No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Star Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Church Road , , , Lingfield, RH7 6AH
We have a number of well appointed bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms. Choose from twin, double or family rooms. Very convenient for Lingfield Park races, we’re also only 6 miles from Gatwick Airport and 8 miles from the M25 so many people find us ideal for business travel. There’s a large garden with views across the open countryside, plenty of tables, and a climbing frame for the children. And in the winter we have a roaring open fire in the traditional oak-beamed and flagstoned bar. Good food is very important at The Star whether it’s a full meal in the restaurant or a quick snack in the bar. Our restaurant is staffed by qualified chefs who prepare modern European cuisine with fresh ingredients. But The Star is also a proper local pub with real ales on draught, a quiz night and a great welcome for everyone. Lingfield village dates back to Anglo Saxon times. The14th century Church was rebuilt in 1431 and contains some of the finest brasses and monuments in the country. The area around the Church (just opposite The Star) is a conservation area and contains many fine buildings from the 16th to the 18th centuries.
Picture of The Star Inn, Lingfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good day for you that like racing
we were in the stable so away from the main building so it was very nice and we had a great stay and the food was excellent. Will be using it again.

Reviewed by
R Timmins

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely experience will go again
Lovely homely atomosphere. Busy but friendly. Food excellent.
The had a live duo in pub very good a nice experience

Reviewed by
Eileen Partridge

From New Malden, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stop over
The friendly manager Ian made us very welcome when we checked in, he had only recently taken over. We stayed in small room across the car park which was perfectly adequate for us for one night , as we were attending a family party nearby. Breakfast was also very good value, we will definitely return to sample the food and real ales available at the Star.

Reviewed by
J Nash

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Star Inn Lingfield
Third time I've stayed this year. Better than the second time. OK for the money

Reviewed by
Henry C

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded expectations given the very reasonable price. Staff friendly and helpful and the evening food was very good and an excellent start to our holiday as we were flying from Gatwick the following morning

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worse room ever stayed in
We were given the stable room which is on the car park which in itself isn't too bad although there was building work in front so our view was a skip. The room itself was small and extremely dirty, it hadn't been cleaned just the bed clothes changed . It had all the thing you would expect but not toiletries not even soap . I asked for an iron and the one that was given was amazingly burnt and scruffy. The room was noisy and had a light on all night added to the gatwick flight path meant it's no chance of sleep.

Reviewed by
B Williams

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Star Inn Lingfield
Third visit, it's good value but there is some building work going on at the moment. The room didn't look as if it been hoovered for som time. Still ok for the money.

Reviewed by
Henry C

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fit for Purpose
My sister and I had a twin room as attending a wedding nearby. The room was clean and bright. The shower fitting was leaking so we did not use it. One word of warning the church is nearby and the first toll commenced at 5am Sunday morning; this is obviously not the fault of the venue but should be noted.

Reviewed by
Kim P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice annexe room
Bathroom was particularly dirty and cobwebs in main room

Reviewed by
A Jones

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Friendly staff, clean & comfortable room, good location, but rather noisy surroundings (Gatwick airport…)

Reviewed by
W.F. L

From 1273 HP Huizen, Netherlands
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next