No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Canal Cottage

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Station Road , Lower Heyford, OX25 5PD
The Grade II listed former Wharf Manager’s house at the entrance to our historic holiday boatyard has been tastefully converted into three comfortable, centrally-heated bedrooms - two fully en-suite and one with a private bathroom (which is disabled-friendly). Each includes Freeview flat-screen TV/DVD, courtesy fridge and designer hair-dryer. Continental breakfast* is delivered to your room on arrival. Canal Cottage is especially suitable as a touring base for Oxford and the Cotswolds, for a shopping extravaganza at nearby Bicester Village Outlet Shopping Centre (15mins) or for savouring the splendour of Blenheim Palace (15mins) and Rousham House (5 mins) nearby. For racing fans, Silverstone is a mere 20 miles away. The rail station is 50m away and offers excellent train links to Oxford (15mins) and Banbury (20mins), with connections to London (70 mins), Birmingham (90mins) and many other parts of the country. Parking available. Open all year round, except Christmas/New Year (20/12/13 - 02/01/14 inclusive). PLEASE NOTE VERY LATEST CHECK-IN TIME IS 1700.

*Our home-made plated continental breakfast includes a selection of cold meats, cheeses, tomato, croissant & petit pain. Tea, Coffee (including decaffeinated), Hot Chocolate, jams/marmalade and honey are also provided: Orange/Apple Juice and a jug of fresh milk are placed with breakfast into your in-room fridge for your convenience.
Picture of Canal Cottage, Lower Heyford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good base with limitations
Liked the actual bedroom [ parlour rooms ]---Did not like the fact our bathroom was not ensuite, and in fact we had to walk across the entrance hallway. The location is on the edge of a very busy road-----being a canal cottage I was hoping for something much quieter.No faults with comfort and cleanliness, lovely towels and plenty of hot water.
Breakfast disapointing, --particularly as I had given enough advance notice that my partner, needed gluten free food----still ordinary bread arrived which she could not eat, plus there was breaded ham on her plate also. -----I would stay here again purely because of the location where I wanted to go----Blenheim palace, ----My partner would object, I know, because of the bathroom across the entrance hall

ManagementResponse

The Parlour Rooms are very clearly described on Laterooms as follows:- Ground floor twin or king-size double bedroom (please specify). Private bathroom across hall... Therefore a criticism of the facility is unjustified. I personally prepared and delivered the breakfast making a point of stating that the bread rolls were Gluten Free! This comment is thus very unfair since we take a pride in trying to offer a personalised service to our guests. I can only apologise if the traffic going to the Game Fair was noisy, but all roads leading to the Game Fair were, unsurprisingly, similarly afflicted in the area.

Reviewed by
david mullinger

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant helpful staff.
Room size adequate, bed comfy and fridge v useful
Would have appreciated:
- removal of shelf above wash basin as this made it impossible to clean teeth / wash face (in particularly small basin)
- small box of cereal of choice / piece of fruit for breakfast
- availability of all Freeview channels
- something to hold window open a little in bathroom (already available in bedroom)

Reviewed by
c lea

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable Cottage
Very happy with accommodation and would stay again

Reviewed by
Joanna H

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pretty, efficient,
Very highly recommended

Reviewed by
dawn b

From southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location
Canal Cottage is in an ideal location for walking the Oxford canal which was our intention. The room and bathroom were clean but we were disappointed to find that on our return after our first day walking, the room had not been serviced. This was discussed with the manager who apologised and said they had forgotten to do it and a reduction in the price would be made. The continental breakfast was edible but lacked any imagination, and it was hardly ideal having to eat breakfast whilst sitting on the bed.
As another reviewer has commented, a double duvet hardly covers two people on a king-sized bed! The Canal Cottage is in lovely countryside and it served it's purpose for our stay.

Reviewed by
Jean C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B and B!
Was a lovely place to stay, nice and quiet, and the room was excellent. Breakfast was great however there was a lot of food!

Reviewed by
J Plumley

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Find
I stated here en route to visit family ,after a delayed arrival due to motorway problems ,the staff were brilliant . Friendly ,helpful , and considerate of my plight.
The room on the ground floor a Twin Room ,was perfect, the bathroom opposite was an ideal size for wheelchair users .I would suggest a walk in shower would be more use to a wheelchair user ,than a bath and solve the current mouldy wall where the over bath shower leaks.however ,every where was clean ,towels fluffy , and continental breakfast fresh.

Reviewed by
R Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoughts
Tiny, tiny room with absoloutleyt no shelf space to put anything, therefore you are constantly tripping over your belongings, as there is only very limited floor space.
Likewise in the bathroom, nowhere for washbags either.
No bedside shelf or overhead shelf for a glass to be placed, or watch ect.
On the upside, the continental breakfast was alright, but you eat it off your lap, sat on the bed.

Reviewed by
Martin F

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A charming cottage in a beautiful location
We were delighted with the cottage and found everything extremely clean and well presented. The location was peaceful and quiet with lovely walks along the canal which was a stone's throw away. Parking was secure, especially as we had a problem with our car window. In fact the owners were very helpful in finding a local garage which could help us out. We would return there again and recommend canal cottage to our friends and family.

Reviewed by
N Fray

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
We stayed for two nights whilst visiting our son at university. Room was very clean and the breakfast was delivered to our room at a pre-arranged time. Lovely location by the canal. Would definitely stay again. Thank you.

Reviewed by
J White

From Harwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next