No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Royal Station Hotel, Market Street, , Carnforth, LA5 9BT
The Royal Station Hotel is situated in the small market town of Carnforth across the road from the old railway station, famous as the setting for the Noel Coward film ‘Brief Encounter’. The Lake District National Park, the Yorkshire Dales, the historic city of Lancaster and Morecambe Bay are all within travelling distance of this 19th century Victorian hotel. The hotel's nine ensuite bedrooms all with TV, trouser press, hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities and offer spacious, well-appointed accommodation, whether it is for a night, a weekend or a week. Children & pets welcome. The newly refurbished Lounge Bar offers a varied home cooked menu complimented by an extensive drinks portfolio of local cask conditioned ales, wines, spirits and lagers., with a specials board. For something a little more lively, why not spend your evening in our sports bar ‘The Last Drop Inn’ which is often the venue for live bands and big screen sporting events pool, darts and quiz nights.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel, Carnforth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bank holiday stay
We were dismayed that the Hotel seemed generally run down. There had been an effort to modernize the rooms, but the fittings were all very old. No mattress protecters on the beds. The sheets were very clean and white, but the mattresses were not clean. Cups left with tea/coffee stains on them from previous use. We did not eat there, the restaurant was all closed up, although we were offered food in the bar area which we declined.

Reviewed by
a firth

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Visit
Room and decor was tired and in need off updating. Bed needs to be updated. Shower needed new hose but was good floor was uneaven and carpet had seen better days. Staff and food were good

Reviewed by
john w m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quick stay
The hotel is large and rooms are plenty big enough for 2 people staying for a short break.
Plenty of things to do and good quality food available. Hotel is situated in the very centre of town within easy access of all surrounding areas

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gateway to the Lakes
I stayed here with my partner on a Friday night with a view to exploring the Lake District in the morning. We got a double room, and the bed was amazingly comfortable! I had trouble getting up in the morning! The room was clean and the owners are extremely friendly, as are the regulars and the patrons at the bar downstairs. We ordered breakfast in the morning and it was one of the best full English meals I've had in years. My only criticism would be the slightly dated bathroom facilities, but to be honest how much do you care about what the en suite looks like? The shower worked perfectly and the toilet was quiet so I have no complaints. I would definitely stay here again as I often visit the north around Lancaster and the lakes. Recommended!

Reviewed by
Robert S

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An older hotel in desperate need of updating. Friendly check in. Noisy on busy road junction.
Only booked as a stopover on way up to Scotland. Friendly check-in. When asked about evening food was recommended to go to the next village! Room was on top floor on a busy junction, very hot and noisy. Co-op unloading at 5 AM. Bathroom was not clean lots of thick cobwebs and in desperate need of updating. Would not stay again.

Reviewed by
L Cook

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived after a long and difficult journey and were not impressed by the brusque demand for payment when we had barely walked through the door and before we were allowed to have a key or take our bags to the room. I was travelling with a very elderly relative. Room was not a twin as booked but a family room - double plus much smaller bed and less comfortable bed. Room could also have been a bit more thoroughly cleaned and the window was faulty and could not be left open for air on a very warm evening. Had it not been so late/money already handed over we should probably have looked for alternative accommodation. Breakfast and service much better the next morning.

Reviewed by
M Andow

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Refurbishment Overdue
Whilst the Station Hotel is very centrally placed and easy to find, it is well overdue a refurbishment. the room was very shabby, with stains on the ceiling and flooring where there had been a water leak some time ago, the bathroom was also shabby with the shower head held in place by duct tape!
Sink plug chain broken also the taps needed repair.
No car parking other than on the street, with limited waiting time 1-2 hrs only.
However the bed was very comfy and I slept well.

Reviewed by
E Parker

From Yarm, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly ordinary.
Slept very well on a weekend night. The bar downstairs was a bit ropey with drunks arguing, but it was a Saturday night.
If we were to be stopping in Carnforth again we would try somewhere else, but this place was by no means terrible.

Reviewed by
James A

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
P Jelbert

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant staff, room was nice and big and very clean. Really good value for money.

Reviewed by
H SMALLEY

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next