No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Stowey Arms

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Stowey Arms Main Road, Exminster, Exeter, EX6 8AT
Dear Guests, We welcome you to The Stowey Arms Exminster
We extend to you a simple, relaxed & uncomplicated stay. We are situated on the very edge of Exminster village offering 4 lovely ensuite rooms, ideally located for both business or pleasure stays.

( Free Wi Fi, Complimentary Tea & Coffee trays, )
The 'Stowey' is located just 3 miles from Exeter city center. Just off the M5, onto the A379 follow signs to Exminster & our pub is 'brown' sign posted from the road. After turning right into Exminster we are approx 500 yards up on the left hand side.

We have ample free parking, a seperate dining room & traditional bar plus our letting rooms have their own entrance so you can come and go as you please. Check in is via the main pub entrance.
Here at The Stowey we serve only locally sourced Home-made food, Real Ales, Wines by the glass and of course a wide selection of soft drinks & coffee.
The pub is a place for people to meet, eat, drink & chat in a relaxed and informal atmosphere.

Families very welcome, Sorry No Pets in the bedrooms.We do not serve food sun eve, mon or tues sorry.
Picture of The Stowey Arms, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our family exeriience was exceptional. our reception was friendly and welcomeing with loads off car parking. the family room whichwe had booked was better than expected, we were expection one room with four beds in but their was two rooms, one with two single beds for the boys and the other a double. it was also exceptionally clean and short of nothin it was great. the breakfast, served in the resturant, was spott on.

Reviewed by
simon m

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed SIze
The bed was a challenge as it did not fell like a double bed with 2 portly occupants

Reviewed by
Lisa R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant
Pleasant country pub, food not haute cuisine but did the job. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Knight

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay!
Very warm welcome, great room for families, nice food, all was perfect! We were very happy of our stay with our 2 children of 2 and 7 years old.

Reviewed by
Talita W

From St jean et st paul, France
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed feelings about The Stowey Arms
I have mixed feelings about The Stowey Arms.
On arrival, the young man took us to our room. On the way we noticed the staircase had clearly not been hoovered for several days. The room was nice enough, but being used to much larger beds than a standard double I approached the manageress. Her attitude was quite gruff. No they didn't have any rooms with larger beds - but never mind as it turned out to be surprisingly very comfortable. The layout of the room could perhaps have been better thought out as it was a bit of a squeeze to get to the far side.
The next morning I had to retrieve something from under the bed and noticed that the wooden floor had clearly not been cleaned under the bed for some considerable length of time. We found the shower cubicle to also be less than clean, with rubber sucker marks where the metal shelf had been moved. The only bathroom supplies other than paper was a single pump dispenser of hand soap. Just as well that I always carry my own shower gel and shampoo then.
In the morning we also found that the toilet wouldn't flush so I ended up filling the cistern with the kettle and later with the shower head.
Breakfast was generous even if the quality of produce was clearly economy. The chef was very friendly and cooked to order. Unfortunately there were no vegetarian options for me, so my partner enjoyed a piled up full English but even so, quantities were generous. The dinning area carpet was however rather dirty and in desperate need of a good vacuuming, far more so than the stairs. Not sure when it was last done, but I doubt that it was a single evening.
On leaving I reported the toilet issue to the man there - (manager?) who told me quite gruffly that the toilets did work but were economy fill to stop people repeatedly flushing them. Well ours didn't fill overnight.
The biggest down side was that in dropping off the keys, you pass through the main bar. Staff had clearly been smoking in there as there was an ashtray full of fresh cigarette ends and the room stank of smoke. This is a public bar area remember.
In conclusion...
Good points:
Ample breakfast
Convenient location
Good value
Comfortable bed
Areas for improvement:
Cleanliness
Quality of food
Maintenance
Staff attitude
Smell and presence of smoking

Reviewed by
Ron R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ideal for over night stop
Booked as we were visiting my niece in Exeter, stowey arms ideal as its only 10 mins from centre, given side door key in case we late back, security on doors coded for safety, good sleep in comfy bed, breakfast areas clean and food lovely, given a choice , landlady welcoming and pleasant,

Reviewed by
paul j rees

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There was no welcome
I only had one issue, but it mattered to me. I arrived just before 10pm, but was too late for food. Even a slice of bread would have helped. I explained I had to leave before 8.30pm in the morning, when breakfast started, could anything be done. I was simply told "you best get to be early and get off in the morning then". As it happened, the Chef saw me in the morning before 8.30am and knocked up a breakfast in no time, which was very kind of him. I wouldn't normally complain.

Reviewed by
peter l

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at Stowey Arms
Everything was good apart from dust on the lights and lampshades. The breakfast was good and cooked to order after we arrived at the table each morning. Everything was hot. Good and friendly customer service. Very traditional ambience in the pub. Value for money.

Reviewed by
R S

From Exminster, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't have been more friendly or more helpful!
We only stayed here one night as we were in the area for a friends birthday, but the owners were exceptionally helpful and friendly, going well out of their way to help us and advise us on the local area. I've given other places great reviews for customer service but these lot top them all! It made our stay memorable and we cannot thank them enough. The room was a decent size and clean. The breakfast in the morning good. No complaints!

Reviewed by
Sharon L

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The pub area downstairs could do with a bit of a spring clean (particularly the carpet) however the rooms upstairs were fine. The staff and owners were helpful and cheerful. The breakfast was included in the price and was ok (the chef was a nice guy and it was cooked well but with cheap ingredients). It was very good value and for that reason I would recommend it.

Reviewed by
S Evans

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next