No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
23, High St, , Battle, TN33 0EA
The 300 year old George Hotel provides comfortable accommodation for visitors to the historic town of Battle. Visit the place where English history changed forever. Walk over the battlefield where William the Conqueror stood. We are easy to find in the heart of Battle, a 5 minute taxi ride from the train station and only a 2 minute walk from Battle Abbey, so come and visit soon. Stay in one of our brand new refurbished comfortable en-suite rooms, enjoy a traditional full English breakfast, and then set off to explore the historic and picturesque town. Battle itself provides a great choice of restaurants and shops, while the seaside towns of Hastings and Bexhill-on-Sea are less than 20 minutes drive away. Battle station also provides an excellent rail link to London, with direct access from Charing Cross and London Bridge stations. Please note that the hotel has no lift. We are easy to find in the heart of Battle, a 5 minute taxi ride from the train station and only a 2 minute walk from Battle Abbey, so come and visit soon. The staff at The George Hotel look forward to offering you a warm welcome, whether your stay is for business or a relaxing break. We have private off-street parking - a real bonus in a busy town- and modern facilities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They include free Wi-Fi access, tea & coffee making facilities, TV and en-suite bathrooms in all bedrooms. The hotel has a No Smoking policy in all public areas and bedrooms.
Picture of George Hotel, Battle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family visit
Excellent room,did book an attic room but when we arrived we were shown into room 4 which was a 4 poster room on the 1st floor, can't remember the last time I had a fantastic sleep,the bed was extremely comey. Would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
E Rutherford

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great position - in heart of Battle
Three adults staying, and was ideal. Wonderful free standing stair case up to the rooms, there is a lot of history in this building and when you are out the front, you can see the Abbey, and lots of places to drink or eat. Room was a nice size, with view over high street, and modern bathroom

Reviewed by
David C

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was fine but rather warm although a fan was provided. Parking was difficult as all spaces had been taken but one became available soon after my arrival. No earlier information had been provided with regard to breakfast when booking but I was informed at the hotel that this was availble at £6-50.

Reviewed by
Robert T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice comfy bed and functional room for the price
Funny smell on entering the building but if you get over that they room itself was lovely, clean, comfy big bed and very functional. Good bathroom and lots of hot water. Very good value for the area, parking and right in the heart of this lovely buzzing high street.

Reviewed by
T Stone

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get what you pay for
Enjoyed my stay.
Location is perfect - right in the centre of town. Had the top floor room so had a great view of the castle.
Only downside is the ceiling height....not the tallest person in the world but when showering, hit my head a lot. But overall experience was good. Room was clean, tv functioning, wifi worked. Room cleaned daily.
Biggest downside is there really isn't much to do in the town itself (and food options are very limited).
I'll be back no doubt.

Reviewed by
Sam D

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was tired and needed a good clean
Couple of cobwebs and quite a dusty room. Bed was not made properly on our last night, the quilt was just pulled up and straightened to make it look like it had been done. Room overlooked the Main Street, which meant the room was very bright at night. Breakfast was ok.

Reviewed by
Gaynor V

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

george hotel battle
value for money, very clean & tidy, very helpful staff, excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
paul c

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing location, but wouldn't stay again sadly!
Rooms have been redecorated, but sink was all cracked, the wallpaper had been hacked at the edges, no telephone in the room. Breakfast was probably the worst I'd ever had, with the beans being overheated and concealed. It's such a shame as the location is perfect which is why we had picked it. A little work there would turn this back into a lovely hotel. But do take into consideration that this is above a restaurant and the food smells were constant and quite overpowering at times.

Reviewed by
Mandy B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect couples retreat The George Hotel , Battle
First impressions were very clean and tidy, easy to park, welcoming reception, excellent room, clean tidy and well presented. Battle is a lovely weeekend retreat for a couple, wishing to shop and see some local history, stones throw from the sea, perfect place

Reviewed by
mark s

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for one night was upgraded for free, very friendly, value for money and had a lovely stay

Reviewed by
K Wilson-canning

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next