No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Royal Station Hotel, Market Street, , Carnforth, LA5 9BT
The Royal Station Hotel is situated in the small market town of Carnforth across the road from the old railway station, famous as the setting for the Noel Coward film ‘Brief Encounter’. The Lake District National Park, the Yorkshire Dales, the historic city of Lancaster and Morecambe Bay are all within travelling distance of this 19th century Victorian hotel. The hotel's nine ensuite bedrooms all with TV, trouser press, hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities and offer spacious, well-appointed accommodation, whether it is for a night, a weekend or a week. Children & pets welcome. The newly refurbished Lounge Bar offers a varied home cooked menu complimented by an extensive drinks portfolio of local cask conditioned ales, wines, spirits and lagers., with a specials board. For something a little more lively, why not spend your evening in our sports bar ‘The Last Drop Inn’ which is often the venue for live bands and big screen sporting events pool, darts and quiz nights.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel, Carnforth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awalking base
A great base for walking activities

Reviewed by
s moreton

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A traditional railway hotel with fab veggie breakfasts!
Yes, this place is a bit "tired" as per other reviews but it has the type of faded charm that old railway hotels should have, and the owners are clearly slowly doing it up (but hopefully in a not too 'modern' fashion). We had the 4-poster room, which was large and fine (but needs a new bathroom).
It is right next to the station, and we used it as a stop off for the weekend to take one of the "Brief Encounter" special train day-trips to Edinburgh for my birthday.
This place has superb veggie breakfasts. We anticipate coming back at some point.

Reviewed by
W O

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walking break
A great base to have a days walk in the lakes

Reviewed by
s moreton

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for the station,room was fine with a comfortable bed,but no shower gel supplied which is poor for almost £50. The down side was the room being on the main road as the window barely kept the sound out with people speaking in the road being easily heard even with it being fully closed and creaky floors.

Reviewed by
Jon K

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not really on the top of my recommendations
When I arrived at the Royal Carnforth first impressions were not very good and unfortunately they didn't get any better once I had seen the room. The rooms were not touched by any member of staff from the Wednesday - Friday whilst were there. The rubbish we had in the room I had to remove myself on the Friday which I gave to the barmaid to dispose of. To be honest this is more of a posh hostel than a hotel. If you cannot find anywhere else in Carnforth to stay I would suggest to buy yourself a tent.

Reviewed by
Paul D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bank holiday stay
We were dismayed that the Hotel seemed generally run down. There had been an effort to modernize the rooms, but the fittings were all very old. No mattress protecters on the beds. The sheets were very clean and white, but the mattresses were not clean. Cups left with tea/coffee stains on them from previous use. We did not eat there, the restaurant was all closed up, although we were offered food in the bar area which we declined.

Reviewed by
a firth

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Visit
Room and decor was tired and in need off updating. Bed needs to be updated. Shower needed new hose but was good floor was uneaven and carpet had seen better days. Staff and food were good

Reviewed by
john w m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quick stay
The hotel is large and rooms are plenty big enough for 2 people staying for a short break.
Plenty of things to do and good quality food available. Hotel is situated in the very centre of town within easy access of all surrounding areas

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gateway to the Lakes
I stayed here with my partner on a Friday night with a view to exploring the Lake District in the morning. We got a double room, and the bed was amazingly comfortable! I had trouble getting up in the morning! The room was clean and the owners are extremely friendly, as are the regulars and the patrons at the bar downstairs. We ordered breakfast in the morning and it was one of the best full English meals I've had in years. My only criticism would be the slightly dated bathroom facilities, but to be honest how much do you care about what the en suite looks like? The shower worked perfectly and the toilet was quiet so I have no complaints. I would definitely stay here again as I often visit the north around Lancaster and the lakes. Recommended!

Reviewed by
Robert S

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An older hotel in desperate need of updating. Friendly check in. Noisy on busy road junction.
Only booked as a stopover on way up to Scotland. Friendly check-in. When asked about evening food was recommended to go to the next village! Room was on top floor on a busy junction, very hot and noisy. Co-op unloading at 5 AM. Bathroom was not clean lots of thick cobwebs and in desperate need of updating. Would not stay again.

Reviewed by
L Cook

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next