No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Brathay Lodge

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Brathay Lodge, Rothay Road , Ambleside, LA22 0EE
Family run Lakes B & B with scenic views over Wansfell and Loughrigg. Free Parking / Wi-Fi. Short walk to Ambleside shops and restaurants or Lake Windermere. Brathay Lodge is very well located for walkers, mountain bikers and golfers visiting the Lake District. Rooms at Brathay Lodge are spread over 4 floors, with access using stairs. Some rooms have Lakeland views and balconies. Fair trade tea and coffee with biscuits are available in the rooms whilst all bathrooms have luxurious spa baths with showers over. Use of nearby leisure facilities available. A continental buffet breakfast is served each morning in the warmly decorated dining room.
Picture of Brathay Lodge, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay. Good choice of food for the continental breakfast. Only place where we have stayed where you are able to take hot food takeaways back to. Rooms clean and tidy. Staff really friendly. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mini break at Bowness and Ambleside 28th July to 29th July.
We found the hotel to be friendly,very professionally run and the proprietor was knowledge of local events,places to see.The accommodation was excellent the whirlpool bath was particularly a relaxing treat.The bed was comfortable and the room of ample size for a couple.I would highly recommend this hotel situated in a beautiful location and with ample free parking yet close to Ambleside shops.

Reviewed by
Steve Anderson

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast
Had a great time in Ambleside

Reviewed by
C Eastham

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful views from the top!
Excellent accommodation, clean and tidy. The host was very helpful too and had a great sense of humour!!!

Reviewed by
Sally H

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brathay Lodge
We received a very warm welcome from the proprietor and staff. Our room was very clean and homely - a little small, but it was well laid out and the roomy bathroom with super shower and jacuzzi bath made up for it. Breakfast was lovely - well prepared and lots of choice,including healthy options. The location was perfect - very near Ambleside town centre with a car park. The guest info provided in the room was very helpful and comprehensive. The only downside was the lack of a lift, but the proprietor and staff were more than willing to assist with luggage.

Reviewed by
nicola hoyle

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brathay Lodge
Warm welcome and very comfortable spacious room with some nice special touches.

Reviewed by
Fiona K

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Accommodation very good. Service excellent. Would recommend anyone to stay. We will go back.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Dawes

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B in excellent location
Great B&B with very friendly staff, rooms are clean and comfortable with fantastic views over the green.
It would be a nice touch to have a small fridge in the room, as you are welcomed to eat there and bring food back,
Would also have preferred a cooked breakfast, but thats personal preferenc, and didn't detract from a lovely filling continental breakfast.
Overall great stay and lovely weekend.
Minor point, when looking at the Brathay Lodge website, be careful not to be confused by the pictures of a pool, this is not at Brathay itself, slightly misleading.

ManagementResponse

Joanne, thank you for the review and your kind words towards Brathay Lodge glad you enjoyed your stay. Have had a look at the description under the facilities page for access to the leisure facilities’ which explains the short drive however to assist we have altered the bar across the picture to also include ‘a short drive’. Regards, Trevor, Brathay Lodge, Ambleside

Reviewed by
jOANNE F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok but dissapointing
was dissapointed to get a pokey attic room which was supposed to be a superior double. was also dissapointed to get a continental breakfast instead of a cooked breakfast (although this partly my fault for assuming and not checking). however, staff friendly and helpful. no real issues just a bit dissapointed.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with part of your stay at Brathay Lodge (Guest Accommodation). The style of breakfast we serve has been unique to the area and successful over the last 10 years hence why we have no reason not to continue in this way. I can only apologise when Darren made the reservation that it hadn’t been noticed. Regarding the size of your room they are generally regarded for the area as being above the average size with over half of our rooms’ approx. 36 square metres. Unfortunately due to us being at capacity on the night of your stay we were unable to offer you an alternative. All guest feedback is valuable and we hope you will allow us an opportunity with a visit to the lakes once again. Regards, David, Owner

Reviewed by
d wilkinson

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot weather at the Lakes
A general comment: why do all hotels have the same duvet year round. Glad we brought a sheet as that was all that we needed in the heat.
Lovely big room with windows on two sides and views across the park.

Reviewed by
Peter T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next