No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
23 High Street, , , Battle, TN33 0EA
The 300 year old George Guest House provides comfortable accommodation for visitors to the historic town of Battle. Visit the place where English history changed forever. Walk over the battlefield where William the Conqueror stood. We are easy to find in the heart of Battle, a 5 minute taxi ride from the train station and only a 2 minute walk from Battle Abbey, so come and visit soon. Stay in one of our brand new refurbished comfortable en-suite rooms. All rooms are booked on a room only rate and no breakfast is included in the booking rate. There are many cafes and great places to eat within a few minutes walk. Battle itself provides a great choice of restaurants and shops, while the seaside towns of Hastings and Bexhill-on-Sea are less than 20 minutes drive away. Battle station also provides an excellent rail link to London, with direct access from Charing Cross and London Bridge stations. Please note that the hotel has no lift. We are easy to find in the heart of Battle, a 5 minute taxi ride from the train station and only a 2 minute walk from Battle Abbey, so come and visit soon. The staff at The George Guest House look forward to offering you a warm welcome, whether your stay is for business or a relaxing break. We have private off-street parking - a real bonus in a busy town- and modern facilities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They include free Wi-Fi access, tea & coffee making facilities, TV and en-suite bathrooms in all bedrooms. The hotel has a No Smoking policy in all public areas and bedrooms.
Picture of George Hotel, Battle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very noisy building work should been told on arrival
I dont ever like doing bad reviews but loads building work going on went on early evening and started drilling and banging about early i would never had booked otherwise waisted our money on night out

Reviewed by
graham s

From Newhaven, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth the money
I've seen a few reviews criticising the hotel but I have nothing but good things to say. checking in was quick and simple. the room was spacious and clean. I left my phone charger there, when I phoned to mention this, it was put aside for me and easily collected. my only small complaint was that the shower was scalding hot so not enjoyable, other than this, a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
L O'Donnell

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George Hotel
This the third time we have stayed at The George. The other two times have been great, but this time was not so great the curtains where torn, the room was small and cold. But it did have a nice touch of a coco cola cap screwed to the floor as a door stop for the bathroom

Reviewed by
s sidaway

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sleepless
Wasn't as nice as it looks on the web site, sleepless nights due to noisy activity from room next door(marked private) this happened both nights fri until 5am and sat until 2am

Reviewed by
John D

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay!
Lovely hotel prefect for exploring Battle right on the high street. Lots of stairs and as I say on the high street so if either of those things are an issue this one is not for you. We were very happy and the restaurant attached to the hotel 'Simply Italian' was excellent. Customer service very good, request for an extra pillow acted on straight away. Pleasant friendly staff. All round a perfectly decent place to stay.

Reviewed by
B Haselden

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room and good location
As participants in the reenactment of the Battle of Hastings we needed a good bed and a shower within walking distance of the battlefield. We found all that and more in The George. We had a large room with excellent clean beds and a spacious en suite bathroom, also very clean. The hotel is old and could possibly do with a bit of renovation, but the accommodation itself was very good. Friendly service too, we arrived late coming from the ferry, but I called the hotel en route and it wasn't a problem at all. Pubs, deli etcetera all within a few yards, and of course the abbey very close by. Did I mention the hotel parking at the rear? We will certainly book here again next time we come to fight the Normans!

Reviewed by
Erik Broekhof

From Netherlands
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good room, especially for the price

Reviewed by
A Parmour

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Health hazard
Condition is appalling, bed too short, cockroach in room!

Reviewed by
J Thatcher

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a room with character
We stayed in an attic room which had character and a and a lovely feel to it.
Unfortunately the bath wasnt that clean.

Reviewed by
Suzanne W

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was ok, nothing to write home about. Basic.
Had an attic room which was quite small but clean. Window frames were rotted and some of the panes were cracked and stuck with tape! Generally a bit shabby, cables all over the place on the stairwell, reception walls and corridors have paint peeling off. Could do with some tlc. No facilities for food apart from it ajoins Si Italia restaurant down stairs (but no discount for guests). Basic facilities. Overpriced considering no breakfast facilities. Very central though (on high street) so a good location. Seems to be run by one person but he was friendly enough.

Reviewed by
Becky P

From Polegate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next