10 8AX
An elegant, relaxing retreat at the centre of Sidmouth’s delightful Regency seafront,
the Kingswood & Devoran Hotel provides 49 bedrooms, and over 60 years
of renowned family service and hospitality, in an environment mixing the best of
tradition and contemporary style.
The hotel is ideal for exploring the town’s excellent variety of independent shops and
is just a stones throw away from the beach.
All bedrooms are tastefully furnished, each having their own individual character
and, typically for a building of this era, varying in style and size. All are en-suite, with
facilities including flat screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, and refreshment tray. Free
wi-fi is also available throughout the building. Many sea facing rooms have a private
balcony, bay or picture window overlooking Lyme Bay and the sandstone cliffs.
The flower-filled patio, dining room, lounges and bar overlook the sea with stunning
views of the World Heritage Coast. The perfect place for watching the world go by
whilst enjoying a drink or meal, or both!
Access to the hotel is also excellent from both street level and our private car park.
There is direct lift access to all public rooms and the majority of bedrooms.

**Please note car parking is not guaranteed**
Picture of The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel, Sidmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasent weekend stay
A nice quiet hotel at located in a central position on the sea front and close to the main town facilities. There was only a small car park and as we were a late booking we had to find alternative parking which in sidmouth can be expensive and time consuming. .

Reviewed by
Richard I

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything too small for the price.
Reasonable hotel, but over-priced. Small room, small bed, cramped shower cubicle, tiny television.

Reviewed by
Sam M

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay
Excellent facilities but on-road parking is an issue

Reviewed by
R Mottram

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay with excellent service
On our first night we had a superior room with sea view which was nothing short of excellent in every aspect. We were unable to have this on the second night and our room at the rear of the hotel was smaller with a less comfortable bed. Nothing was too much trouble for the excellent staff on reception who really made our stay very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Roy B

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service, fabulous location
We had excellent service when we visited this hotel, we felt very looked-after. The location is fabulous, right on the front. We didn't have a sea view, but the room was clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Geoff S

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The perfect hotel for elderly or wheelchair users
We were quite disappointed with our "Superior room with a balcony, bay or picture window". Although recently decorated, the room was very small and cluttered with shabby old furniture and had NO balcony or bay window. On the good side though, the staff were delightful and eager to please where they could. The hotel would be perfect hotel for the elderly or those needing facilities for the disabled as our room was very well set up for a wheelchair user and the lounge had many of good high-backed chairs.

Reviewed by
Phil G

From Beaconsfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation.
All starff frendly and helpfull.

Reviewed by
k cripwell

From wellington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
Jon Duckham

From Bakewell, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the room booked.
We booked a "superior" room with balcony. bay window or picture window, facing the sea. This was because one of the party is ill and could sit watching the sea if not feeling able to go out. The room we were given was in the roof space with a velux window, ( the sill of which was about 4ft high ) and a small window about a metre wide which again could only be looked out of when standing. There was no room in to swap with so we paid the lower rate but the room was not fit for the purpose it was booked for. The room was clean. The weather was lovely and hot but there was no fan or air con and Saturday night had party goers on the street outside until after 1.30 am. At breakfast we were put in a small lower back room off the main restaurant. We asked to move but were told other guest were "staying" and these were their tables, which made us feel less valued. For £232 for 2 nights this was meant to be a special treat but we were disappointed. There is one small lift which broke on the Sunday but was fixed quickly, important as many of the guests seemed to have mobility needs. The door to the room is very heavy to open.

Reviewed by
helen g

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flaming seagulls
We were in the loft room. The gulls were nesting on the roof near our window and were squalling all night long. We never slept. We had to shut the window because of the noise the room was so hot.
The bed was small. Very disappointed. Other than that the hotel was good and the staff were good nd the food was great.would stay again but not n that room.

Reviewed by
Y Kirk

From Morden, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next