No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Penhelig Arms

5Visit Wales Assessed Inn Ratings explained
27-29 Terrace Road , Aberdovey, LL35 0LT
Penhelig Arms - the small hotel with a big reputation in the heart of Aberdovey. The Penhelig Arms has been in business since the 18th century and offers spectacular views over the tidal Dyfi estuary. Indeed, in the summer months the Penhelig’s own seating area opposite is the place to enjoy the fine views and sunsets. Great food is served in the Fisherman’s Bar or waterfront Restaurant and the brasserie-style menu is strong on fresh fish – bass and bream arriving straight from the quay, backed up by Welsh beef and lamb. In winter a real log fire welcomes all to the wood-panelled Fisherman’s Bar – the perfect place to relax and unwind after a hard day’s fishing, golf, walking or sightseeing.
Within the hotel itself there is a range of attractive, individually decorated rooms, complete with all modern facilities - and almost all with beautiful sea views; these rooms retain the style and character of this historic inn.
Additionally the spacious Bodhelig suites with enormous bathrooms, designated parking spaces and personal patios or balconies, and Penhelig House – on two levels with two bath/shower rooms, private patio and designated parking space are ideal for that special occasion.
Please note: table reservations for Dinner (Restaurant) and Evening Meal (Fisherman's Bar) MUST be made in advance to ensure a table is made available for you. Tables are NOT automatically reserved for guests staying on a b&b basis.
Picture of Penhelig Arms, Aberdovey at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great all round hotel
Wi-Fi that works, in all rooms! Great food, good customer service. Room good, powerful showers and bath towels that are actually worthy of the name!

Reviewed by
S Smith

From Heathfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What has happened to the lovely old girl by the sea !
O Dear-we have known and loved the "Pen" for MANY years now and have stayed several times but sadly will not be doing so again. It is basically just a room above a pub now and so not worth the money. Furniture is miss-matched, marks on the walls, chairs had dirt on them etc etc but perhaps the most telling moment came when an incorrect meal was brought to me . I pointed out twice that it was not what I ordered but was met by just shrugged shoulders and the comment " Well the chef is very busy tonight " !! I stay in over 100 hotels in a year and this as gone from one of the best to one of the worst. What a shame because it is a fantastic building in a fantastic location. Come on the Pen you can do better than this.

Reviewed by
J Herbert

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely port in a storm
Very friendly, in the storm. Fab breakfast

Reviewed by
Jacqui R

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable after hiccup
everything good after we aventually got the room we booked but it cost me a extra £15.alas the £85 we booked showed the dearer room.they agreed to review there web site. one member of staff needs to be retrained,but the rest were excellent.

Reviewed by
RC LEWIS

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Accommodation
We only spent one night in a Bodhelig Suite with a balcony. Really nice room and very comfortable, great shower and clean and high quality.

Reviewed by
Paul T

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Aberdovey
Enjoyed our stay great estuary and mountain views

Reviewed by
John Beavan

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two Fine Days in Aberdovey
An enjoyable stay with no major hang-ups. The street lighting in the road outside is bright at night and penetrates the bedroom blinds and there's some traffic noise, too. Parking is limited to a lay-by that can hold 5 cars in the main road opposite the hotel. The management might consider taking action on their neighbours who use it despite the "Residents Only" sign. There is, however, free ovenight parking in a public car park 100 yards down the road.

Reviewed by
Peter Q

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A view worth booking for!
view from bedroom stunning bedroom very comfortable.The food was excellent very high quality and very good value.Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Patricia E

From Llantwit Major, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location and pleasant enough place to stay. However the room was very cold, the carpet was extremely low quality and grubby looking and the hot water and shower were erratic. The breakfast was ok quantity wise, but very greasy and there was no vegetarian option, merely the 'full English' minus the meat, which is rather annoying.

Reviewed by
Amanda B

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel lovely location
Hotel was very clean and comfortable, friendly staff. Room no 6 was very small but we were made aware of this on booking. The room although small had an en-suite, with sea view and met our needs for a one night stay. Breakfast was standard British fayre well cooked and well presented. Would recommend this hotel, most rooms have a sea view. Outside there is an elevated seating area with sea views, perfect for an early morning coffee or late night drink. Would definitely stay again but would book a larger room.

Reviewed by
Julie M

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next