No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sawrey Country House Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Sawrey Country House Hotel Near Sawrey, Ambleside, LA22 0LF
Sawrey House Country Hotel is a friendly ten bedroom hotel in the heart of the English Lake District. Set in the pretty hamlet of Near Sawrey and located next door to Hill Top farm, the once home of author Beatrix Potter, its location is just minutes away from Hawkshead, Coniston, Ambleside and Bowness on Windermere. The hotel has stunning views of Esthwaite Water and Grizedale Forest, with most rooms also looking out onto the 3 acres of mature gardens and terrace area. The Lake View Restaurant and Bar have a relaxing atmosphere and overlook the superb views. Inside the hotel we have combined modern hospitality with the rustic charms of the Lake District, so you are able to relax and unwind as our experienced and enthusiastic staff invite you to make yourself completely at home as they look after your every need. Dining in our candle-lit Esthwaite View restaurant is a must for anyone staying with us. Our delicious menus use only the finest local ingredients and our talented chefs produce creative and imaginative dishes to suit everyone's taste buds! Dinner is served with canapes, homemade breads and petit fours.. All rooms are ensuite, with Flat Screen TV's and complimentary welcome trays.
Picture of Sawrey Country House Hotel, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely getaway
Lovely hotel set in fantastic location with wonderful views from the windows and the sun terrace. Excellent breakfast with a good choice. Polite helpful friendly staff. Only negative we're the smokers on the terrace as it was very warm and our window was open.

Reviewed by
Andrea N

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived a little late but staff made us welcome. And made sure we had a chance to eat.

Reviewed by
Brian R

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sawrey Hotel was a restful relaxing comfortable break just what the doctor ordered!
I booked this hotel through late rooms.com for my 60th birthday treat. We found the hotel to be of high standard in a beautiful location. Friendly staff very helpful, a lovely two day break would highly
recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Millie McCann

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sawtey House hotel a hidden gem
Fantastic hotel in beautiful Cumbrian countryside lovely and quiet.the breakfast was the best I've probably ever had couldn't fault it in any way
Highly recommended

Reviewed by
P Smethurst

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in a beautiful location
We spent one night here and were delighted both with our accommodation and the level of service we received.
The hotel is in a very tranquil location with stunning views over the gardens and lake.
Its proximity to Hill Top Farm was an added bonus as we had tried to visit the year before but it had been too busy. We had the gardens to ourselves this time which was great.
The food was of a very high quality and the choice at breakfast was particularly good.

Reviewed by
Janet F

From Llandudno, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly, clean and beautiful breakfast views!

Reviewed by
R Harris

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
lovely character hotel, beautiful gardens full of rabbits, next door to beatrice potters first house. Excellent service from front of house and breakfast waitress, plenty of choice on breakfast menu. A little off the beat and track but well worth the visit.

Reviewed by
s hamilton

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break in lakes
Service excellent and friendly

Reviewed by
Paul Nash

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food, very good accommodation and service.

Reviewed by
Robert S

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hospitality
I thoroughly enjoyed my second visit to this hotel.

Reviewed by
Jayne S

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next