No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Indigo Birmingham

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Cube,Wharfside Street, Birmingham, B1 1RS
Welcome to Hotel Indigo Birmingham - Birmingham's newest chic and contemporary hotel. Dominating the city centre skyline, this glistening jewellery box of a hotel is located in the Cube in the heart of the city. The hotel is located near the Mailbox Complex and less than 10 minutes' walk from the iconic Bullring Shopping Centre . Situated on the 23rd to 25th floors, Hotel Indigo Birmingham offer great views across the city skyline. This stunning hotel boasts 52 beautiful boutique bedrooms, oozing effortless style and luxury all with complimentary Wi-Fi and mini fridge. Wake up with a fantastic shower experience in our boutique bathrooms where Aveda products are complimentary. The hotel takes on the terminology Refreshingly Local taking elements of design from the surrounding area. Everything about this hotel has been designed to make your stay in Birmingham exceptional. From the breath-taking panoramic views from the Marco Pierre White Steakhouse & Grill to the tranquillity of the prestigious Club and Spa , Hotel Indigo is bursting with personality. Ideally located in the heart of Birmingham and only minutes from the M5 and M6 motorways, this sophisticated venue is the perfect city destination. Our central location guarantees easy access to all major sports and events venues in Birmingham, the ICC, NIA and Symphony Hall are all within 5 minutes' walk from the hotel.
Picture of Hotel Indigo Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views but need a head for heights!
Check in was easy with polite and helpful staff. Arrived 45 mins before check in time but room was available so no problem. No car parking but directed to nearby public car park and told to bring back the token the car park issues and it would be activated to get 15% off.
Bedrooms are on two floors (23 and 24) - lift up is a little weird in that you need to use your hotel card to access the bedroom floors but if you are not quick you head up to floor 25 which is the restaurant and then back down to floor 7 (reception). Ok once you get the hang of it.
Room was fine, clean, comfortable bed, great views across the city with big picture windows. Wardrobe had a big chip of paint missing and towel rail on verge of falling out of the wall which took the edge off the otherwise sense of a modern contemporary feel.
Only ate breakfast. Weekend had a 2 4 1 deal , just as we'll as it was £18, otherwise we would have headed into the city for breakfast.
Great continental selection, cooked breakfast unfortunately was warm and not hot which detracted. Otherwise you can have as much as you like. Service was excellent with really friendly staff. Restaurant is on the top floor with 270 degree views through floor to ceiling glass.
Although there were a few negative points generally a great hotel in a good location with lovely staff

Reviewed by
David F

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Me and my friend was unable to sleep as the air con in the room did not work. My friend slept on the floor hoping it was cooler but this wasnt the case. Day of leaving the hotel, i had to take my friend to a walk in centre as she had a bad back as a result of our stay. She is now on strong pain killers and has had to be signed off from work. I was too tired to work the next day after our stay due to being unable to sleep.
The telephone in the hotel did not work and we didnt want to disturb the other guests by going up and down to reception about the problem. We are now being accussed of breaking the phone but it wasnt working when we arrived. Still waiting for someone from the hotel to contact us about our complaint.

ManagementResponse

Dear k price, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit. Sincerely, Janice A IHGCare

Reviewed by
k price

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful experience
We stayed in an executive room on the 24th floor. Our room had floor to ceiling windows the whole width of the room giving us views over the the city centre extending all the way to old Joe (the clock at the university of Birmingham) in Edgbaston. The room was spotless and the complimentary water and kitkats in the fridge were a nice touch, as was the free access to the gym (which we didn't use) and the spa (which we used).
Our only criticism is having to share the elevator with members of the public attending Marco Pierre White's restaurant... Coming back from the spa before supper we had difficulty accessing our floor and found ourselves at the entry of the bar and restaurant in our bathrobes much to the amusement of the patrons!
We'll definitely stay here again next time we visit Birmingham.

Reviewed by
P Bennett

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, views and price
We stayed here for 2 nights for a romantic getaway and loved it. The room was great, the spa facilities were brilliant and we would definitely recommend this to anyone. The food in the restaurant was also lovely.

Reviewed by
Zoe H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great night
really enjoyed, professional service, nice city view

Reviewed by
Emilia Boczkowska

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb thank you

Reviewed by
Stuart S

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous customer service
This is my second stay here, and while it is fairly pricey for a weekend away, it is well worth it. The rooms have amazing views and are comfortable and spacious. The free treats in the mini bar are a nice touch, and it is lovely to be able to wander down to the basement spa in the bathrobe provided to have a steam and swim. The staff are brilliant- we were especially impressed by Stuart at breakfast who made sure our group had everything we needed and was so friendly. We plan to book again next year!

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing stay
I had stayed here before in an executive room and it was a good experience, however, was disappointed this time around. I booked a deluxe room and expected to have a bigger and better room than before, but it was a very small room with very poor lay out (There were 2 of us and we couldn't sit down together and eat dinner).
I arrived expecting to gain access to the automatic car park next door as per my previous visit, but was told I had to park in another car park down the road as they were no longer using the automatic one. I had to drive around a one way system to find it then it was quite a walk away to get back to the hotel.
Upon checking in, we went to the restaurant. We hadn't booked a table but was early enough, around 8pm. We were told that as we did not book a table, they were too full. I questioned the empty tables they clearly had and I was told them didn't have chairs. I then pointed at the empty chairs at the bar (Same chairs as the restaurant ones) and was told they couldn't use them. We then asked if room service was available and they said, yes of course.
I called the restaurant from the bedroom and the phone rang out for in excess of 15 minutes until finally I was knocked over to a voicemail machine. I then hung uyp and called reception who somehow managed to get me through to the restaurant within 1 minute. ( I waited a good 5 minutes for reception to answer). After finally ordering the food, it took 1hr 20 minutes to arrive. They arrived with one soup short and didn't even provide any salt or pepper. The room itswlf was clean but the air con didn't work properly. It was not cold enough and it was a very hot night. I ended up sleeping on top of the covers.
Upon checking out, I had to wait for almost 10 minutes for a staff member to arrive at the desk. The desk did not have a bell to press to alert staff awareness to a customer.
Very disappointing. I will not stay here again.

ManagementResponse

Dear Gary C, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is regrettable to hear that your experience this time was not as pleasant compared to your previous visits. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the restaurant and front office services. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future and provide you with the service you deserve and expect from us. Sincerely, Lera, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Gary C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Stay
Fantastic location
Excellent meet and greet at reception-very helpful
Beautiful room-with a great view
Breakfast-service/food/view. Cannot be beaten absolutely superb
Was just too tired for the Champagne bar in the evening and no energy for the gym/spa/pool-next time!

Reviewed by
g skidmore

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
Nice hotel small room

Reviewed by
K Gill

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next