No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chine House Apartment

4Visit England Assessed Self Catering Ratings explained
Chine House Chine Avenue, Shanklin, PO37 6AQ
Chine House Apartment is located within the heart of historical Old Village of Shanklin. The property is a self contained first floor, gas central heated apartment with private entrance, free parking, and private south facing terraced gardens for sun bathing and al fresco dining.

This open plan apartment overlooks a tropical garden, Shanklin Chine & Rhylstone Gardens and consists of a spacious bedroom with a super king size bed (or twins if preferred), a leather sofa, dining area, flat screen TV with Free Sat. the separate kitchen if fully equipped with electric oven & hob, washing machine & dishwasher, fridge/freezer & microwave.

The apartment has a large bathroom, comprising of bath with shower over, WHB & WC. A welcome pack of food provisions for your first breakfast (bread, eggs, butter, cereal, jams, milk, tea, mineral water, fresh fruit and fresh coffee) and a bottle of French wine is provided. Linen and towels supplied (please bring own beach towels) and infants under 2 are welcome to stay for free and a cot/ and high-chair can be provided. Limitations are (sorry) no pets or children over 2.

We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Chine House Apartment, Shanklin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely easy short break
The appartment is in a brilliant position being right by the shops and pubs of the old village and within easy walk to the beach and sea front. The accomodation was larger than we were expecting and had everything you could need. The kitchen was fairly compact to cook any meals but having said that you are surrounded by places to eat and the information pack contains lots of information about local take-aways. The patio garden is a great bonus and we made lunch to sit outside in the sunshine.

Reviewed by
Sharon H

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderfull little find
What a perfect clean beautiful little apartment! From the luxury very big bed to the quaint little kitchen offering everything you need and the special little touches made our stay just wonderful. Great location with a short walk to the beach and then our own garden area to relax in after. Debbie and her family were everso kind and friendly. We enjoyed our stay so much we hope to re visit very soon and would highly reccommend you stay here too.

Reviewed by
G Sandford

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful self contained accomodation.
This was a late deal but what a choice,super location, ideally situated.Accomodation first class,lovely little extras thrown in, own garden with table,chairs and sunbeds!!We have previously stayed in hotels on the island but this was just as good if not better.We will return.

Reviewed by
gillian c

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than 5 star!
We initially booked a 5 star hotel who we had to cancel via expedia as no one would pick up the calls. Therefore we came across Chine House by chance and we was very lucky. Chine House comes with everything! You literally do not need to take anything with you as small details are included which made the whole experience excellent. The service was very friendly and welcoming. The outside was very private with minimal noise, all clean, tidy and very homely. Location is great, seaside was 5-10 minutes away, with lovely small shops and restaurants just round the corner.
We would like to say a massive thank you to Chine House. We have highly recommended this to all our friends and families, and we will make a return trip to isle of wight...just for the apartment!

Reviewed by
J Duggal

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Philip & Linda from Bradford
Shanklin is a lovely quiet place to stay.with nice pubs and restaurants .would recommend the Crab Inn. Debbie and her family were very nice and couldn't do enough for you but without being intrusive, they make you feel like the place is your own. The standards of the accommodation is second to none.they even leave you provisions for your first breakfast and a nice bottle of wine for your quiet night in would highly recommend a stay here, give it a go you won,t regret it thank you Debbie & family.

Reviewed by
linda t

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here in May, can only reiterate the previous reviews of how excellent this apartment is, location fantastic, very friendly family. The apartment is spotless, beautiful comfy huge bed. So many unexpected extras, fresh flowers and fruit, breakfast goodies, tea coffee, bread, eggs etc. Kitchen fully equipped. Huge bathroom with everything supplied for shower etc. Could not fault this at all, and will certainly be returning,

Reviewed by
C Hayward

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful apartment in fantastic location
We stayed at the Chine House Apartment over the bank holiday weekend and had the perfect stay. The accommodation was superb, spotlessly clean and really well equipped. The owners have thought of everything and there were loads of nice little touches from breakfast supplies, toiletries and even sun loungers left out in the garden for us. The owners were really friendly and helpful. The location is great too, right in the heart of Shanklin and the onsite parking was a real bonus. Will definitely return!!

Reviewed by
Caroline F

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We'll be back
A very nice room and right in the middle of town we'll definitely be back.

Reviewed by
G Lewis

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Little Gem
A warm welcome, plenty of room and a comfortable bed. Very close to pubs and restaurants - (walkable). Lots of information in the apartment and well stocked with tea bags, coffee and other bits and pieces.
Debbie and Andrew are a lovely couple who have made a good job of the apartment which is clean and modern. We would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Michael L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the very best!
We have been fortunate enough to stay all over the world, sometimes in 5 star hotels. This spacious and relaxing apartment is up there with the best! Very comfy king size bed, feather quilt, crisp clean linen, large bathroom, wonderfully equipped kitchen (with dishwasher, hob, oven and microwave), scrupulously clean throughout with a range of books, CDs , and loads of helpful touristy information. The location is superb; very quiet private cul de sac ( no traffic noise) yet 5 mins walk to two pubs, restaurants and bars!! Bus stop 2 min level walk away.
For us, having our 'own' front door meant we could come and go as we wished, no stilted breakfast conversations as happens in hotels/B&Bs.
The icing on the cake was the (free) welcome pack- bread, jams, tea and ground coffee, eggs,milk and butter, fresh fruit and flowers with cereals too!! Nothing is too much trouble and the hosts are very friendly but not intrusive.
Excellent value for money in a brilliant location. But don't go telling everyone as we wish to return!

Reviewed by
kevin j

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next