The Stowey Arms

3

The Stowey Arms Main Road, Exminster, Exeter, EX6 8AT

Price From 136.56 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (32)

75% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • peter l

  • June 2014

There was no welcome

I only had one issue, but it mattered to me.

I arrived just before 10pm, but was too late for food. Even a slice of bread would have helped. I explained I had to leave before 8.30pm in the morning, when breakfast started, could anything be done. I was simply told "you best get to be early and get off in the morning then". As it happened, the Chef saw me in the morning before 8.30am and knocked up a breakfast in no time, which was very kind of him. I wouldn't normally complain.

  • Sharon L

  • May 2014

Couldn't have been more friendly or more helpful!

We only stayed here one night as we were in the area for a friends birthday, but the owners were exceptionally helpful and friendly, going well out of their way to help us and advise us on the local area.

I've given other places great reviews for customer service but these lot top them all. It made our stay memorable and we cannot thank them enough. The room was a decent size and clean. The breakfast in the morning good. No complaints!

  • S Evans

  • May 2014

The pub area downstairs could do with a bit of a spring clean (particularly the carpet) however the rooms upstairs were fine.

The staff and owners were helpful and cheerful. The breakfast was included in the price and was ok (the chef was a nice guy and it was cooked well but with cheap ingredients). It was very good value and for that reason I would recommend it.

  • Alan S

  • April 2014

Noisy environment

  • Christine D

  • March 2014

Recommend

Pub area was a bit tired.

Staff we're very helpful and friendly. Room was big enough but the bed was quite small. The room was very clean with soft towels provided. Breakfast was excellent and perfectly cooked. For the price paid, would definitely stay at the Stowey Arms again.

  • ann cross

  • March 2014

had a very nice time enjoyed the room was very clean and accomadation and friendly staff lovely food

  • Ann Carter

  • March 2014

staying at Stowey

  • Nick T

  • February 2014

Exeter visit

Room was mostly very presentable, however I spotted some dust under desk, & the cleaner had failed to empty bathroom waste bin.

This was reported ( waste bin ) to the evening manager who sorted it out promptly. Comfortable bed, plenty of soap & hot water & clean towels, although I think the hand towel I used was probably a bath mat . I needed to clean the shower head ( one of my usual tasks in any hotel I stay in ), I like my shower so expect the head to be fully functional, with even jets of water.

  • David C

  • February 2014

A nice stop over ...

We found The Stowey Arms on 'late rooms' as we wanted to break up our journey from Yorkshire to Cornwall.

Having read the reviews regarding noise from the pub below, and as it was a Saturday night, not surprisingly we could hear the jukebox until just after midnight which didn't bother us - but if you're a light sleeper, who gets disturbed easily be aware. That said ... £50 for a nice clean room and decent breakfast we couldn't complain and we would quite happily stop again.

  • Andrew H

  • November 2013

Noisy Music Til 12

This review would have been very different if we had only stayed on Friday night.

The awful pub singer on Saturday night meant we got no peace until after12 o'clock.