No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The William IV

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
33 Quebec Road, , , Norwich, NR1 4AU
Originally a cottage home of a Mousehold shepherd, The King William IV now stands in the garden grounds. It has been a tavern for at least 150 years and is mentioned in Joseph Manning's 1834 survey of licensed premises. Telegraph Lane, in those days would have been no more than a footpath leading from Gas Hill to Yarmouth Road. The lane was named after the semaphoring system used in 1807, when the site of the water tower was used as a vantage point to receive signals from Great Yarmouth in the event of a French invasion. Our bar is open all day from 11am for drinks or coffee. The popular restaurant is open 7am - 10am for breakfast 12 noon - 9pm for lunches, snacks & evening meals, we offer a varied lunch and dinner menu with dishes carefully chosen to make the most of local seasonal produce. Steeped in atmosphere and peppered with unique architectural treasures the city of Norwich is dominated by its magnificent Norman Cathedral boasting the second tallest spire in the country. Norwich is proud of its past and present status and it’s not hard to see why. Its ancient buildings and city walls make it the most complete medieval city in Britain today, still offering a rare blend of historic interest and modern sophistication. Its not just history which Norwich has in abundance. Norwich is home to a large number of beautifully ornate and well maintained parks and gardens. The secret garden hidden away in the heart of the city is breathtakingly calm and beautiful. Castle Gardens comes alive during the summer months. Venture out on a summers evening and take in the outdoor theatre productions and cinema screenings held at Castle Gardens to add that little extra sparkle to an evening out. Entertainment in Norwich doesn't stop with outdoor theatre. Dining out in Norwich is all about the pleasure of enjoying wonderful Norfolk produce. Restaurants in Norwich offer the sophistication of award winning eateries from trendy bistros to homely gastropubs.
Picture of The William IV, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
G Hair

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very clean and tidy and the bed extremely comfortable and the shower was surprising good

Reviewed by
Dyolland D

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night at The William IV
This is a friendly pub/hotel with a large garden. Breakfast time is flexible and the food good. Bar meals are reasonably priced and very generous portions. The beer is good! If travelling by train I would advise a taxi from the station (only £5). Although it is not far away it is up hill. It is quite close to the Riverside walk which provides a nice place for a stroll after dinner to walk off some of the calories. Norwich is a beautiful city to explore and this hotel provides the opportunity and does not break the bank.

Reviewed by
B M

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We usually stay at a B&B in the centre of Norwich when we go to the Theatre Royal but this time we were late booking and as it was graduation day our usual home from home was fully booked so this was a risk. We were delighted. The welcome was warm and kind,nothing was too much trouble, the room,apart from a difficult lock, was clean and had everything one needed,including a large bottle of spring water. The food was typical pub grub but was freshly cooked to order and was in ample quantity. The breakfast was a mixture of do- it- yourself and an amazing portion of anything you wanted cooked to order, nothing congealing on a heated buffet table as it so often is in hotels. If we can't stay at our usual B &B in the future we wlll stay again at the William IV without hesitation One proviso, our room was on the ground floor as we had asked for and looked out at the carpark, it was fine on a Wednesday but could be noisy over a weekend or if there is a function on. Nothing can be done about that.

Reviewed by
Jo B

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean comfortable room with good facilities. Lovely breakfast made fresh and good choice.

Reviewed by
Liz D

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value in Norwich
Excellent, comfortable rooms; spacious bathroom. Owners/hosts friendly, helpful. Breakfasts ok - but Nescafe Dolce Giusto coffee was a problem for me as a "real coffee" enthusiast! Location was good, but exhausting to get to on foot, at the end of a long day - at the top of a series of three hills!

Reviewed by
stewart bartlam

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for odd night or business

Reviewed by
paul sloan

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good B&B
All good

Reviewed by
PAUL M

From BOLTON, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly
Just what we needed, family room at end of family party, comfortable beds, great breakfast, free parking. No frills.

Reviewed by
s s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very reasonable pub accommodation and food in good location, but surly manageress.
On arrival the manageress claimed not to have received my booking which was made on line over 2 months before. Luckily I had printed off a copy of the original confimation email to show her. To my relief (having travelled a long way), within 5 minutes I was allocated a ground floor twin room which proved to be good (except in need of net curtains on the window to prevent people peering in from the car park!). I liked the written information folder which was nicely worded indicating any potential problems would be dealt with quickly and professionally.
Breakfast was fine both days, and I also ordered a meal on one of the 2 evenings, which also turned out well. There was a pleasant manager/barman who served me that evening.
On departure, the manageress presented me with my bill which was overcharged by several pounds, and then corrected it with a lack of grace or apology.
On reflection, a reasonably pleasant stay which suited my purpose (area visit). Shame about the mix up over the booking (not sure who was at fault), and the manageress.

Reviewed by
Phil B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next