Reviews - Ye Olde Boote Inn


Ye Olde Boot Inn, Castle Street Whittington, Oswestry, SY11 4DF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (82)

91% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • D McCulley

  • August 2014

Nice location good food

  • stephen r

  • August 2014


  • J Oliver

  • August 2014

Staff were very friendly and courteous throughout.

No real complaint about the accommodation though the bathroom ceiling is in need of repair as was the coating in the bath with the cracks therein giving some cause for concern as to possible leakage (non reported). Breakfasts were OK and dinner likewise without being in any way other than decent pub food. Venue would benefit from having a guest lounge and suffers from being located where two busy roads join with heavy traffic noisy as it accelerates away from the junction.

  • mark m

  • August 2014

fantastic value

food very good value, comfortable and clean, staff very helpfull.

Will be coming back

  • Anthony Cresswell

  • July 2014

Ye Olde Boote Inn

The inn, overlooking moat/pond to castle, is run by a lovely friendly family who go out of their way to ensure your stay is as stress free and enjoyable as possible.

Hospitality/food/drink can't be faulted. Tasty meals cooked as you like them and served promptly. Room stayed in clean, homely and comfortable but en- suite in need of a bit of tlc. ( we're talking of slow filling cistern, slow hot water to sink, trims around bath and shower.....noticeable but can be lived with). Flat screen tv and tea making facilities. Good base for visiting local area, Chester, Shrewsbury, and National Trust properties. I am very happy both to recommend Inn and stay there again.

  • C Wilson

  • July 2014

Very happy customer

Very friendly and helpful staff together with good food and accommodation in delightful surroundings.

I look forward to a return visit and will certainly recommend it to others.

  • karen c

  • July 2014

One night stay

Lovely accomodation,friendly staff,and great location.

Would recommend staying here.

  • R Jones

  • July 2014

Older Boots Inn

No shower gel, no shampoo, very noisy from both the bar and the road.

  • d ashton

  • July 2014


What a fantastic break we had at Ye old boote inn.

Staff were absolutely superb, so friendly and helpful, the live music at the end was brilliant ( as were the free samples of real ale!). The inn is on a lovely spot right outside the castle. Room was spotless and a lovely touch by the owners to have all shampoos, toothbrushes and toothpaste etc all available for free to use. Also has the best collection of Jack Daniels bottles (full) I have ever seen. Highly recommended, Thankyou to all the staff for a lovely trip!

  • Hilary Jones

  • July 2014

Great little hotel

This is the second time we've stayed here and we were impressed once again.

It's in a perfect location for visiting family in Ellesmere. The breakfast was lovely on both occasions. We will be continuing to book to stay here every time we visit our family.