Reviews - Sawrey Country House Hotel


Sawrey Country House Hotel Near Sawrey, Ambleside, LA22 0LF

Price From 191.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Michael D

  • August 2015

Doom & Gloom

They say that first impressions are important and they certainly affected our impression of this hotel.

We were greeted (if you could call it that) by a man and woman who made us feel that we were putting them out by arriving. We went out for a meal & arrived back at the hotel bar for a nightcap at 10pm. The bar hours are 11am to 11pm. No one in sight. We had to go looking for service. The same man told us that most of their customers were walkers who went to bed early and got up early. The woman appeared again and the distinct impression we got was that we were an inconvenience.

The general impression of the hotel is that it's being allowed to go downhill. Tiles missing at the entrance, threadbare carpet on the stairs, no obvious reception area.

On the plus side, the rooms were clean if old fashioned, the views were beautiful, breakfast was good and the service in the morning was pleasant and helpful.

Overall I think that this hotel was overpriced for what it offered. Obviously we paid for being in the Lake District in peak season but I won't stay at this hotel again.

  • heather m

  • July 2015

Very comfortable, lovely house.

Not realising Sawrey House's location, other than Sawrey, it was a nice surprise to find it next door to Beatrix Potter's Hillside Cottage and that on my wanders last year after visiting the Cottage, I walked next door to sit on the terrace and have scones and coffee in the quiet, with restful views of the near hills, trees and garden.

Very Pleasant. So here I was with daughter and it was a surprise to be back. Pleasant, comfortable room, view from window over front drive and mature trees, quiet, no road noise. Good shower flow though there was an obvious sprinkling of mould on shower cubicle ceiling. Nice guest lounge, commandeer the table at the window. Breakfast was well provided. My scrambled eggs and salmon were a good serve and cleanly presented but get to breakfast room in timely manner to get a window seat. So, can recommend.

  • Wendy C

  • June 2015

What a find!

Absolute gem of a hotel.

In a beautiful location, staff were brilliant and food was excellent. Just wished we could have stayed longer. Will definitely visit again. Our stay was to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we couldn't have picked anywhere better,

  • Jane N

  • June 2015

Friendly and Accomodating

We stayed here for one night and I cant fault the friendly and accomodating welcome we received.

We were running a Marathon the next morning and so had to leave by 6am in the morning, the gentleman we met gave us a packed breakfat to have in our rooms before the run and some goodies to give us energy for the run. we were able to check out that evening and just leave our keys the following morning. The botel is beautiful and in a very pretty and picturesque location. The ladies in our groupn would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the coniston area. Thankyou so much Sawrey House. xx

  • John L

  • May 2015

Sawrey Country House Hotel

nice relaxing place if you want peace and quite

food excellent

  • Steve Spooner

  • February 2015

A fine weekend in sawrey

A excellent hotel to discover hawks head & coniston.

the staff are very helpful. enjoyed my stay very much.

  • D Wilson

  • November 2014

Great hotel in a beautiful location (just round the corner from Beatrix Potter's Farm).

Visited just out of season and was perfect time to go. Warm welcome from hotel Manager/Staff, room on ground floor with lovely views. Had local beer on tap and sat on the perfectly placed patio looking down into a beautiful valley with view of lake. Room was very comfy and clean. Continental and full breakfast were brilliant. Manager and Staff were all really friendly, would definitely stay here again!

  • Andrea N

  • July 2014

Lovely getaway

Lovely hotel set in fantastic location with wonderful views from the windows and the sun terrace.

Excellent breakfast with a good choice. Polite helpful friendly staff. Only negative we're the smokers on the terrace as it was very warm and our window was open.

  • Brian R

  • April 2014

We arrived a little late but staff made us welcome.

And made sure we had a chance to eat.

  • Millie McCann

  • March 2014

Sawrey Hotel was a restful relaxing comfortable break just what the doctor ordered!

I booked this hotel through late for my 60th birthday treat.

We found the hotel to be of high standard in a beautiful location. Friendly staff very helpful, a lovely two day break would highly

recommend this hotel.