No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Llwyndu Farmhouse

4Visit Wales Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
Llwyndu Farmhouse Llanaber, Barmouth, LL42 1RR

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "This charming cosy farmhouse with stunning panoramic views of long sandy beaches and the sea."

Llwyndu Farmhouse is an intimate and cosy farmhouse hotel, a Listed Building, dating from1581 and overlooking Cardigan Bay where guests can really unwind – ‘it has been like being wrapped in a warm blanket and given a big hug - March 2012’ . Dining room and lounge have inglenooks and oak beams to give a very romantic, candlelit and unique atmosphere. Our en suite bedrooms are interesting and individual with great character. Stupendous views of sea or mountains while the magical Mawddach Estuary is only a short distance away.

Award winning food with breakfasts, as light as you like, or fuller breakfasts using locally made prize winning sausages, local cured bacon , free range eggs and smoked salmon plus vegetarian options give a good choice. Dinners in our restaurant are freshly prepared from locally sourced meat, fish and other ingredients, artisan Welsh cheeses, great wines from award winning Tanner’s of Shrewsbury, and beers and ciders from individual producers from Wales and the Borders.

There is great walking from Llwyndu Farmhouse both on hill and beach below us while there are many good attractions and activities such as Harlech Castle, Portmeirion Village, Centre for Alternative Technology and the Coed Y Brenin Forest.

Children are welcome.
Picture of Llwyndu Farmhouse, Barmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly folks and stunning location
Family room needs a bedding upgrade
Food was excellent

Reviewed by
Andrew Y

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

peaceful !
had a lovely stay with my daughter at the farmhouse very quiet and peaceful. lovely food and fantastic views form our bench in the garden ! would definitely return and have recommended to all our family and friends.

Reviewed by
sarah edwards

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome on the hillside
Llywndu Farmhouse is in an excellent location - set quietly above the road - with superb views in all directions. The rooms are clean comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast is outstandingly good.

Reviewed by
Bernard G

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just perfect
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Llwyndu Farmhouse. The area is quiet and peaceful boasting mountain views and spectacular bay views. Our family room was comfortable and clean.
The hospitality was second to none and the breakfast was superb with good quality ingredients.
I would have no hesitation recommending Llwundu to friends and family and would hope to stay again myself.

Reviewed by
Ken J

From Deeside, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Very Comfortable Weekend
A very welcome arrival with a tray of coffee and biscuits. A double room with en-suite with separate entrance away from the main house. Tea and Coffee making equipment. Evening meals available if booked before 6.00pm. The menu was most varied and tempting and the food was freshly prepared and beautifully presented by the owner, using all local produce. The views from the house are amazing and altogether our stay was one of the best. The house has a charming historic feel and the accommodation was second to none.

Reviewed by
Wendy Jones

From Wrexham, Wales
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely escape
Very friendly hosts, lovely setting, great views and sunsets. Our room with four poster comfortable but a little tired. Bathroom could have benefited from shower curtain so that I wouldn't have had to fear soaking the carpet. Also needs shelves or similar to sit toiletries on. Minor issues only.
Very generous and delicious breakfasts, really sets one up for the day. Evening meal also very good, enjoyed the Welsh cheese platter.
Would certainly recommend to family and friends.

Reviewed by
Christina SHIELDS

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent throughout.
our stay was perfect in every way. the food was excellent and our host was warm, friendly and helpful, without being intrusive or over bearing. our room was beautiful and could not be faulted in any way. we slept very well in a wonderful four poster bed...I cannot recommend this hotel more highly for anybody to stay at.

Reviewed by
patricia corcoran

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely relaxing stay, the children loved the converted barn. The welsh breakfast was fab, and very tasty. we will defiantly be back next year. Thank you very much

Reviewed by
S griffiths

From Goodwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb family and dog friendly place to stay
Very peaceful but convenient position. Loads to do in the area. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Fantastic breakfasts. Great wine and drinks list with outside seating giving a glorious view! Our room had own access which was brilliant with the dogs. Only negative for us was that we felt the furnishing in our room was a little tired and dated. All very clean though and great water pressure on the shower which is sometimes a problem in our experience. An enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Helen H

From Wells, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and great family room
Very spacious and quiet family room so great stay. It was very hard to find the place at night, and annoying to have to go into Barmouth in order to then follow directions. Owners weren't particularly welcoming and i felt they were annoyed at us because we came late etc. But can't fault the room or location which were excellent.

Reviewed by
Suzanne K

From Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next