No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Stowey Arms

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Stowey Arms Main Road, Exminster, Exeter, EX6 8AT
Dear Guests, We welcome you to The Stowey Arms Exminster
We extend to you a simple, relaxed & uncomplicated stay. We are situated on the very edge of Exminster village offering 4 lovely ensuite rooms, ideally located for both business or pleasure stays.

( Free Wi Fi, Complimentary Tea & Coffee trays, )
The 'Stowey' is located just 3 miles from Exeter city center. Just off the M5, onto the A379 follow signs to Exminster & our pub is 'brown' sign posted from the road. After turning right into Exminster we are approx 500 yards up on the left hand side.

We have ample free parking, a seperate dining room & traditional bar plus our letting rooms have their own entrance so you can come and go as you please. Check in is via the main pub entrance.
Here at The Stowey we serve only locally sourced Home-made food, Real Ales, Wines by the glass and of course a wide selection of soft drinks & coffee.
The pub is a place for people to meet, eat, drink & chat in a relaxed and informal atmosphere.

Families very welcome, Sorry No Pets in the bedrooms.We do not serve food sun eve, mon or tues sorry.
Picture of The Stowey Arms, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The pub area downstairs could do with a bit of a spring clean (particularly the carpet) however the rooms upstairs were fine. The staff and owners were helpful and cheerful. The breakfast was included in the price and was ok (the chef was a nice guy and it was cooked well but with cheap ingredients). It was very good value and for that reason I would recommend it.

Reviewed by
S Evans

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommend
Pub area was a bit tired. Staff we're very helpful and friendly. Room was big enough but the bed was quite small. The room was very clean with soft towels provided. Breakfast was excellent and perfectly cooked.
For the price paid, would definitely stay at the Stowey Arms again.

Reviewed by
Christine D

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

had a very nice time enjoyed the room was very clean and accomadation and friendly staff lovely food

Reviewed by
ann cross

From st austell, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy environment

Reviewed by
Alan S

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exeter visit
Room was mostly very presentable, however I spotted some dust under desk, & the cleaner had failed to empty bathroom waste bin. This was reported ( waste bin ) to the evening manager who sorted it out promptly.
Comfortable bed, plenty of soap & hot water & clean towels, although I think the hand towel I used was probably a bath mat ! I needed to clean the shower head ( one of my usual tasks in any hotel I stay in ), I like my shower so expect the head to be fully functional, with even jets of water.

Reviewed by
Nick T

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice stop over ...
We found The Stowey Arms on 'late rooms' as we wanted to break up our journey from Yorkshire to Cornwall.
Having read the reviews regarding noise from the pub below, and as it was a Saturday night, not surprisingly we could hear the jukebox until just after midnight which didn't bother us - but if you're a light sleeper, who gets disturbed easily be aware! That said ... £50 for a nice clean room and decent breakfast we couldn't complain and we would quite happily stop again.

Reviewed by
David C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staying at Stowey

Reviewed by
Ann Carter

From Bordon, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and clean, good food and the only reason I gave value for money a 3 was I couldn't get Internet access due to poor weather or poor connectivity

Reviewed by
R EDWARDS

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Filfthy nightmare
Outside sign said luxury onsuite accomadation, pub bar smelly and very grubby, bar person on showing our room "said best room of the house" yuk 3/4 bed poor quality sheets and bedding with hair on duvet, not very nice also a lot of dust on lights and skirting boards, cleaner must need glasses.
Not a good start to our holiday we thought it would be a extra treat, never to be repeated agian.

Reviewed by
Gillian P

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite good but could've been better.
My wife & I stayed a Friday & Saturday recently. Had a pleasant stay but there were a few things that would've made it much better.
Checked in about 5pm, room 1. No hot water...we ran the tap for ages... at other times it took a while before it was OK. Great shower tho. Large wardrobe with only 6 hangers. No chair in the room and to be honest there wasn't really adequate space for one, but it would've been nicer to sit without resorting to the bed.
After closing Friday night, revellers in the car park made sufficient noise as to keep my wife awake for some time. On the Saturday night it was my turn, as the steady beat of music (I assume ?) until 1a.m disturbed me. Maybe I'm being picky, it is a pub after all.....
The cooked breakfast was good & plentiful. We did find the table a bit crowded, (2 adults at a 4 seat table) with large jugs of milk & orange juice and the cereal options. When the toast & cooked food arrived we had to shuffle everything around to try to make it workable.
It would be more practical to have a central buffet table to present cereals, juice, milk etc. to take as required.
Staff were very friendly & helpful throughout.

Reviewed by
BRIAN T

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next