No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Royal Station Hotel, Market Street, , Carnforth, LA5 9BT
The Royal Station Hotel is situated in the small market town of Carnforth across the road from the old railway station, famous as the setting for the Noel Coward film ‘Brief Encounter’. The Lake District National Park, the Yorkshire Dales, the historic city of Lancaster and Morecambe Bay are all within travelling distance of this 19th century Victorian hotel. The hotel's nine ensuite bedrooms all with TV, trouser press, hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities and offer spacious, well-appointed accommodation, whether it is for a night, a weekend or a week. Children & pets welcome. The newly refurbished Lounge Bar offers a varied home cooked menu complimented by an extensive drinks portfolio of local cask conditioned ales, wines, spirits and lagers., with a specials board. For something a little more lively, why not spend your evening in our sports bar ‘The Last Drop Inn’ which is often the venue for live bands and big screen sporting events pool, darts and quiz nights.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel, Carnforth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Refurbishment Overdue
Whilst the Station Hotel is very centrally placed and easy to find, it is well overdue a refurbishment. the room was very shabby, with stains on the ceiling and flooring where there had been a water leak some time ago, the bathroom was also shabby with the shower head held in place by duct tape!
Sink plug chain broken also the taps needed repair.
No car parking other than on the street, with limited waiting time 1-2 hrs only.
However the bed was very comfy and I slept well.

Reviewed by
E Parker

From Yarm, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly ordinary.
Slept very well on a weekend night. The bar downstairs was a bit ropey with drunks arguing, but it was a Saturday night.
If we were to be stopping in Carnforth again we would try somewhere else, but this place was by no means terrible.

Reviewed by
James A

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
P Jelbert

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant staff, room was nice and big and very clean. Really good value for money.

Reviewed by
H SMALLEY

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot water
No hot water in room .

Reviewed by
M Rigg

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great weekend break
very helpful with the dog, friendly staff.

Reviewed by
S Moreton

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sub standard room. Very slow service.
We paid for the four poster room and were disappointed. The room had a four poster but after that the kudos is nil. Carpet has stains on it. Bathroom en suite carpet Ill fitted and had the loudest fan in the world as well as bath skirting board falling off, curtains didn't fit the window and didn't close properly, curtains had big red stain on. Clock in room had flat battery but when I put a new battery in it was very noisy so I took it out again. Bedroom carpet was stained and the furniture was a complete mish mash of stuff with handles missing.

Reviewed by
Dave S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carnforth Trip
Good central location great for the railway station & visitor centre. Two bars, a lounge bar and a bigger sized main bar area both showing Sky Sports channels. Struck up conversations with the staff and customers in both rooms, a very friendly place. The food menu looked good but I only stayed one night and got something to eat elsewhere when we went for a wander about town. The breakfasts looked good but we had already planned to stop somewhere on the journey home for Sunday dinner so we skipped breakfast.

Reviewed by
A McIver

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were pleasent and the bar seemed to be OK .The one problem for me was that I checked in at around 16.00 and when I got to my room it was stone cold . It was a cold day but the heating in the room didn't come on until around 18.00 and ,because it was so cold , never really warmed the room up.

Reviewed by
Roger A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great up and coming hotel
stayed for 2 nights and have to say apart from being perfectly located for discovering the south lakes and Lancashire coast the new owners/,managers are doing a great job of bringing this once neglected hotel back to life and again part of the comunity, will be going back again and will look forward to seeing there next improvement, great hotel, great location, great staff, great food and fantastic real ale, keep up the good work

Reviewed by
Carl P

From Colne, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next