Canal Cottage

3

Station Road, Lower Heyford, OX25 5PD

Price From 134.78 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (46)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Katherine T

  • October 2013

Basic but just what's needed for a short overnight stay.

Room equipped with all we needed. Very clean. Welcoming host who brought breakfast to our room just when we asked for it.

  • jillian w

  • September 2013

disappointed

we wanted somewhere close to Bicester so thought this would be ideal.

Unfortunately we found it rather disappointing. Instead of the peaceful village location we imagined the road right outside was very noisy late into the night. We were aware that a continental breakfast was provided in the room, but this consisted of a slice of ham, lots of cheese and dry/stale bread rolls and croissants.

From experience it could have been vastly improved by providing yogurt and/or cereal or fresh fruit . We had booked two rooms and the other members of our party shared our views. On a positive note the lady who booked us in was very friendly and helpful and we did enjoy a nice walk along the canal in the morning.

  • E Gregory

  • August 2013

Great room good location

Nice location next to canal for walks and pubs, near Oxford city centre for shopping.

Good hospitality and nice breakfast included.

  • Isobel Atlasi

  • July 2013

Nice place with room for improvement!

Overall we enjoyed our stay at canal cottage however there were some things that could have been improved upon.

Our stay was for 1 week and we took advantage of a special offer of stay for 7 nights for the price of 5. This inflenced our decision to stay. Beds not very comfortable for length of stay, foam mattresses. Servicing of room great to start with but declined towards the end of our stay i.e. no servicing on 'free' days. Price included continental breakfast but no choice of food, cheese ham and tomatoes everyday unless different breakfast purchased. It was our understanding that Wifi was available in all rooms but in fact this only worked when in the Cafe. We were unable to contact anyone by phone including the owners if required unless away from the residence where signal became available. This isn't a complaint but and honest review, meant to serve as helpful observations that would have enhanced the experience. Canal Cottage is in a lovely setting convenient for travel, staff were very helpful and polite and we thank them.

  • Elspeth J

  • July 2013

Canal Cottage

Bed was very comfortable and large, thick towels were lovely.

Hand basin rather small, but good shower. As it was very hot we had the window wide open all the time, so the traffic was rather noisy, but it did not keep us awake. Everyone was friendly and helpful and breakfasts were fine in Kizzie's Diner. It was nice to be able to walk over the field to the Bell Inn where we had some nice meals. Also had a very good steak at the Barley Mow in Upper Heyford. Main problem was the steep, winding stairs, would be difficult for anyone with a disability, or large suitcase.

  • C H

  • July 2013

Cute by the canal..

We arrived early so had a very pleasant lunch at the Canal Cafe where you obtain your key...Lovely area, B&B right on the canal although it was also on a road that was surprisingly busy.

Nice characterful cottage. Room was big enough and the bathroom was huge but bear in mind that it is across the hall and that the front door is there too. (take your key with you as the fire door is heavy and tends to close behind you!) T/C but no biscuits and the contential breakfast did not arrive. Safe parking as behind closed gates but remember to take note of the the keypad number. All in all a very pleasant stay in a nice area.

  • David P

  • July 2013

A lovely cottage and location with great walks by the canal

  • GEMMA F

  • July 2013

Lovely place to stay

Very welcoming upon arrival, lovely large bathroom and a nice firm bed.

Nice continental breakfast delivered at the time wanted. This is our second stay here and would definitely come back.

  • p brown

  • July 2013

Great little base for local area

Lovely little cottage with only 3 rooms, very clean and well presented.

The Parlour room does have bathroom across the hall but dont be put off by this, it is private and very spacious. We only stayed one night and found it very pleasant. Breakfast is basic but perfectly edible. Great little place !!!

  • Rebecca C

  • June 2013

Very friendly staff, wonderful customer service.

Second Stay at Canal Cottage - Both times all staff have been very helpful and friendly, even bringing breakfast to the room for 6.30am.