No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - THE KINGS ARMS

4Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
Kings Arms , Thirsk, YO7 4RW
Welcome!
Sandhutton is a small and pretty village near Thirsk in the Hambleton district of North Yorkshire, and has a charming green and an interesting church. The King's Arms Pub has been the village's social hub since the early 1800s, and offers a choice range of food and drink to all who seek a taste of traditional Yorkshire hospitality.

Alex Boynton and his father Raymond re-opened The King's Arms in Sandhutton in 2006 as a new joint venture which has been exceptionally successful and also involves other Boynton family members. After an initial refurbishment, the pub is now undergoing substantial expansion and updating to offer our customers even more comfort and good service.

Both of them have extensive experience of hotels and restaurants, especially of cooking delicious food. Raymond has been in the hotel and restaurant business for more than 40 years, and until recently owned and ran, in partnership with his brother, a successful country inn and restaurant, where Alex also started his career. Alex now has more than 14 years experience and has developed his own style of cuisine and hospitality which he offers at The King's Arms.

What We Do
The King's Arms is a modern pub and restaurant, but with a traditional outlook. We offer locally brewed real ales and an extensive range of fine wines and spirit, but what we really pride ourselves on is providing excellent reasonably priced restaurant food. Our emphasis is on simple but well cooked meals, which show the quality of our locally sourced products including meat or fish you choose yourself from our display cabinet, and organic vegetables grown only 4 miles away!

Picture of THE KINGS ARMS, Thirsk at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one of the best evening meals we have ever had
friendly staff, good beer, excellent food

Reviewed by
ian hall

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break

Reviewed by
P Wood

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
What a gem we found , no need for a l;ot of words, First class welcome , spotless throughout,
food , dont take my word , just book and enjoy.We will be there on the 20th July for some more of this first class p[unishment after Newby Classic Car Show.
Very Be4st Regards David & Eileen Tuke [Aston Martin Owners]

Reviewed by
DAVID TUKE

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a gem
A great place. Fantastic service, really interesting and high quality dining experience. Will definitely stay again if I am in the area. Marvellous

Reviewed by
Peter E

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful Pub with rooms
Lovely setting and nice quiet village. The rooms were spotless, excellent beds and shower all you need for a few nights stay. The food at dinner was well presented and most of it local produce, with a good choice of dishes at reasonable prices.

Reviewed by
tracey g

From crawley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekenders
A lovely pub in the middle of a lovely place, bar staff, chef, even the taxi driver were all brilliant.staff even phoned us before our stay to ask if we,d need a taxi booking.never had people bother that much before.quick stay but would definatley stay again,happy helpful friendly welcoming what more can I say.thanks for a lovely weekend.

Reviewed by
Ian E

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Kings Arms, Sandhutton near Thirsk North Yorkshire
A lovely place to stay. I wish it had been longer than one night. In a lovely little hamlet just outside of Thirsk

Reviewed by
R Turnbull

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent accomadaation and food was great

Reviewed by
David Longden

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would stay again
very pleasent aproach to the choice given by the chef.

Reviewed by
Brian Hepworth

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a must visit if your around north yorkshire
Excellent accommodation very friendly staff n mouth watering food would recommend the crab salad

Reviewed by
susan t

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next