No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Canal Cottage

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Station Road , Lower Heyford, OX25 5PD
The Grade II listed former Wharf Manager’s house at the entrance to our historic holiday boatyard has been tastefully converted into three comfortable, centrally-heated bedrooms - two fully en-suite and one with a private bathroom (which is disabled-friendly). Each includes Freeview flat-screen TV/DVD, courtesy fridge and designer hair-dryer. Continental breakfast* is delivered to your room on arrival. Canal Cottage is especially suitable as a touring base for Oxford and the Cotswolds, for a shopping extravaganza at nearby Bicester Village Outlet Shopping Centre (15mins) or for savouring the splendour of Blenheim Palace (15mins) and Rousham House (5 mins) nearby. For racing fans, Silverstone is a mere 20 miles away. The rail station is 50m away and offers excellent train links to Oxford (15mins) and Banbury (20mins), with connections to London (70 mins), Birmingham (90mins) and many other parts of the country. Parking available. Open all year round, except Christmas/New Year (20/12/13 - 02/01/14 inclusive). PLEASE NOTE VERY LATEST CHECK-IN TIME IS 1700.

*Our home-made plated continental breakfast includes a selection of cold meats, cheeses, tomato, croissant & petit pain. Tea, Coffee (including decaffeinated), Hot Chocolate, jams/marmalade and honey are also provided: Orange/Apple Juice and a jug of fresh milk are placed with breakfast into your in-room fridge for your convenience.
Picture of Canal Cottage, Lower Heyford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but just what's needed for a short overnight stay. Room equipped with all we needed. Very clean. Welcoming host who brought breakfast to our room just when we asked for it.

Reviewed by
Katherine T

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed
we wanted somewhere close to Bicester so thought this would be ideal. Unfortunately we found it rather disappointing. Instead of the peaceful village location we imagined the road right outside was very noisy late into the night. We were aware that a continental breakfast was provided in the room, but this consisted of a slice of ham, lots of cheese and dry/stale bread rolls and croissants.
From experience it could have been vastly improved by providing yogurt and/or cereal or fresh fruit . We had booked two rooms and the other members of our party shared our views. On a positive note the lady who booked us in was very friendly and helpful and we did enjoy a nice walk along the canal in the morning.

Reviewed by
jillian w

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room good location
Nice location next to canal for walks and pubs, near Oxford city centre for shopping. Good hospitality and nice breakfast included.

Reviewed by
E Gregory

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place with room for improvement!
Overall we enjoyed our stay at canal cottage however there were some things that could have been improved upon. Our stay was for 1 week and we took advantage of a special offer of stay for 7 nights for the price of 5. This inflenced our decision to stay. Beds not very comfortable for length of stay, foam mattresses. Servicing of room great to start with but declined towards the end of our stay i.e. no servicing on 'free' days. Price included continental breakfast but no choice of food, cheese ham and tomatoes everyday unless different breakfast purchased. It was our understanding that Wifi was available in all rooms but in fact this only worked when in the Cafe. We were unable to contact anyone by phone including the owners if required unless away from the residence where signal became available. This isn't a complaint but and honest review, meant to serve as helpful observations that would have enhanced the experience. Canal Cottage is in a lovely setting convenient for travel, staff were very helpful and polite and we thank them.

Reviewed by
Isobel Atlasi

From Sandbach, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Canal Cottage
Bed was very comfortable and large, thick towels were lovely. Hand basin rather small, but good shower. As it was very hot we had the window wide open all the time, so the traffic was rather noisy, but it did not keep us awake. Everyone was friendly and helpful and breakfasts were fine in Kizzie's Diner. It was nice to be able to walk over the field to the Bell Inn where we had some nice meals. Also had a very good steak at the Barley Mow in Upper Heyford.
Main problem was the steep, winding stairs, would be difficult for anyone with a disability, or large suitcase.

Reviewed by
Elspeth J

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely cottage and location with great walks by the canal

Reviewed by
David P

From Bexhill on Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cute by the canal..
We arrived early so had a very pleasant lunch at the Canal Cafe where you obtain your key...Lovely area, B&B right on the canal although it was also on a road that was surprisingly busy. Nice characterful cottage. Room was big enough and the bathroom was huge but bear in mind that it is across the hall and that the front door is there too. (take your key with you as the fire door is heavy and tends to close behind you!) T/C but no biscuits and the contential breakfast did not arrive? Safe parking as behind closed gates but remember to take note of the the keypad number. All in all a very pleasant stay in a nice area.

Reviewed by
C H

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Very welcoming upon arrival, lovely large bathroom and a nice firm bed. Nice continental breakfast delivered at the time wanted. This is our second stay here and would definitely come back.

Reviewed by
GEMMA F

From Worthing, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little base for local area
Lovely little cottage with only 3 rooms, very clean and well presented. The Parlour room does have bathroom across the hall but dont be put off by this, it is private and very spacious. We only stayed one night and found it very pleasant. Breakfast is basic but perfectly edible. Great little place !!!

Reviewed by
p brown

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff, wonderful customer service.
Second Stay at Canal Cottage - Both times all staff have been very helpful and friendly, even bringing breakfast to the room for 6.30am.

Reviewed by
Rebecca C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next