Reviews - The Farmers Arms


Gatherley Road, Brompton on Swale,, Richmond, DL10 7HZ

Price From 129.18 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jeannette G

  • September 2015

Excellent in every way

We stayed for just 1 night, we would happily return to the Farmers Arms.

From the minute we walked in to check in we were greeted pleasantly and treated as a friend not a customer. We were given details about breakfast and asked if we wanted to book a table for the evening. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Plenty of hot water and no problems with the shower as had been reported on other reviews. The evening meal was to die for. Enormous portions and proper chips, which is unusual. Only one drawback, no room for dessert. The breakfast was great and set us up for the day. The staff that work at the Farmer Arms are all so friendly. We will definitely stay again.

  • C Speirs

  • September 2015

A one-night stay

We enjoyed by far the best quality pub meal we have ever eaten; absolutely outstanding.

The staff were friendly and efficient, although we weren't offered a free drink with the steak (we noticed the promotion the next morning). The room was nice and the bed comfortable, but the en-suite was cramped and the shower base filled with water during showering. We had been warned this could be a rare problem, and to flush the toilet if this happened but it made no difference. There was no manager available in the morning to talk to about it. All the same, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Alan D

  • September 2015

Very nice

Just what I was looking for, a nice room for the night and very friendly staff.

Would recommend.

  • Lauren t

  • August 2015

Good value

Stayed here two nights with a friend as we were doing the Krypton factor in Richmond.

When we arrived we got checked in quickly, room was well presented, plenty of plug sockets which alot of places lack so this was great, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, telly etc. One of the downsides was the toilet in the bathroom, did not flush very well you had to do it 3 and 4 times. Also the location of this place is on a fairly busy road so it was quite noisy through the night. Also when we arrived we got a piece of paper to fill in our breakfast requests and what time we would be down, great variety and plenty to choose from. Definitely worth the money.

  • W Edwards

  • August 2015

Perfect for a short break

From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome, we were shown to our room before settling down for a drink in the bar.

When we settled down for dinner in the evening nothing was too much trouble for members of staff.

  • J Every

  • August 2015

The Farmers Arms

Friendly staff, great value for money.

Evening meal excellent and breakfast filling. Shall certainly stay again.

  • Susan C

  • July 2015

Disappointing end to the stay

Ratings would have been higher but for poor end to the stay.

Budget room in a self contained corridor of rooms above the pub. Decoration fine, linen and towels clean, ensuite had toiletries in but floorboards really weak in places which was a little frightening at times. Very friendly staff upon arrival and a decent, no frills but well cooked evening meal in the pub beer garden. Arranged breakfast for 7.30am but no one around and the ground floor of the pub locked with no sign of life. After 10 minutes of circling the pub knocking on every door including the kitchen - still no one around so had to post the keys through the letterbox and leave without any breakfast. Rang later to check they had the keys and phone answered by the cheff who apologised for being late but had been held up. Understand this happens but a) disappointing as had paid for something I didn't get; b) they didn't ring me to apologise and c) no offer of any recompense at all.

Had tried to email the hotel but the email address on the website doesn't work either.

  • L Haigh

  • June 2015

Farmers Arms Stay

We put on the booking form that we would be arriving at 2:00 pm and when we arrived at about 2:15 pm they were about to close.

It does say on the booking conditions that the pub is closed from 3:00 pm 'til 6:00 pm and so this is when it should be closed, not just after 2:00 pm. This pub was on a main road and the traffic was fairly noisy but we were out and about most of the day. It was fairly quiet on a night. The room was spacious and nice and clean although the plumbing was a bit dodgy. The toilet didn't flush every time. Had full English Breakfast both days and the portions were big so kept us going for best part of the day!

  • martin s

  • May 2015


All staff were brilliant.Breakfast n evening meals were supurb.Would stay again.

  • Jean D

  • May 2015

Wonderful stay

Great place, friendly staff, lovely food and good value