No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Indigo Newcastle

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
2/8 FENKLE STREET, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5XU
Situated on Fenkle Street, Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse , delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience. Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the citys art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Each room has air Conditioning, LCDTV, invigorating rainfall shower with luxurious toiletries and bathrobe as well as complimentary Wi-fi and a selection of complimentary items from the mini bar. Over 80 car parking spaces are available on site at the Hotel.
Picture of Hotel Indigo Newcastle, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top Class
Staff were amazing - nothing was too much trouble and always with smiley faces

Reviewed by
James S

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newcastle is the best and this hotel made it all the more enjoyable!!!
The hotel was very stylish and I was very shocked to the price compared to paying a lot more to stay at a Novotel and it wasn't half as nice. The rooms were very clean and had all the amenities plus a complimentary mini fridge. The marco Pierre white restaurant looked exceptional but was only staying in Newcastle for a night so didn't get chance to go in. The hotel was directly in the centre and a five minute walk to the eldon square shopping centre and diamond strip and the gate. Newcastle was amazing and the hotel made even more enjoyable! Would definitely stay again :)

Reviewed by
Alice D

From Normanton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was amazing, staff were really nice and couldnt do enough for you, rooms were really clean and very nice. We all had an amazing time here and would go back here when ever we return to Newcastle.

Reviewed by
J McMillan

From Wishaw, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location, nice hotel
The central location of Hotel Indigo is brilliant, with just a couple of minutes walk from the station being perfect for us. The hotel is nicely decorated (apart from the GIANT pillar print on our bedroom wall - which made the room feel smaller). The staff were pleasant and well presented and the rooms very clean. A nice hotel, but no real wow factor and the breakfast wasn't great. The location would be the main reason for recommending and a possible return visit.

ManagementResponse

Dear D Dixon, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us. I'm truly delighted you liked our location. I apologize for the areas that we may have fallen short particularly with the breakfast that was served during breakfast.I can assure you that this issue will be addressed. I hope that if you are in town again you would consider giving us another try. Sincerely, Zelyn IHGCare

Reviewed by
D Dixon

From Berwick upon Tweed, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality
big room, centre of town, perfect

Reviewed by
Nicky Dalton

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Indigorgeous
Absolutely fabulous stay at the Indigo Newcastle,staff were great very polite and attentive,room was great,food in restaurant was top class,excellent location in city centre,will be back.

Reviewed by
Kevin Doherty

From Dumbarton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely fantastic hotel
I would recommend this hotel, the staff were fantastic helpful and very polite. Food was beautiful. Room was nice and clean. Intact we couldn't complain about a single thing at the hotel definitely visit again

Reviewed by
P Prosser

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfied customer
Very modern & clean hotel with great restaurant.Staff very friendly and helpful.My colleague had to cancel on the day due to illness way past cancellation time but they let me use the room money for food and drink which was appreciated.Parking very easy for city centre hotel.

Reviewed by
Paul L

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We really enjoyed our stay, the room was lovely and the whole hotel was very clean and smart. The staff there were very friendly and helpful. I would happily stay there again or reccomend it to a friend.

Reviewed by
Emma C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Worth the Money!
We stayed for three nights, 15th to 18th March 2013 (and we’re glad it wasn't longer). Cost £395 B&B and just under £600 with food and drinks (and 10% service charge).
I’ll start by having a rant about added service charges in a British hotel. We don’t have a tipping culture in the UK and with mandatory minimum salaries the staff should already be getting paid properly. It is therefore quite simply arrogant and presumptuous of management to automatically add a service charge! I’ll decide what the gratuity should be NOT management. It would also be interesting to find out when the staff actually get this money? To be quite frank this is definitely costing the staff because for excellent service we normally round up and would have done so here because both the food and service in both the bar and restaurant were excellent!!! (e.g. a £79 meal in the restaurant we would normally rounded to £90 – which is about 14%). I should note that for poor service and food we would round down.
Now the bedroom. When we booked we upgraded to an executive room with a king-size bed... Well if that was king-size, I would hate to be in an ordinary room! Also the beds are way too soft, promoting a bad back and roll together which really doesn't make for a great night’s sleep. Finally, who puts down laminate flooring in a hotel room? It looks pretty, but most defiantly doesn't help with the lack of sound proofing. You will definitely know they are wearing stiletto heels in the room above! In all, I'm afraid to say I've had far better night’s sleep in a £50 hotel!!!
On the whole the staff were friendly, efficient and pretty good although I believe some attention needs to be paid to housekeeping because for a new(ish) hotel, there were areas within the room already in need of a good clean (tops of pictures, door frames, under the bed, windows, etc.) Also our room was not serviced till after 4pm on one occasion and then only after we complained - they most definitely need to sort that out - Not acceptable in a one star hotel let alone a four!
The other main issue with the hotel is the facilities. As a new build boutique hotel I have to ask where is the swimming pool and spa? How about a hotel lounge anyone? You have the Marco Pierre White restaurant (excellent although it appears to be taking far too many external bookings so as a hotel guest you can struggle to get a table), the Granger bar (way too small especially as it is used as a waiting area for the MPW) and finally the fitness room which is about the size of one bedroom (i.e. tiny). A plus point for the Wi-Fi which is a genuinely open fast connection with no messing about with web page logins and passwords (all hotel Wi-Fi should be like this).
The location is spot on. It is next door to the O2 Academy (we were in Newcastle to see a gig there on the Sunday night), also just a short walk to Central Station (train & metro), the city centre and the quayside.
Overall Hotel Indigo was okay, but as people who stay in hotels of all ratings, all over the world, for both business and pleasure, we came away feeling we had paid over the odds for the room and facilities we got.
Next time we're in Newcastle we'll stay elsewhere (somewhere with better facilities and better value for money) but we will book into to visit the MPW restaurant which we would highly recommend if they just sort out that service charge nonsense!!!

ManagementResponse

Dear Scott T, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is very unfortunate that we fell below your expectations on many levels. Kindly be assured that your feedback has been noted and will be addressed with our team to consider for improvements needed in what we can offer to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Sincerely, Pam, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Scott T

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next