No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Indigo Newcastle

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
2/8 FENKLE STREET, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5XU
Situated on Fenkle Street, Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse , delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience. Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the citys art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Each room has air Conditioning, LCDTV, invigorating rainfall shower with luxurious toiletries and bathrobe as well as complimentary Wi-fi and a selection of complimentary items from the mini bar. Over 80 car parking spaces are available on site at the Hotel.
Picture of Hotel Indigo Newcastle, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 83 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
We were really impressed with Hotel Indigo in Newcastle. From start to finish, the service was excellent. Everywhere was bright and clean. The building/rooms was modern but very characterful, with great facilities - really well thought through. We will be back.

Reviewed by
Glynis W

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overal hotel
Excellent stay in a quirky spacious room. Very pleasant sleep in a huge and comfy bed. Bathroom as always was very good. Only negative thing was the dust at the top of the wardrobe but only a minor complaint. Stopped at Manchester and Birmingham hotels and newcastle more than competes if not exceeds in terms of front of house. Receptionist was very helpful, warm and welcoming. Also we had a meal in the restaurant which a little pricey but far exceeded expectations and was worth the money.

Reviewed by
G Nagy

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow-factor hotel !
Hotel Indigo took my breath away... literally! Superb, stylish rooms, and flawless service by all members of staff! I'm from the UK and frequently travel worldwide. Don't even hesitate for a second - book a stay at Hotel Indigo at least once to experience it yourself! :)

Reviewed by
Kenny M

From Whitehaven, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Lovely hotel in a very convenient location for the city centre,
Staff were friendly and helpfull.
Good bar service ...we didn't eat in the restaurant but apparently it has won awards, the staff seemed very proud of this.
Car parking on site limited and a very tight squeeze ..would recommend they widen the spaces as large cars were parked over the lines making it almost impossible to use the adjacent space,

Reviewed by
S Frew

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Details
A few hiccups - one room like a fridge and no portable heater available which required a room change at midnight; air conditioning in the restaurants being noisy sounding like an engine overhead; bar prices very (ie too) pricey, which felt like a deterrant; no reduced fee for car parking even though it was the one to be used for the hotel; mini fridge could have held fresh milk rather than inedible plastic cartons; restaurant overlit and thought the self-promoting images of Marco PW were indulgent - small details but at this level of hotel, the details make the difference. Otherwise it is a swanky place well located right in the middle of town. No views.

ManagementResponse

Dear S Fisher, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the issues you had with the condition of our facilities. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day! Sincerely, Karen, IHG Care

Reviewed by
S Fisher

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, fantastic staff
We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Indigo. It's in a great location and the room was excellent. Every single member of staff we encountered was genuinely friendly and very helpful. We'll definitely stay here next time we're in Newcastle.

Reviewed by
Jill H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had a fantastic stat at the indigo hotel. Me and my friend were down for the night and looking for somewhere relatively nice to stay for a good price. Indigo hotel done more than exceed our expectations! We were greeted on arrival by a lovely gentleman and our room was just beautiful! Very modern and clean, loved it!! Great value for money! Will be booking up again soon for a long weekend, definitely.

Reviewed by
Sophie Stewart

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oops. Standards slipping....
We've stayed at the Hotel Indigo a few times now and have always had a good experience - nice rooms, well appointed and clean, helpful but not obtrusive service. Now that the newness and keeness to please has settled, standards seem to be slipping. I tried all day to telephone the reception desk to ask a question about parking, never got a reply. We tried for some time (without success) to book a restaurant table - no one answered the phone. The room was clean, the bathroom'd had a lick and a promise. Floor grubby, shower hairy, two tissues shoved 'artfully' into the top of an empty box, part-used shampoo and shower wash. Our experience in the restaurant was pretty grim too, once we got down there. A hatchet faced Manager said he could 'fit us in' to a half empty restaurant which never got any fuller. We waited and hour and a quarter for our food - people kept coming to apologise but there was no explanation, despite us asking what the problem was. When it came, it was delicious, but by that time we were ravenous and cross and didn't really enjoy it much. Having to say 'yes, everything's fine' about six time to waiting staff throughout the meal didn't improve our fettle much. Breakfast was fine, and the pleasant and helpful receptionist was good enough, at my request, to deduct the 10% service charge that had been automatically added to the restaurant bill when we checked out. Such a shame, I'd thought Hotel Indigo was a real find.

ManagementResponse

Dear Carolyn R, Thank you very much for leaving us a review detailing the good, and highlighting several opportunities to improve. We are glad that you found our rooms to be well appointed and clean. However, we regret the inconvenience you may have had with the restaurant and bathroom facility. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your comments will help us improve our efforts. Kind Regards, Pam, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Carolyn R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very friendly and food was top notch

Reviewed by
david armstrong

From Prudhoe, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Ideal for business or leisure - rooms are finished to a very standard
Restaurant is expensive though - quality of the breakfast is tip top - fault free

Reviewed by
Maureen Richardson

From Wishaw, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next