No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel Otterburn, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE19 1NS
Built in 1078, this elegant Northumbrian country house hotel is nestled in 32 acres of tranquil grounds and offers luxurious accommodation, award-winning dining, free Wi-Fi and parking.

This historic property has been beautifully restored with original features such as oak panelling, stained-glass windows and open fireplaces cultivating an ambience of elegance and warmth.

Fronted by beautiful terraced lawns and surrounded by woodland, the grounds include a large stretch of river and a private lake, perfect for scenic walks or a spot of fishing.

Each of 17 en-suite bedrooms has been individually decorated and furnished. For a truly special stay, they also offer luxurious four-poster rooms.

The Hotel has garnered an exceptional reputation for its food with everything being created from the finest locally sourced ingredients.

Located in the heart of Wild Redesdale, only 3 minutes from the A68 and 45 from Newcastle, it is perfect for visiting Hadrian’s Wall, Alnwick Castle, Kielder Water and Northumberland National Park.
Picture of Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bring Your Antigravity Boots!
From the outside this is a lovely place in lovely grounds, however when we stayed there was no atmosphere in the hotel, it was like walking around an empty building, on Mars.
The room was big enough but had a drain smell in the bathroom, and was very dusty as well, it obviously hadn't been used for a while.
There was no information pack in the room or any details/phone numbers in case of emergency etc like you usually find in hotels, places to go etc.
There were few staff, we only saw the same three in the two days we were there, consequently service for dinner was slow and breakfast even worse, nearly an hour for a full English breakfast on the day we were leaving.
The breakfast food was good, but the evening menu was poor, little selection printed on a sheet of A4 and very expensive.
Food quality from this menu was poor and there was little of it, we were still hungry and would've gone out for a burger if there was any burger place close by - which there wasn't.
The staff also go home at night and lock the front door - so take your room key to let yourself back in if you're going to be late - very unusual for a large hotel.
To sum up, this is like one of those Christmas presents nicely wrapped in shiny paper and ribbons, only to find its a bar of soap inside.
I wouldn't go again, the overall experience wasn't a good one and it was expensive for what it was.
Disappointing.

Reviewed by
mark f

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked an elite room for one night.
The castle is lovely but for an elite room we were a little disappointed. The main problem was the cleanliness of the room. There was a plastic cup from previous guests at the side of the bed and I do not expect to have to wash MANY hairs out of the bath before we could use it. One or maybe two hairs I can understand but there were quite a few. There was also dust and hair on the bathroom floor and in the sink.
On a positive note the breakfast was delicious and service was good.

Reviewed by
Lisa Sams

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room
we stayed in room 14 on the front of the hotel with nice views of the garden & lawns, which was ok til it got dark then the whole room was lite up like a airfield at night, the room was ok but the shower in the bathroom was very poor it had no water pressure in it
breakfast was very slow but ok if you have the time to wait

Reviewed by
t naylor

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was lovely and was very modern and nicely decorated. The bathroom however was not to the same standard and needed some attention. Our evening meal was great and the food very good. Breakfast the next morning took over 45 minutes to arrive which was disappointing. There was no urgency and we were struggling to understand why there were such significant delays.

Reviewed by
N Witty

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel. Staff were friendly and the room was absolutely lovely.

Reviewed by
michael heads

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
We had a great stay at this castle Hotel. it looked like the place had been newly decorated and new carpets fitted. There was also lovely grounds to walk in, well worth a visit.

Reviewed by
W Crichton

From Kelty, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel in Northumberland
Excellent hotel in Otterburn Northumberland, near Rothberry and Alnwick. Plenty close to the hotel to visit (30 miles average) Great food at breakfast and evening. Well worth the stay.

Reviewed by
A Harland

From Ferryhill, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Otterburn Castle Hotel Getaway
The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome. Our room was beautiful having been recently decorated in a style very much in keeping with the Castle's history. The lounge and dining areas were also tastefully newly, decorated and we spent a lovely relaxing afternoon and evening in elegant surroundings. The food was excellent and we would definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
D Cooper

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no going back
There was a wedding on so was told that we couldn't use the hotel bar till later that day, was put off using restaurant as there was limited space, had to go to stables bar which advertises bar meals to be told just sandwiches during day then restaurant menu on night at £25 per head. there is no children friendly menu and the sables bar is abit like a café , wouldn't mind paying the money in hotel restaurant but not in there , got kicked out of stables bar at 10pm just to find the hotel bar heaving from wedding managed to get a drink but had to sit in lounge by ourselves as you couldn't get in the bar to sit. Room was thick of dust on table were tv was . Only good thing is that the receptionist was really friendly and the irish barman was lovely and helpful aswell. If you like to go out and about be aware there is nothing for miles, the only pub opposite the hotel has closed down.

Reviewed by
j whitfield

From Sunderland, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean comfortable and excellent service from friendly staff

Reviewed by
Karen M

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next