No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sheriff Lodge

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
51, Dimple Road , Matlock, DE4 3JX
We pride ourselves on being the very best Guest House that we can possibly be. Our rooms feature beds that are seven feet long so if you are tall or simply like the idea of lots of space to relax in, Sheriff Lodge is for you.

One of the main differences that you will see between Sheriff Lodge and other B&Bs that you may have visited is that you don't feel that you are treading on someone else's personal space. Our own accommodation (Kate & Alan - The Owners), whilst in the building, is sufficiently separate from guest accommodation - including guest lounge - that you have the hotel experience without the impersonality of a vast amount of staff

Our breakfast is, we like to think, second to none and features an 'a la carte' menu from which you can choose as much or as little as you like. If you choose all of the menu you will get 11 items on a 12 inch plate - which should set you up at least until lunchtime!

...and PLEASE remember we only have ONE dog-friendly room - so please call to check if you would like to book it
Picture of Sheriff Lodge, Matlock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
Very welcoming and easygoing. Massive breakfast .very dog friendly. V good value for an away break.

Reviewed by
JOhn R

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Sheriff Lodge is located just above the town of Matlock. An ideal location for access to town and the local area. the owners were really friendly and breakfast was superb. Lovely place to stay recommend it everyone

Reviewed by
Rupert L

From Malmesbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B!!
I stayed in Sheriff Lodge for 3 nights and found the accommodation superior to many hotels with a higher rating. The service and friendliness were outstanding! The breakfast is catered to your needs and plentiful portions. Kate and Alan do their utmost to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Waking up to the aroma of the freshly baked bread is an experience in itself. I will certainly recommend this B&B to my friends.

Reviewed by
Eden G

From York, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Matlock
Received a very warm welcome, accommodations clean and inviting and like the fact you can borrow DVDs etc and finally have to the say the breakfast was excellent especially the scrambled egg and the fresh bread, really enjoyed our stay and would return :)

Reviewed by
C Knight

From Arundel, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at Sheriff Lodge, Matlock
I would highly recommend this excellent guesthouse. The welcome was warm, the room lovely, and as for the breakfast - wow! Would go back like a shot.

Reviewed by
ray clark

From Falmouth, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't Wait To Return
It was the first time that we had stayed in a B & B as opposed to a hotel but it will definitely not be the last. There was far more character and warmth and we were greeted as if old friends. Kate and Alan could not do enough for you. Oh and I should say the breakfasts were fabulous particularly the home made bread and jams.

Reviewed by
k burns-salmond

From Grimsby, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome, comfortable room, great food.
We received a warm and friendly welcome. The hotel is clean and well managed. Our room was a good size and very comfortable with lovely views of the Derbyshire landscape. The room was also very quiet so we had a good night's sleep. The en suite was clean and everything worked well. The breakfast was exceptionally well presented, with great attention to detail. A wide range of food was available and everything we had was delicious. The owners clearly work very hard to achieve an excellent standard, and we were impressed (we're quite often not!). A great place to stay.

Reviewed by
Hugh M

From Alton, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.