No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper’s Lodge Hornchurch

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Railway Ember Inn, Station Lane, Hornchurch, RM12 6SB
This Essex lodge is ideal if you’re looking for a hotel near to London. Set in pleasant Hornchurch, just off the M25 near Dagenham, it’s less than an hour to Oxford Street via Hornchurch Underground and only a short drive from West Ham FC.

With Dagenham Conference Centre on the doorstep, the lodge’s 12 comfy, welcoming rooms are a convenient base for business as well as pleasure. After a hard day’s work or indeed sightseeing, you can sit back in our cosy pub and enjoy a well-earned tipple with some hearty, freshly prepared food.

It goes without saying that you’ll find a world of shopping, museums and entertainment in London. But you’ll find plenty to do in Essex too. Shopaholics are only half an hour’s drive from Bluewater and Lakeside, music fans can see what’s on at the O2 arena, while wildlife lovers can meander through Epping Forest, the largest public open space in Greater London.

Nearby you can take in a play at the Queen’s Theatre or have a flutter at Romford Greyhound Centre – one of the few remaining dog tracks in London.

*Please note that only children aged 14 and over can dine in our pub, and only when accompanied by an adult.
Picture of Innkeeper’s Lodge Hornchurch, Hornchurch at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the good, bad and ugly
The good. Nice welcome, clean room, good beer, party food great. We went for a wedding reception.
The bad. No milk in room, poor lights in bathroom. Single glazing so late night noise a problem.
The ugly. Breakfast and evening meals served in the bar which was very noisy in the evening. At all times the bar smells of stale beer and toilets. The gents was not pleasant, situated in the middle of the bar and the door did not close properly. We therefore gave breakfast a miss.

Reviewed by
Allan A

From Kingsbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good sized room, comfortable bed, and clean room.
Having pub/restaurant on site is ideal.

Reviewed by
Roger P

From Stanmore, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for tube

Reviewed by
A Thomas

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed one night to attend a friends birthday party
Room was very clean. The staff we came into contact with were pleasant. There was a party in the function room, which could be heard in the rooms - but as we were out at similar function it didnt impact our stay. Slightly confusing that the pub is known by two names,The Railway & Innkeepers lodge. I think its very good value for 'london' accommodation.

Reviewed by
c warren

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable ..
I'm afraid I didn't spend much time in the room. That said, the hotel is perfectly located for the underground into the city and I had no problems returning late.
The room was well-sized, clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was perfect for me but I can imagine others may wish to have a cooked alternative.

Reviewed by
David C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great nights sleep!
Room was spacious, comfortable and quiet with extra pillows provided, probably the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel! All staff really pleasant and friendly, buffet style continental breakfast had lots to choose from.
On the downside, bathroom could have been cleaner (floor around and behind the toilet had not been cleaned for some time) shower did not work and hot water only just hot enough for a bath.
An enjoyable, pleasant stay and good value for money

Reviewed by
Susan S

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in London
Room was small but adequate. Very clean. Function room was hosting pub quiz so did hear the speaker until 12.30 but otherwise fairly quiet. Breakfast was very good, lots of variety and plentiful.

Reviewed by
Karen G

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
The night that we stayed there was a function that didn't end until gone midnight. We could clearly hear the music from our room which was a little annoying. Other than that it was adequate for the price paid.

Reviewed by
D Atkins

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed for a night
Good value. served its purpose. slept well.

Reviewed by
mark l

From Royston, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay! Nice clean room friendly staff!

Reviewed by
S Callary

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next