No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Farmers Arms

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Gatherley Road, Brompton on Swale, , Richmond, DL10 7HZ
With many years of experience in the food and drink industry, the Farmers Arms offers an eclectic A'la carte menu to tantalise any taste buds, a fine selection of wines and cask ales, a welcoming atmosphere, traditional country style en-suite accommodation and a Sunday carvery of un-beatable value to customers throughout the local area and beyond. Founded in the 1700s, the bar/restaurant started out as a Coaching Inn but has developed into a wonderful eatery for all patrons near and far and is situated in Brompton on Swale (Richmond). The Farmers Arms aims to provide every customer with a professional and curtious customer service, to meet and exceed expectations of food, wine, accommodation and hospitality and has a separate, lounge, bar and restaurant to suit all customers needs, traditional country En-suite accommodation, a child's play area and a large and beautiful beer garden. The expert staff allow customers to enjoy great food and drink in a welcoming atmosphere and provide the highest standards of service. The Farmers Arms provides the correct ambiance and proffesionalism to meet and exceed all expectations, whether it be for a quiet meal with a loved one, a family function, a bite to eat with the kids, or a drink with friends or colleagues every time.
Picture of The Farmers Arms, Richmond at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was comfortable, clean and I was given a very warm welcome. It was quite quiet which considering the volume of traffic going past and over the bridge was quite amazing. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly. I wish I had realised that the pub had rooms before and next time I go racing at Catterick I shall endeavour to stay at the Farmer's Arms. A particularlly pleasant memory is seeing all the rabbits running round the Beer Garden before breakfast on the morning of my departure.

Reviewed by
Barbara H

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food and a warm welcome
We booked 2 nights here for a trip to Catterick races and Aysgarth falls . Room was comfortable and clean. The pub does excellent food so make sure you are hungry! Portions are generous. The staff were really polite and friendly .Would use the farmers arms again.

Reviewed by
Mike M

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Breakfast!
It's not the country pub I was expecting, but the accommodation was absolutely adequate for my needs. If the A1M is shut traffic diverts past the Pub so worth checking. I didn't really get to experience the Pub as I was only using it as a place to stay-getting there late and leaving early in the morning, but the staff couldn't have been more helpful and the English Breakfast was substantial! Thank you.

Reviewed by
Anthony K

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable stay
The hotel was easy to find with a large carpark. Our room was recently decorated and very clean, the downsides being a tv that wouldnt tune in and a slightly lopsided bed! Breakfast was tasty and well prepared, however there was a limited choice with no option for cereal/continental breakfast. Generally or comfortable, enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Luke T

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced
Cobwebs in the bathroom. Shower running hot and cold. Loose floorboards. Very noisy.

Reviewed by
J Brown

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was excellent, room was very noisy from the front of the Pub / Hotel. Checking in was also an issue 12 - 2pm or after 6pm?

Reviewed by
Thomas D

From Bootle, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, good food but the decor in the bedroom was scary like a tarts bedroom!
Lovely staff, good wines and beer. A little noisy but it is pub. The décor in the bedroom was terrible not relaxing and too loud. Hot water with good shower

Reviewed by
john b

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed here for one night, staying in the family room between visiting Forbidden Corner and Flamingo Land and it was convenient for both.
The room was lovely - recently decorated, clean with an adjoining room for the children to sleep in. We also ate in the pub and the staff were fantastic - very friendly and accommodating.
The only negative was that the room was road side and it was a little noisy - for us, not for the children!

Reviewed by
Rachel R

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

FARMERS ARMS REVIEW
Highly recommended for an evening meal, excellent food, excellent service and nice ambience. The room I was allocated was at the front adjacent to a busy road and I am not acclimatised to traffic noise. The room was big and came with all the amenities us Brits are used to. Breakfast could be improved with the addition of fresh fruit, the rest was OK.

Reviewed by
BRIAN YARKER

From Dumbarton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little hotel, friendly atmosphere, very nice helpful staff who is happy to give advice on the local attractions. Good value for money, I definitely recommend it!

Reviewed by
Katarzyna S

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next