You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Canal Cottage

3

Station Road, Lower Heyford, OX25 5PD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (23)

65% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Geoff B

  • June 2016

1 Night stay

The room was clean, bedroom was small with a 15" flat screen on wall.

The bathroom was bigger than needed, the space could be converted to have a larger bedroom. Was woken by chickens after 4am so sleep was limited. Staff were pleasant and courteous.

  • Elizabeth D

  • June 2016

Lovely location

Nicely finished with good quality linen and towels however far too hot due to unlagged hot water pipes running through room.

The tiny sink in the huge bathroom was silly and very hard to use, especially when trying to fill the kettle. Very nice continental breakfast although could have done with some bread as well as the croissant. No phone signal with 3

  • M Carpenter

  • June 2016

We stayed in the Wharf Manager's room and had a comfortable night.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a fair amount of traffic using the road outside, which was not a problem for us but could be for someone who doesn't like noise. The stairs could be a problem for an elderly or disabled person, as the treads were angled and rather narrow. The attached bistro ( open 9.00 till 5.00) serves excellent food and a tasty breakfast, but be warned - you need cash as they don't accept card payments. We had a decent evening meal at the Barley Mow in the next village ( Upper Heyford).

  • t novachic

  • February 2016

wonderful weekend away

The staff were lovely, breakfast was delicious and the room was generous warm and private.

Will definitely visit again.

  • Paul B

  • September 2015

Manager's room

Very clean with good shower excellent towels.

Room of a good standard.

Unfortunately for us the room was small with a very small basin. A bit restrictive for food and checking in but a very good pub nearby for an evening meal.

  • Helen Cunningham

  • June 2015

Canal Cottage

Beautiful place very friendly welcoming people lovely food and service at kizzies bar and bistro excellent value

  • P Kubica

  • June 2015

Staying at Canal Cottage.

It is a lovely location, set on the Oxford Canal which you can walk along.

The kingsize bed is ok but only has a double duvet. Parlour Rooms are a good size but the basin in the bathroom is so tiny, with a glass shelf above which makes it virtually impossible to wash or clean your teeth, let alone have a shave. For some reason hot water was very hard to come by and the toilet flush sprayed water onto the floor and seat every time it was used. On the final day we were left no milk for our tea or coffee.

  • Andrew F

  • April 2015

Lovely cottage and location

The staff were very accommodating and friendly and the location of the cottage is lovely, right next to the canal with good transport links by road into Oxford.

If you stay in the 'Parlour Rooms' going to the bathroom means crossing a small area of the cottage that is accessible to other guests but this wasn't a concern for us. Bedroom and bathroom both well presented. A little bit of water damage to a skirting board in the bathroom but nothing major and overall the rooms were good quality and as seen in the pictures. Breakfast is provided in the fridge when you arrive, not the most enormous continental breakfast I've ever seen but definitely tasty. All in all, a great place to stop over for a few nights, a short drive from Oxford and Woodstock and very quaint. Would stay again.

  • gary d

  • October 2014

Excellent value

Really enjoyed our stay, the room was very nice clean and warm.

Bathroom was amazing,

The choice of tea and coffee good with fresh milk in the fridge,

Bed very comfortable on downside for me was hard pillows but that's all,

Very friendly staff excellent cooked breakfast

Will definitely be going back to canal cottage.

  • Chris Hurrell

  • September 2014

Disappointed

Description and photographs of the property did not match the actual accommodation.

The room was clean although a number of flies could be seen lurking around. The bathroom (corridor like) was fine for showering but alas cleaning your teeth presented more difficulty. The bathroom had the smallest sink I have ever seen and a long glass shelve fitted above it. People were friendly and Steven's full cooked English breakfast is very worthwhile. In a good location though and very pleasant sitting outside watching the narrow boats and the wildlife.