Reviews - The Cricketers Arms


The Cricketers Arms, Rickling Green, Saffron Walden, Stansted, CB11 3YG

Price From 287.18 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (20)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Lee M

  • June 2015

The Cricketers Arms

A Charming Country B&B, would def recommend for a scenic stay.

Room was immaculate and v comfortable/nicely kitted out.

  • J Loone

  • March 2015


Our visit was to celebrate our Diamond Wedding Anni.

We requested a nice room, booking a superior one. However it was a dark unwelcoming room, with no drawers, and only three coat hangers between two. . The window was alongside a high hedge, the window was opaqued out so you couldnt see out anyway. No landline telephone as advertised. The breakfast was poor cold, uncooked porridge, precooked sausage and warmed up, horrible. Second morning, No Eggs, say no more. do not think we will return. They know of our complaints.and did compensate, but the anniversary event was spoiled.

  • B Massey

  • March 2015

Hidden gem.

We chose the Cricketers Arms as a staging post on the way to Canterbury from North Yorkshire.

What a beautiful location, shame we were not staying longer. Great atmosphere in the pub, nice to see so many locals. Rooms were impressive and comfortable. Overall a really good place for a break or en-route to the far south. Hope we can visit again some time.

  • D Hartley

  • January 2015


No bath as described.

Window on ground floor didn't shut properly - not good for a single women resident

Breakfast not till 7.30am bit late for business visitors

  • Howard D

  • January 2015

Another pleasant stay

Have stayed here regularly over the past 2 years and it is always a pleasant stay.

The Cricketers Arms is not perfect but ticks enough boxes for my repeat business. The staff are always helpful, obliging and friendly which does make a difference. The food is really good, though as a pub with rooms it is more along the lines of a gastro pub with prices to match. You have to be careful about some of the specials as they appear to be better value but you actually don't get that much on the plate. The downside is, mobile signal is not great and there are no phones in the room. It has wireless internet but that's a bit random and weak so don't expect to stream anything or do any work that requires a good connection. The cold Buffet selection is a bit weak though cooked is very good, not sure if they understand about healthy breakfasts. Most rooms only have a shower so you are in trouble if you like a bath. The location is interesting as it over looks the village green and is next door a school. So can be interesting getting away in the morning if your timing coincides with the school arrivals.

  • S Royston

  • November 2014

Lovely Clean Modern accomodation and very friendly staff

I had a very pleasant overnight stay, and wasn't surprised as I have used the hotel before.

No need to look for a restaurant for your evening meal, as the food is excellent. I was particularly touched by the friendless of the staff, who after discovering I had no signal on my mobile, allowed me to make & accept phone calls on the landline. Which was very important for me, as I was awaiting news of the birth of my grandson. After the event my husband and I were given a complimentary glass of champagne. It was a lovely gesture and would like to thank everyone very much.


  • November 2014

Over Night Stay

They were very welcoming and we had an enjoyable stay.

However our room was near the emergency exit to the car park which people seemed to use late at night and the shower room did not have an extractor fan. We only booked for one night as we were visiting our daughter for the weekend . It is expensive for bed and breakfast but on a par with everywhere else around Stanstead. It is in a nice village with walks to open countryside.

  • B Massey

  • November 2014

Great choice

We needed a nice place to stay en route for the South of England, better than a basic chain hotel, so this turned out to be a great choice.

The location and facilities were spot on. We particularly liked the upmarket pub and the excellent food, and the room itself was spotless. The staff were lovely.

  • M Green

  • October 2014

Great place to stay.

Lovely village location.

  • Terry Dakin

  • September 2014

the stay

Staff all very friendly and helpful, quiet area and good night sleep had by all, very good breakfast and evening meals were good