Reviews - George Hotel


23 High Street, ,, Battle, TN33 0EA

Price From 93.86 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (37)

57% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Chris D

  • September 2015

As expected!

A good value basic B (Bed but no breakfast!) in Battle with a host who can't do enough to help and an incredible Italian bizarrely located within the same building on the ground floor.

Rooms not particularly clean (cobwebs and dust, etc.) but suitable on the whole, bathroom consisted of lovely furnishings alongside cafeteria dispensers, and from our bed we had to squint so hard to focus on our 20" TV. Michael the host is excellent and always happy to help with any problems, even if the solutions are rather unorthodox. We can cope with this lack of polish but not suitable for those who expect silver service on a budget. Just a note for the Italian eatery, Simply Italian. Having spent 10 days in Napoli last year, this place is the best pizza I have tasted outside of Italy, hands down.

  • David F

  • August 2015

Simple, clean and comfortable

A good basic hotel, ideal for a night's stay at a very reasonable price.

The room was clean and entirely adequate. The town was very quiet on a Sunday evening. The pubs stop serving food at 9pm, but there's a nice family-run Italian restaurant sharing the ground floor of the George (a separate business). Parking at the back is fine once you get through the narrow access - not as narrow as some I've seen!

  • Lee S

  • August 2015

George Hotel

Nice old fashioned hotel, a few minor negatives, WiFi code given doesn't work, the toilet wobbles, window has no catch and swings wide open and the shower fixing is cracked and wobbly, very nice bed though and nice furniture, staff are great and extend clock in time if you are running late.

  • Mark H

  • June 2015

Very outdated - needs modernising.

Parking difficult. You get what you pay for.

  • A Thomas

  • May 2015

You get what you pay for

The room was large as was the bathroom.

A bonus being the ironing board and iron. The shower was great but the toilet didn't flush properly so the cistern lid had to be taken off to assist it filling up....The bed was comfortable. The sounsproofing leaves a lot to be desired, you can hear far too much of what's going on in other rooms. But having said all that, if you're after 5* accommodation you'll need to pay for it. The location is great as is the Italian restaurant attached to the hotel. There is no breakfast but there are nearby places to go to for that. The chap who runs the hotel, and seems to do everything actually - tries very hard and is helpful. This is budget accommodation and for 1 night it was fine.

  • d morgan

  • May 2015


No problem here.

Large room, mega bathroom. Clean and pleasant. No food served but use the deli opposite, great food.

  • Richard B

  • April 2015

Short stay for cultural event.

The room was very comfortable, fine for short stay as I was fortunate in having lifts to and from the cultural event I had been invited to at the Pestalozzi International Village in Sedlescombe.

It is a shame the Hotel did not have it's own breakfast room/restaurant. However,the original such room,

now an Italian Restaurant,is easily accessed from the Hotel.

  • Adam H

  • April 2015

Pretty Basic

The pics make it look really nice, but its a bit tired and could do with some TLC.

The bathroom floor was in need of a clean and I had to stand for about 5 mins waiting for somebody to answer the buzzer on reception just to check in. Overall...a bit disappointing. also no breakfast!

  • Julie j

  • April 2015

George Hotel

Fab stay, free upgrade to lovely double, all rooms being refurbished.

When finished, will be even better. Cleanliness and service top notch. Thank you.

  • graham s

  • February 2015

very noisy building work should been told on arrival

I dont ever like doing bad reviews but loads building work going on went on early evening and started drilling and banging about early i would never had booked otherwise waisted our money on night out