Reviews - Frithwood House


31 Frithwood Avenue, Northwood, Hillingdon, Hillingdon, HA6 3LY

Price From 177.22 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (13)

69% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • George B

  • October 2015

Frithwood House, character and comfort.

Staying here is a very laid back, informal experience.

The staff are friendly, but you would not know they were there, until you need something, then they respond promptly in a helpful and pleasant manner. The building is old with character, it has not been decorated recently, but this lends to a relaxed, homely ambience. The bedding and bathroom are scrupulously clean. The English breakfast is substantial and well cooked and the staff will provide a variation if requested. An all round pleasant experience.

  • S Hall

  • September 2015

The property looked in need of renervation and a bit of TLC.

Several things needed repairing within our room, however the quality of sleep was good. The food was ok but not brilliant. In a nutshell, you get what you pay for.

  • Suzanne H

  • August 2015

Three Adult Stay

Bathrooms are in need of an update.

Very early breakfast between 7 am and 8 am and not enough room to accommodate all the guests. We booked the family room but were put in two separate rooms, so not impressed.

  • P Webb

  • January 2015

room comfort

basic room not a double what i booked.

two small single beds.

  • R Harrison

  • August 2014

If you're visiting Harry Potter Studios, this is for you! Not bad for theatre goers either!

I stayed at Frithwood House with my boyfriend and friend in a shared room, two single beds and one double.

The room had free wifi, a small area for parking at the back of the hotel (but we always had room to park) and complimentary breakfast. I can't review the food as we never actually ate it, the breakfast times are between 7 and 8 in the week and 8 and 9 at the weekends - way too early for a group of 21 year olds. The only other probem I had which was food related was the tea and coffee in the room, it was awful especially if you like a good cuppa in the morning. Bring a few teabags and coffee sachets.

Our needs were pretty simple, we'd travelled to London to go to the Harry Potter museum and see Miss Saigon and Book of Mormon. In terms of location this couldn't have been better; the museum was only 20 minutes away in the car (but beware of rush hour, it starts early and ends late and we didn't compensate for it so we nearly missed our tour!), and there is the Northwood tube station 10 minutes walk away. We got a day ticket for £8.90 which included zones 1-6, so we took the Bakerloo line to Baker Street and then the Metropolitan to Piccadily Circus; we were at the theatre an hour after we left the hotel, perhaps a lengthy journey for some but not too bad. The only thing I can say about customer service is it was very slick and quiet, we'd arrive back at the room and it would have been cleaned, yet we only saw the owner on our arrival and departure which suited us fine. You get two keys, one for your room and one for the front door, which is great because it means you can come back any time you want. The only bad thing about its location is if you're looking to eat around the area without going into London, we went through an area with shops and saw a couple of restaurants, but couldn't find any parking.

Quality of the room was fine, plenty of clean towels, a kettle (although see previous note about tea and coffee), tv and dvd player, desk, plenty of drawer space, a wardrobe, and two bedside tables. In regard to the tv, sometimes the sound was out of sync with the video, but it always corrected itself after a couple of seconds. It was warm, but as two of the three of us are from the North, anywhere in London feels baking. Leave the windows open while you're out. Room has a small ensuite, shower, toilet and sink. Be delicate with the shower controls, a slight nudge will rocket the temperature. The one thing I would say is that there is no microwave in the room, despite the hotel page claiming there is; we were told that we were free to use the kitchen facilities but we never did. On the whole, a pleasant guest house which fit the bill for us perfectly. If you're looking for a nice London getaway, this probably isn't the place for you. But if your concern is seeing and enjoying London and spending very little time in the hotel room, this is ideal, especially if you want to avoid those pricey hotels in the centre of London.

  • P Dobson

  • August 2014

Good B&B for the price

Stayed here for one night for a trip to London & Warner Bros.

The hotel is good for the price, £89 for three people with English breakfast. It's nice and clean had crisp clean sheets. TV and free wifi the ground floor room we had was massive with enough room for prob another 3-4 beds!!. The owner was friendly and helpfull. I will def use it again. the tube station is a short walk away straight in to Central London which is why we chose it in the first place.

  • Peter Simpson

  • July 2014

2 nights in a heatwave

The hotel is in a pleasant, woody, affluent suburb, and the surroundings were quiet.

The room was adequate for the price, but in need of some repairs. The en-suite was incredibly cramped, more of an en-wardrobe really. At least the shower was good.

  • j smith

  • June 2014

Exactly what we needed

Booked this at very short notice (an hour!) but all was ready on our arrival.

Spacious room, though en suite small. All very clean. Proprietor very welcoming and helpful. Superb breakfast freshly cooked for us. Rooms need cosmetic updating, but good for the money.

  • J Drew

  • June 2014

A room at least

This looked like a B and B, which I usually like, but was instead a house where nearly every room became part of the 'hotel'.

The meals were in sight of where they were cooked and there wasn't a homely feel to anything. Also, there was no information in the foyer or the rooms, so although we had wifi, we didn't see how to login. Staff were friendly enough, but a bit elusive. As a B and B it lacks the at home feel. As a hotel, it lacks the luxury one might expect. Not terrible but disappointing.

  • Peter W

  • June 2014

Business trip

Room was functional, but paintwork was tired and needed to be cleaned.