No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ye Olde Boote Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Ye Olde Boot Inn, Castle Street Whittington, Oswestry, SY11 4DF
The Boote is a small family run traditional inn. All room rates are inclusive of a traditional English breakfast, which will set you up for exploring the market towns of Chester, Shrewsbury, and Oswestry, which are easily accessed from this central location. Oswestry is only 5 minute's away by car. We are also the closest quality accommodation to the Orthopedic hospital at Gobowen.
Ye Olde Boote Inn Whittington Oswestry dates from the 16th century providing a coaching house for visitors to Whittington Castle, and a stop over for their journey into Wales. Today our charming Inn enjoys magnificent views of Whittington Castle and Moat, from it's six en-suite letting bedrooms. Soak up the charm of Whittington whilst sampling our real cask ales, home cooked lunches and evening meals, and traditional Inn atmosphere.
Picture of Ye Olde Boote Inn, Oswestry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing weekend retreat
A friendly welcome started our weekend of on Friday evening followed by lovely food, a couple of drinks & a very comfortable bed. The Inn is situated perfectly for exploring the area, we visited local waterfalls & Lake Vyrnwy. There's even a castle right on your doorstep, just across the road! If there was any negative comment to make it would only be that noise from the bar downstairs was quite noticeable in our room (2) but it really didn't bother us & there was complete silence after 11.30pm. The staff are really friendly, rates reasonable, food delicious, we would definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
Lisa P

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service and wonderful food !
The pub was very cosy and welcoming - and the staff were all excellent. They were so friendly and helpful and seemed happy to be working there. The food was scrumptious and good value. We loved the atmosphere in the evenings - it seems to be a favourite with locals which is always testament to the quality of the meals and service.
Our room was of a good standard for the price we paid - but the small double bed was a comfort issue for us - bit of a tight fit for 2 - and we are not extra large. I think it must have been only 4 foot 6 inches. It was the only downside to the stay.
I really cannot praise the staff highly enough for their friendliness and positive attitude. They are without a doubt the best staff and owners that I have encountered on my many trips in UK and overseas.

Reviewed by
Amanda Clowe

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Country Hotel
Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. staff were helpful and friendly and the food amazing!

Reviewed by
Elizabeth L

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A cosy village pub with a warm welcome but keep the window shut
We had an evening meal, a comfortable room and breakfast. The staff made us very welcome and made every effort to please. Food was very good pub fare and was served with a smile. Only downside was noise in the early morning onwards from passing traffic, including heavy trucks, which would have been much reduced if we had not left the window open. Overall, excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
JOHN C

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly with great food
About the friendliest accommodation we have ever stayed in staff were very helpful and although busy had time to chat. We visited just before Christmas and the place was beautifully decorated and it was obvious that their food was good as every night they were fully booked. Strangely their menu doesn't do justice to the actual food, the menu seemed basic but the food that was delivered was very good. My husband said it was the best steak he had eaten for a very long time and my fish was lovely.We had a good sized room with ensuite a little dated for our tastes but none the less clean and comfortable with a lovely view of Whittington Castle across the road with ducks on the pond. As Ye Olde Boote is on a surprisingly busy junction we found it was best to keep the front window closed at night the double glazing was however very effective.

Reviewed by
C Mills

From Upminster, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great week end treat
Excellent location ,food is of the best quality and great portions,room was of a good standard,we will use this Inn again .
Well worth a visit.

Reviewed by
ann p

From Buckley, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommended
Great location, friendly hosts, great beer and food.

Reviewed by
C Heaps

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we were made most welcome nothing seemed to much trouble.every effort was made to make our stay enjoyable and indeed it was. food and the service was excellent at a very reasonable price

Reviewed by
Daniel Walker

From Driffield, England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every way .
Accommodation, food, staff,location were all excellent. Ideal place for a weekend break.

Reviewed by
Raymond P

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

midweek family break
A lovely looking public house on the outside and a lovely inside too. Bags of character. Friendly, helpful staff. I would love to stay here again, and would recommend it highly.

Reviewed by
p wogan

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next