No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Sycamore Tree

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
40/42 Bridge Street, Longtown, , Carlisle, CA6 5UD
Welcome to The Sycamore Tree... The Sycamore Tree, Cafe by day and licensed Restaurant by night, we take pride in creating and offering delicious home made Cumbrian delights for local customers and visitors. Situated on the A7 Edinburgh Tourist Route which is the main road that runs through Longtown, the Sycamore Tree is well located for touring, sightseeing, or for just having a break. Cyclists and motor cyclists all welcome. With two recently re-furbished en-suite guest rooms, we offer a superb level of quality, The Border Queen Room - Traditional Luxury - Sleeps two Kingsize four poster bed, En-suite bathroom with an overbath shower, Luxury bath towels, Hospitality tray, Complimentary toiletries, Hair-dryer Remote controlled Fan, 32" LCD Colour TV, Iron & Ironing board. The Border King Room - Contemporary Luxury - Sleeps two Kingsize bed, En-suite bathroom Freestanding shower, Luxury bath towels, Hospitality tray, Complimentary toiletries, Hairdryer, Remote controlled Fan, Widescreen Colour TV, Iron & Ironing board.
Picture of The Sycamore Tree, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accomodation
We had a warm welcome. Better still, although the Café was closed to the public, an evening meal can be provided if required. Parking is 'on road' but the adjacent side street is quiet and space plentiful.

Reviewed by
Graham P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised
My husband, daughter & I spent one night here because we were unable to get anywhere in Gretna Green & we were so glad we didn't! The room was excellent & so was the evening meal & breakfast. The owner couldn't do enough for us. The only downside was that as our room was facing the main road, it was a bit noisy with traffic during the night, or so my husband & daughter told me in the morning - I sleep like a log! It was still the best value we have ever had in a b&b.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth F

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good, would recommend
This place isnt in the town centre but only a short drive away. Stayed for the night before graduation, the owner was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. We needed breakfast early due to having to leave early which was catered for, was even offered a packed lunch for our journey!! Room was clean and lovely, looked newly refurbished. Would stay again and would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

Reviewed by
P Morris

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Sycamore Tree, Longtown
Quiet little B & B with fine inexpensive restaurant. Wide selection and excellent service

Reviewed by
Brenda Holmes

From Stranraer, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic and friendly
Nothing was too much trouble. I checked in late, needed early breakfast and when my colleagues couldn't get breakfast at their hotel, they were fed too. Beautiful room, four poster, great bath. Really lovely. Reluctant to share as I want to be able to book it whenever I need it!

Reviewed by
Lindsay Burnip

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really recommended as well as stay as have a delicious dinner
The accommodation was really nice as pictures shows even better. Really spacious room with ensuite. If I need to stay over in that area I would definitely pick this hotel without doubts. Nice and warm stay with excellent dinner and breakfest. Clean rooms and welcoming people ;) go for it!
Thank you!

Reviewed by
Radka S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I fund the accommodation very well laid out, the room was well worth the money,and the personal touch, welcome was outstanding. I will recommend this accommodation to my colleagues, family, and friends.

Reviewed by
James Winter

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I can honestly say that this guesthouse deserves 10 out of 10.
A truely enjoyable stay. A warm welcome, nothing is too much trouble, a very comfortable room where everything has been thought of and a large shower. I arrived exhausted after an 8 hour drive and was delighted to find that I could eat in - a delicious homemade lasagna . I will be staying again.

Reviewed by
Amanda A

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed

Reviewed by
Brian M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find !
What a find. cant fault it in any way. Superb breakfast,evening meals very good also. Nothing was too much trouble for John the host.Very good welcome, Would recommend to anyone

Reviewed by
Julie H

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next