You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Canal Cottage

3

Station Road, Lower Heyford, OX25 5PD

Price From 121.69 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

71% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Anthony T

  • August 2016

Overpriced for what you get

The description of the accommodation was a 'suite'.

This would lead you to believe that you would get a bedroom, a bathroom and a bit more space to 'spread out', such as a sofa or something. I would describe this accommodation as a bathroom with an en-suite bedroom. The bathroom was MASSIVE. So much wasted space but nowhere to put even a toilet bag. One small glass shelf above the basin was all there was. Not even a vanity unit. We had to put them on the floor. There was a shower over the corner bath, but no shower curtain. Consequently, the floor became quite wet. The bedroom is advertised as having a king-size bed. The mattress, however, felt like a 4inch slab of foam with no give whatsoever. The bed was so big that there wasn't any room for any other seating of any kind. The only place to sit was the bed. Whoever designed this 'suite' needs to take a course in ergonomics. The electronic wharf gates are closed after 5pm for security reasons. On two evenings out of three, we could not get them to open and had to park our car in a public station car park - not very secure. There is a notice on the front door of the accommodation which gives an emergency telephone number. We rang it when we couldn't open the gates, there was no answer. I hate to think what would happen if there was an emergency at night and an ambulance needed access to the wharf. All in all, we were extremely disappointed in our stay as it did not live up to the description which was a shame as it is a lovely location.

  • Liz W

  • July 2016

Quite warm and noisy traffic

  • Geoff B

  • June 2016

1 Night stay

The room was clean, bedroom was small with a 15" flat screen on wall.

The bathroom was bigger than needed, the space could be converted to have a larger bedroom. Was woken by chickens after 4am so sleep was limited. Staff were pleasant and courteous.

  • Elizabeth D

  • June 2016

Lovely location

Nicely finished with good quality linen and towels however far too hot due to unlagged hot water pipes running through room.

The tiny sink in the huge bathroom was silly and very hard to use, especially when trying to fill the kettle. Very nice continental breakfast although could have done with some bread as well as the croissant. No phone signal with 3

  • M Carpenter

  • June 2016

We stayed in the Wharf Manager's room and had a comfortable night.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a fair amount of traffic using the road outside, which was not a problem for us but could be for someone who doesn't like noise. The stairs could be a problem for an elderly or disabled person, as the treads were angled and rather narrow. The attached bistro ( open 9.00 till 5.00) serves excellent food and a tasty breakfast, but be warned - you need cash as they don't accept card payments. We had a decent evening meal at the Barley Mow in the next village ( Upper Heyford).

  • t novachic

  • February 2016

wonderful weekend away

The staff were lovely, breakfast was delicious and the room was generous warm and private.

Will definitely visit again.

  • Paul B

  • September 2015

Manager's room

Very clean with good shower excellent towels.

Room of a good standard.

Unfortunately for us the room was small with a very small basin. A bit restrictive for food and checking in but a very good pub nearby for an evening meal.

  • Helen Cunningham

  • June 2015

Canal Cottage

Beautiful place very friendly welcoming people lovely food and service at kizzies bar and bistro excellent value

  • P Kubica

  • June 2015

Staying at Canal Cottage.

It is a lovely location, set on the Oxford Canal which you can walk along.

The kingsize bed is ok but only has a double duvet. Parlour Rooms are a good size but the basin in the bathroom is so tiny, with a glass shelf above which makes it virtually impossible to wash or clean your teeth, let alone have a shave. For some reason hot water was very hard to come by and the toilet flush sprayed water onto the floor and seat every time it was used. On the final day we were left no milk for our tea or coffee.

  • Andrew F

  • April 2015

Lovely cottage and location

The staff were very accommodating and friendly and the location of the cottage is lovely, right next to the canal with good transport links by road into Oxford.

If you stay in the 'Parlour Rooms' going to the bathroom means crossing a small area of the cottage that is accessible to other guests but this wasn't a concern for us. Bedroom and bathroom both well presented. A little bit of water damage to a skirting board in the bathroom but nothing major and overall the rooms were good quality and as seen in the pictures. Breakfast is provided in the fridge when you arrive, not the most enormous continental breakfast I've ever seen but definitely tasty. All in all, a great place to stop over for a few nights, a short drive from Oxford and Woodstock and very quaint. Would stay again.