No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The William IV

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
33, Quebec Road , Norwich, NR14AU
Originally a cottage home of a Mousehold shepherd, 'The King William' IV tavern (Please note we are a Tavern (Public House) now stands in the garden grounds. It has been a tavern for at least 180 years and is mentioned in Joseph Manning's 1834 servey of licensed premises. Telegraph Lane in those days would have been no more than a footpath leading from Gas Hill to Yarmouth Road. The lane was named after the semaphoring system used in 1807, when the site of the water tower was used as a vantage point to receive signals from Great Yarmouth in the event of a French invasion.

Our public bar is open all day from 11am for drinks or coffee. There is no fixed time for your breakfast, when checking in please tell us what time you would like your breakfast. The popular restaurant is open to the public from 11am - 9pm for breakfast, lunch, snacks & evening meals, we offer a varied lunch and dinner menu with dishes carefully chosen to make the most of local seasonal produce.

The convenient location of The William IV Tavern ensures the 5 en-suite bedrooms are a popular choice for visitors requiring bed & breakfast. The main City Centre is under a mile away providing easy access to the train & bus station in less than 10 minutes. PLEASE NOTE! weekends we may have a disco or Karaoke and you may be able to hear some noise in your room. The music will finish at 12 midnight.

Please NOTE! when booking the Single rate is for 1 person,
Picture of The William IV, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean comfortable room with good facilities. Lovely breakfast made fresh and good choice.

Reviewed by
Liz D

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value in Norwich
Excellent, comfortable rooms; spacious bathroom. Owners/hosts friendly, helpful. Breakfasts ok - but Nescafe Dolce Giusto coffee was a problem for me as a "real coffee" enthusiast! Location was good, but exhausting to get to on foot, at the end of a long day - at the top of a series of three hills!

Reviewed by
stewart bartlam

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good B&B
All good

Reviewed by
PAUL M

From BOLTON, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly
Just what we needed, family room at end of family party, comfortable beds, great breakfast, free parking. No frills.

Reviewed by
s s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very reasonable pub accommodation and food in good location, but surly manageress.
On arrival the manageress claimed not to have received my booking which was made on line over 2 months before. Luckily I had printed off a copy of the original confimation email to show her. To my relief (having travelled a long way), within 5 minutes I was allocated a ground floor twin room which proved to be good (except in need of net curtains on the window to prevent people peering in from the car park!). I liked the written information folder which was nicely worded indicating any potential problems would be dealt with quickly and professionally.
Breakfast was fine both days, and I also ordered a meal on one of the 2 evenings, which also turned out well. There was a pleasant manager/barman who served me that evening.
On departure, the manageress presented me with my bill which was overcharged by several pounds, and then corrected it with a lack of grace or apology.
On reflection, a reasonably pleasant stay which suited my purpose (area visit). Shame about the mix up over the booking (not sure who was at fault), and the manageress.

Reviewed by
Phil B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Room, Great Food and a Great Nights Sleep
A great find with LateRooms
Clean tidy room, superb pub food and a great nights sleep

Reviewed by
Clive Spooner

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. If I ever have to stay in Norwich again, the William IV will be the first hotel I check for vacancies.

Reviewed by
I TERRY

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Went to watch Manchester city v Norwich game excellent location for bars and restaurants

Reviewed by
kathleen f

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good little pub accommodation
Nice place, good little pub accommodation.

Reviewed by
Duncan C

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay
I have to say I was disappointed with this place. The pub was a bit tired and run down. Didn't have any real ales on. The accommodation was basic but very clean.
Breakfast was poor quality with out of date milk for cerialls !!

Reviewed by
Astley S

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next