No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Frithwood House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
31 Frithwood Avenue, Northwood, Hillingdon, Hillingdon, HA6 3LY
Frithwood House is an Edwardian guesthouse, located in quiet residential surroundings. The style and atmosphere is very relaxed and informal, with all rooms well equipped and comfortable. Guests are also welcome to relax in the hotel's gardens. Frithwood House is within walking distance of RN, RAF & NATO Base - HMS Warrior Northwood Headquarters and the Northwood underground station with easy access to the centre of London. Heathrow Airport is only 20 minutes away by car. A full English breakfast is served every morning and there are tea, coffee and snack facilities available. Free wireless internet is available throughout the hotel.
Picture of Frithwood House, Hillingdon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you're visiting Harry Potter Studios, this is for you! Not bad for theatre goers either!
I stayed at Frithwood House with my boyfriend and friend in a shared room, two single beds and one double. The room had free wifi, a small area for parking at the back of the hotel (but we always had room to park) and complimentary breakfast. I can't review the food as we never actually ate it, the breakfast times are between 7 and 8 in the week and 8 and 9 at the weekends - way too early for a group of 21 year olds! The only other probem I had which was food related was the tea and coffee in the room, it was awful especially if you like a good cuppa in the morning! Bring a few teabags and coffee sachets.
Our needs were pretty simple, we'd travelled to London to go to the Harry Potter museum and see Miss Saigon and Book of Mormon. In terms of location this couldn't have been better; the museum was only 20 minutes away in the car (but beware of rush hour, it starts early and ends late and we didn't compensate for it so we nearly missed our tour!), and there is the Northwood tube station 10 minutes walk away. We got a day ticket for £8.90 which included zones 1-6, so we took the Bakerloo line to Baker Street and then the Metropolitan to Piccadily Circus; we were at the theatre an hour after we left the hotel, perhaps a lengthy journey for some but not too bad.
The only thing I can say about customer service is it was very slick and quiet, we'd arrive back at the room and it would have been cleaned, yet we only saw the owner on our arrival and departure which suited us fine. You get two keys, one for your room and one for the front door, which is great because it means you can come back any time you want. The only bad thing about its location is if you're looking to eat around the area without going into London, we went through an area with shops and saw a couple of restaurants, but couldn't find any parking.
Quality of the room was fine, plenty of clean towels, a kettle (although see previous note about tea and coffee), tv and dvd player, desk, plenty of drawer space, a wardrobe, and two bedside tables. In regard to the tv, sometimes the sound was out of sync with the video, but it always corrected itself after a couple of seconds. It was warm, but as two of the three of us are from the North, anywhere in London feels baking! Leave the windows open while you're out. Room has a small ensuite, shower, toilet and sink. Be delicate with the shower controls, a slight nudge will rocket the temperature. The one thing I would say is that there is no microwave in the room, despite the hotel page claiming there is; we were told that we were free to use the kitchen facilities but we never did.
On the whole, a pleasant guest house which fit the bill for us perfectly. If you're looking for a nice London getaway, this probably isn't the place for you. But if your concern is seeing and enjoying London and spending very little time in the hotel room, this is ideal, especially if you want to avoid those pricey hotels in the centre of London!

Reviewed by
R Harrison

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good B&B for the price
Stayed here for one night for a trip to London & Warner Bros. The hotel is good for the price, £89 for three people with English breakfast. It's nice and clean had crisp clean sheets. TV and free wifi the ground floor room we had was massive with enough room for prob another 3-4 beds!!. The owner was friendly and helpfull. I will def use it again. the tube station is a short walk away straight in to Central London which is why we chose it in the first place.

Reviewed by
P Dobson

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 nights in a heatwave
The hotel is in a pleasant, woody, affluent suburb, and the surroundings were quiet.
The room was adequate for the price, but in need of some repairs.
The en-suite was incredibly cramped, more of an en-wardrobe really. At least the shower was good.

Reviewed by
Peter Simpson

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly what we needed
Booked this at very short notice (an hour!) but all was ready on our arrival. Spacious room, though en suite small. All very clean. Proprietor very welcoming and helpful. Superb breakfast freshly cooked for us. Rooms need cosmetic updating, but good for the money.

Reviewed by
j smith

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A room at least
This looked like a B and B, which I usually like, but was instead a house where nearly every room became part of the 'hotel'. The meals were in sight of where they were cooked and there wasn't a homely feel to anything. Also, there was no information in the foyer or the rooms, so although we had wifi, we didn't see how to login. Staff were friendly enough, but a bit elusive. As a B and B it lacks the at home feel. As a hotel, it lacks the luxury one might expect. Not terrible but disappointing.

Reviewed by
J Drew

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
Room was functional, but paintwork was tired and needed to be cleaned.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the Ritz but just what we needed
We wanted some where quiet and clean to stay to enable us to go into London during the day and meet friends in Watford in the evening. This B&B did just this. The beds were very comfortable - much better than a travelodge and even better than my own. Slept very well!
The room was clean - I could walk bare foot and not have dirty feet. Bathroom was spotless.
The décor could do with a little update and the shower wasn't a powerful one. But, we wanted a comfortable stay and this is what we got. We booked a triple room and stayed in room 1. We had 2 single beds and a double bed all to ours, very spacious and more than we expected.
Breakfast was a full English breakfast every morning, with cereals and toast as well. The host was very accommodating and a joy to be around. Very respectful of our needs and ensured our stay was enjoyable. He even extended our check out to be when ever we needed it to be which meant we didn't need to rush on our final morning.
If you want a clean and comfy place to stay whilst visiting the City, I would definitely recommend this B&B and will be going back if needed in the future.

Reviewed by
Lydia F

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place. Recommend.
Spotlessly clean. Very nice friendly staff. Lovely warm room.

Reviewed by
Fiona B

From Lydney, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay for Harry potter Studios
On arrival we pressed a doorbell and a gentleman let us in. He immediately showed us to our room. The room was the "family" room which was neat and tidy but very shabby. The wardrobe was falling apart - the curtains were hanging off the rails and one side could not be drawn back. Curtains at a smaller window were held up with a bit of mangled wire and you could not draw them open. The bathroom was surface clean but on closer inspection there was grime and mould in the shower cubicle tray and there was splashed liquid stains on the blinds. The fittings were well used with some rust and hard water staining. There was a dirty bin in the bathroom. We asked for a morning call and we did get that and the breakfast was very nice, cereals, juice, coffee, toast and jams and a full english. There was no common room for guests to enjoy - so you could only stay in your rooms which was okay except there was no coffee table and only one chair. The floor was wood flooring and there were no rugs or carpets - so very cold. There was a huge radiator along the main window wall but it was not working but there was a small electric heater provided. It heated the room eventually. The walls in our room were cracked in many places and the paintwork marked and stained in some places. - Overall it was an adequate stay and the one serviceperson we saw throughout our stay was very pleasant but the hotel itself dissappointed us.

Reviewed by
L Lamb

From Ivybridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking
My friends and I stayed at this hotel as a very last minute booking the staff were helpful, beds comfy and breakfast amazing. Very spaceous clean rooms. Lovely stay would go there again, if I was in the area.

Reviewed by
A Brunnock

From Gosport, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next