Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

3

Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel Otterburn, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE19 1NS

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (35)

74% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • B Middleton

  • December 2014

Short Stay

A treat if you are after something different, great old character building with plenty of atmosphere and quality furnishings,very pleasant staff and a quality breakfast , only slight complaint is no staff available at night just in case of an Emergency but overall a very nice experience.

  • Stephen F

  • December 2014

Otterbun castle

very nice place, staff and sevice first class.

Hotel a little bit cold.

  • P Bottomley

  • December 2014

Nice castle lousy food and service

Upon arrival but after payment we were asked to pay more as they thought that the booking was for a different room.

It wasn't, I checked the booking for room and price. All a bit embarrassing and slightly rude.

We waited along time for our dinner to arrive and what came wasn't very nice. The staff were disinterested and unapologetic about the poor quality of the food. The bar didn't have any nuts or crisps so we were left hungry. We skipped breakfast in favour of just leaving.

  • Gill H

  • December 2014

WORK IN PROGRESS

This hotel is fortunate to be filled with very nice, hard working staff who find nothing too much trouble to make an enjoyable stay for their guests.

The hotel itself is a "work in progress" where it is evident that throughout the building money is being spent, new decoration, new carpets, new curtains, new sofas, etc. but there is still some way to go, however we were told by a member of staff that the hotel will close down for a couple of months to finish off. That said, don't let it put you off. We stayed for 3 nights and had a lovely time despite being disappointed with our Elite room (No. 9) which needs bringing to life. The area is fabulous, plenty to do and see and a lovely pub (Redesdale Arms, 5 minutes, 3 miles) up the road. We do hope to visit again when all finished.

  • Philip O

  • November 2014

W.I.F.I.

Could do with a couple of more choices on the evening menu, but what they did have was delicious.

And the rooms really need to be sorted for W.I.F.I, You can get it downstairs in one of the sitting rooms but the way I read the info before booking led me to believe you could receive it in your rooms. Sometimes even though people are on holiday they have to keep an eye on their business. Apart from these two things it is a brilliant place and the service was absolutely superb.

  • A McPherson

  • November 2014

Great

So good we are returning for 2 nights next week.

  • J Mason

  • September 2014

Excellent stay, would recommend this hotel.

Staff very friendly and obliging.

  • C Wiberg

  • September 2014

Beautiful setting, pity about the debris from the wedding still lying around 2 days later.

The room was very nice but cleanliness of the bathroom not up to scratch. The food was good but overpriced.The staff were extremely pleasant and attentive.

  • JOSEPH DUXBURY

  • September 2014

Staff were very friendly and efficient made one feel very welcome.

The General manager was ordering the staff in a dictitorial manner in front of guests this was inappropriate.

  • mark f

  • August 2014

Bring Your Antigravity Boots!

From the outside this is a lovely place in lovely grounds, however when we stayed there was no atmosphere in the hotel, it was like walking around an empty building, on Mars.

The room was big enough but had a drain smell in the bathroom, and was very dusty as well, it obviously hadn't been used for a while. There was no information pack in the room or any details/phone numbers in case of emergency etc like you usually find in hotels, places to go etc. There were few staff, we only saw the same three in the two days we were there, consequently service for dinner was slow and breakfast even worse, nearly an hour for a full English breakfast on the day we were leaving. The breakfast food was good, but the evening menu was poor, little selection printed on a sheet of A4 and very expensive. Food quality from this menu was poor and there was little of it, we were still hungry and would've gone out for a burger if there was any burger place close by - which there wasn't. The staff also go home at night and lock the front door - so take your room key to let yourself back in if you're going to be late - very unusual for a large hotel. To sum up, this is like one of those Christmas presents nicely wrapped in shiny paper and ribbons, only to find its a bar of soap inside. I wouldn't go again, the overall experience wasn't a good one and it was expensive for what it was. Disappointing.