No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Stowey Arms

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Stowey Arms Main Road, Exminster, Exeter, EX6 8AT
Dear Guests, We welcome you to The Stowey Arms Exminster
We extend to you a simple, relaxed & uncomplicated stay. We are situated on the very edge of Exminster village offering 4 lovely ensuite rooms, ideally located for both business or pleasure stays.

( Free Wi Fi, Complimentary Tea & Coffee trays, )
The 'Stowey' is located just 3 miles from Exeter city center. Just off the M5, onto the A379 follow signs to Exminster & our pub is 'brown' sign posted from the road. After turning right into Exminster we are approx 500 yards up on the left hand side.

We have ample free parking, a seperate dining room & traditional bar plus our letting rooms have their own entrance so you can come and go as you please. Check in is via the main pub entrance.
Here at The Stowey we serve only locally sourced Home-made food, Real Ales, Wines by the glass and of course a wide selection of soft drinks & coffee.
The pub is a place for people to meet, eat, drink & chat in a relaxed and informal atmosphere.

Families very welcome, Sorry No Pets in the bedrooms.We do not serve food sun eve, mon or tues sorry.
Picture of The Stowey Arms, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding stay

Reviewed by
Jan P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy Music Til 12
This review would have been very different if we had only stayed on Friday night. The awful pub singer on Saturday night meant we got no peace until after12 o'clock.

Reviewed by
Andrew H

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic people fantastic room friendly staff and great room will be booking again for next year
food was great and drink was reasonably priced great weekend all round

Reviewed by
p ashworth

From Heywood, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little pub
Comfortable and friendly pub
Good evening meal and excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
Catherine Williams

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Place
Lovely clean room and spotless bathroom.
Thought it was a bit pricey and since we booked the price has risen from £60.00 to £70.00 but maybe that is what you have to pay in that part of the world.

Reviewed by
D Milton

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was adequate but wouldn't stay there again

Reviewed by
i grundy

From Wakefield, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Days
A nice clean room with everything you would desire from a B&B. I could have done with the jukebox being turned off a little earlier but it is a pub so you can't really expect that. The owners were very helpful, friendly and accomodating. The highlight however was definitely the breakfast. Not too greasy, the sausages were very tasty, the fried egg was perfect and the chef was a very friendly guy to boot. All in all, a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
P Smith

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did the job
Provided somewhere to sleep for a trip to the seaside. Adequate for needs. Nice family room with separate room for kids. Pub below was a bit noisy on Saturday night, but it was a sunny Saturday at the start of a bank hol weekend so attracted revellers.

Reviewed by
Becky T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you've stayed at a pub before, you know what to expect.
Everthing was pretty much standard "pub with rooms" fayre. Single room with decent shower, kettle and tea/coffee, freeview TV. No complaints, and a full English included. Can't complain for £45.

Reviewed by
Steve R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely disappointing
The only thing going for this hotel is Tony, the manager/chef. Were it not for him we would have gone elsewhere. The accommodation did not justify the £80 rate for one night and was more in keeping with far far cheaper seaside bed and breakfast establishments. The room was austere, the furniture cheap, the shower warm but not hot, the bedhead was propped against the wall and completely disconnected from the bed, there were only two cheap pillows, the towels were barely adequate for purpose and toiletries comprised of one pump action soap dispenser. The heating had not been switched on prior to our arrival and we had to ask for cups in the room. One got the impression that only the bare minimum was grudgingly provided in order to make a quick buck because no one would surely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Phil R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next