Reviews - The Star Inn


Church Road , ,, Lingfield, RH7 6AH

Price From 93.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (58)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • S Waite

  • October 2015

Budget accommodation.

Good value stay.

Needs a little attention to detail all the same, on arrival the litter bin had the last guests rubbish in, the kettle was half full and the bathroom needs the black grouting sorting. Blinds on the windows don't really shut/open properly and so let light in during the night. Food in pub was ordinary except for breakfast which was excellent, all in, pretty good value for this are of the country.

  • Adrian h

  • October 2015


When I arrived was greeted by a friendly gentlemen behind the wheel he bar who explained everything about the hotel and its amenities and restaurants in the surrounding area,showed me over to room which was clean bed was very comfortable.will hopefully return.

  • greg o

  • September 2015

The Star Inn

The staff were polite and very helpful, and early bookin was arranged without problem.

The room was clean and tidy. Beds were comfortable and afforded a good nights sleep.

  • Robert T

  • September 2015

Star Inn Lingfield

Stayed here on a Sunday night as a stopover to break up a long journey.

Charming country pub with great food and ale,and a large beer garden Very busy and lively. The room was good value for the price paid, however beware the Star is located on the Gatwick flight path so very noisy until late at night and you get an early morning wake up 05.30 ish - made worse by the fact that three of the old metal casement windows couldn`t be closed. The mattress was rather springy and noisy, but may just be at the end of it`s life and need replacing,simples

  • A Wright

  • September 2015

Nice food shame about the room

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst on business in the area.

The food on offer for evening meal was very nice and tasty the service was good and I was very impressed, however I could not say the same about the service at breakfast. I waited for at least 10 minutes before being served by the cook/waitress - dirtly clothes not even an apron. for £8 i think the breakfast was overpriced for the service and what was offered - on my table I had either bran flakes or coco-pops - no milk - no juice - no menu. When I was asked if I wanted tea or coffee I wasn't offerred toast although there was marmalade & marmite on the table. I had scrambled eggs on toast which was smothered in butter. I do believe that the cook was also the cleaner as I noticed she was cleaning the bar area in between cooking - not very hygenic. I was in what is classed as the Stable Block which is outside. The room itself was a twin bedded room, with TV (freeview) complimentary tea/coffee, the kettle had seen better days. Where do I start, the cleanliness of the room was not what I would expect (I stay away on business at least once a week) cobwebs in the corners of the room dust on the skirting boards however the sheets were pristine and clean. Bathroom - hmmm, this could do with a total overhall, the shower screen and tiles were ridden with black mould and mildew the shower base could do with a good clean in fact eveything in the bathroom could do with a clean and from speaking to other guests all bathrooms are the same. Yes I only paid £45 per night for the room but plus £8 for an overpriced breakfast - would I stay again no however I would have an eveing meal.


  • August 2015

The Star Inn

Good basic accommodation, good value at the price we got.

  • N ross

  • August 2015

stay for the races

stayed here for the races , location perfect , customer service good and food lovely both the braekfast and the evening meal were of very good quality

Room was nice and large and clean enough small things could of been improved without much effort but not overally relaxing with the noise from the pub the planes and the church bells on the hour but none of this is the fault of the Pub it just goes with the location

I would stay again if visiting the racecourse

  • Terence W

  • July 2015

Just The Job

We wanted to stay overnight and the Star Inn was just the Job..!!.

The room was clean and comfortable and at a great price too, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Adel Tyson

  • July 2015


Great customer service, lovely food.

Clean room.

  • John McKenna

  • June 2015

a day at the races

The best part about my stay having came down from Scotland was to get to sit in the sun in the beer garden for the first time this year.