No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Westbrook Lodge Guest House

0Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
9 Westcliff Gardens, , , Margate, CT9 5DS
Facing the sea with the sandy beach just steps away, this guest house has 24-hour reception, free Wi-Fi and free parking. Airport transfers can be arranged, and there is a free taxi-booking service. Each cosy room at Westbrook Lodge Guest House has facilities for making tea and coffee, as well as a TV and a hairdryer. Mini-fridges are available on request. Between the guest house and the sea there are 2 tennis courts and a bowling green. Guests can play tennis for free, and the guest house also has a small library. The non-alcoholic bar serves a variety of drinks, and a full cooked breakfast is available in the morning. Each evening,varied choice of dishes – pork, beef, fish, chicken, all home made and garnished with vegetables and sauces. Desert, from delicious chocolate cakes to pancakes, a variety of choices for a perfect desert. Ice cream is a must at any dinner so why not try some of our recipes. All our deserts are home made
Picture of Westbrook Lodge Guest House, Margate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable
Very homely and relaxed feel , inclusion of free tea and coffee was superb, the hotel owner was very hospitable and made you feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Mohamed S

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome and all straight forward. For the price it was perfectly fine, clean and value for money

Reviewed by
J Adams

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay
This was a last minute booking for one night only
I found the hotel comfortable, clean and inexpensive. Everything wad satisfactory. The only issue I had was getting an evening meal. Not offered or available from the hotel and could only find chip shop, kebab houses and pizza places. So not a lot of choice on Margate

Reviewed by
RICHARD HUGHES

From PULBOROUGH, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly and clean and close to the beach
I would stay there again, very old school, excellent value, so clean with friendly proprietor. a visit to British seaside of old

Reviewed by
barbara disney

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Guest House
We enjoyed our stay at Westbrook Lodge Guest House they staff made us feel welcome. We had a lovely breakfast.

Reviewed by
j sparey

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor customer service
Arrived the Westbrooke Lodge under rain shower. It was very difficult locating the entrance. On finding the entrance we pressed the bell which indicated it was in working order by blinking a red light. We were out there under the rains with no canopy at the entrance. We had the door before a receptionist came to open for us. Meanwhile we were half drenched. She then gave an excuse that the bell was not functional.
Thus is my worst experience ever in all my travels.

Reviewed by
Isaac M

From London , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor nights sleep
the mattress was so hard i had to sleep on the duvet,feather pillows had no give in then.bed base was ripped and dirty,curtains were hanging off rail and hard to close.the bar room seating had a rip in the seating which had been done for a long time and never repaired.dining room was cramped,2foot square tables set for four leaving room for a plate only,tea pot place in other diers space. i find this hotel needs a refurbishment as it is tired and unmentained

Reviewed by
M Challis

From Corby, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent position
Minutes from the rail station with a bus stop at the back and only grass between it and the sea.

Reviewed by
Jenny P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a good choice
The rooms are very basic. The owners/managers were polite but not very friendly. The bed was as hard as rock. The breakfast was poor. Definitely will not be revisiting.

Reviewed by
D Allred

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Give this a miss!
The "hotel" has too many rooms for it's size. On entry the smell of damp and cold grease was interesting. The room was about 12"x12" with two large cracks in the ceiling and a filthy sink in the corner. The skirting board was badly scuffed, down to the plain wood. The door closing spring was broken and hanging off. The two double beds were like concrete and the pillows were like paving stones. Luckily it was a warm day otherwise the thin scruffy douvets would have been inadequate. The TV did not work and when we asked for someone to see to it, we were informed that she was in bed, at 10.00pm! The only staff I saw were the Polish owner and a "cleaner". We were kept awake for most of the night by the loud laughter and the pounding of people walking up and down the wooden stairs until 03.00am. We had to share a toilet and shower room with about 15 other people, both were unhygenic and slimy. We left at 08.15am without breakfast, I don't know what it was but the smell was enough to convince us to leg it ASAP.
The Polish proprietor needs to close this dump and start again. We have moved on from the 50's. Our expectations are just a tad above a third world flophouse. Also, the fire regulations were non existent. Why Margate Council has registered this karzi is beyond me!

Reviewed by
Terry S

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next