No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ye Olde Boote Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Ye Olde Boot Inn, Castle Street Whittington, Oswestry, SY11 4DF
The Boote is a small family run traditional inn. All room rates are inclusive of a traditional English breakfast, which will set you up for exploring the market towns of Chester, Shrewsbury, and Oswestry, which are easily accessed from this central location. Oswestry is only 5 minute's away by car. We are also the closest quality accommodation to the Orthopedic hospital at Gobowen.
Ye Olde Boote Inn Whittington Oswestry dates from the 16th century providing a coaching house for visitors to Whittington Castle, and a stop over for their journey into Wales. Today our charming Inn enjoys magnificent views of Whittington Castle and Moat, from it's six en-suite letting bedrooms. Soak up the charm of Whittington whilst sampling our real cask ales, home cooked lunches and evening meals, and traditional Inn atmosphere.
Picture of Ye Olde Boote Inn, Oswestry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for Leisure, not for business
Nice cosy pob in a beautiful setting.
But no WiFi in the room and breakfast not starting till 730 is not ideal for business guests.

Reviewed by
Mike F

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly and comfortable
We stayed for one night as my wife had quite a late appointment at the orthopaedic hospital and we didn't feel like driving there and back in one day. I stayed at Ye Olde Boote for 5 days while my wife had her operation five years ago. It's an excellent place to stay. The rooms I have stayed in have been very comfortable and the evening meals and breakfasts can not be faulted. The hosts and their staff are very friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The pub has a lovely atmosphere and the rooms at the front have a lovely view of the castle and moat with plenty of waterfowl. We could definitely recommend

Reviewed by
R Moore

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second time we have stayed in recent months lovely cosy atmosphere , slept well and like
That the heating is controlled by you so could turn it down
At night . Lovely breakfast will defiantly use again .

Reviewed by
Susan C

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely
We arrived at around 8.00,was booked in immediately ,no fuss at all. Place and staff was very friendly. Food was amazing, didn't wait long service was amazing , staff were polite and efficient .Well done to you all,

Reviewed by
s hyde

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed there prior to to me going into Oswestry hospital for an operation so was unable to partake of the breakfast however my husband rated it very highly! The meal in the evening
G was very good and the staff were very kind and accommodating

Reviewed by
Pauline A

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent traditional Inne
Perfect location to break up our trip. All the staff were very pleasant. Food was fantastic and the atmosphere was relaxing. Could have done with more than one towel between us.
Wifi was a problem and unable to use, so this would be the only reason to make me think about staying again for any length of time.

Reviewed by
Julia S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ye Olde Boote Inn
This is a lovely pub. The staff are very friendly and efficient and the food was excellent. It is situated on the corner of two very busy roads, so traffic wise it is a bit noisy, but it did not prevent us from having a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
R Sheppard

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well mannered and very accommodating staff. Good food and pleasant ambience.

Reviewed by
navarro de Almeida

From doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent choice
We were looking for accomodation in Ellesmere and saw good reviews on Trip Advisor for Ye Olde Boote very glad we booked here. We stayed for three nights, the breakfasts delicious, piping hot with prompt, discrete service. Room spacious and just as good as any Premier Inn .Ate in the pub each night and found the food excellent and not over priced.

Reviewed by
David Fielder

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic accommodation at a great price
I stayed here on the night before the Etape Cymru cycle ride. When I checked in, I was asked if I would be having breakfast. When I answered that I'd be leaving before breakfast started, I was offered a takeaway which consisted of bacon and sausage sandwich, banana, apple juice and crisps. Just the thing I needed before the bike ride. The accommodation was lovely and the bar/restaurant extremely friendly with good staff. The food was excellent. My only constructive feedback is that it needs to be more clearly advertised that the bar does not open until 6pm (although you can check in before then). I had to wander down the road to get a drink having arrived around 5pm.

Reviewed by
Robin F

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next