You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Devonport Hotel

3

16-18 The Front, Middleton One Row,, Darlington, DL2 1AS

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (21)

90% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • C Parry

  • June 2016

Comfy Beds, awful showers.

Room 4 Comfortable beds although curtains needed replacing as they did not meet.

I was woken at 5.30 am when the boilers started up as I was next to the boiler house, shower was cold, was advised they take 10 mins to heat but still cold after I left running during breakfast so was moved to room 5. Room 5 was a lovely comfortable rooms still unable to get a good shower as the water was just about tepid. Great food send helpful staff, no management available when I had problems with my room but the waitress was very helpful.

  • steve k

  • June 2016

Devonport Hotel

The hotel was brilliant staff very friendly and helpful, bathroom a bit old and could go with updating but it was adequate.

  • J Buckley

  • May 2016

Sadly Disappointing

On arrival outside the hotel it looked lovely, the exterior is well maintained and welcoming,not a lot of parking in the hotel car park which is at the front but unrestricted parking on the main road directly outside so it's not an issue.

On entering the hotel/bar/restaurant we continued to be pleased, again well maintained and welcoming. The staff were also very friendly. Check in was hassle free and we opened our room in eager anticipation ( Room 4 ) ...what a disappointment.

The room is on the ground floor at the back of the hotel and is tiny,it would be more suited to a single and still wouldn't be great.

The bed is immediately in front of you as you enter with just enough clearance to open the door,the bed is also under the window overlooking a rather sad beer garden.

I headed back to reception and we were moved to room 9 on the first floor,an improvement but still not great,while the room is obviously freshly painted it still seems a little shabby, the furniture is old fashioned and when I opened the wardrobe the knot came off in my hand-it looked like it was a failed " no nails " repair. The curtains are paper thin so light streamed in early, light also streamed in through the door from the corridor outside, the room was at the front of the house on the edge of a road and although not excessively busy was still noisy enough to cause some disturbance, we stayed 2 nights and slept poorly on both. The bathroom is dated with a wooden toilet seat ( not hygienic in my opinion), the power shower was amazing but sadly I couldn't use it to the full advantage as the shower screen was inadequate and I felt it would end up with a flood situation. Cleanliness was not great- the room didn't look like it has been hoovered nor the bathroom floor cleaned and the toilet on the landing, well the less said the better. Breakfast was lovely, a selection of fruit juices, cereal and yogurt from the buffet and then choice of hot food off the menu. Some attention to the buffet is needed as we had to ask for milk, butter and orange juice as it has run out. The full breakfast was lovely and the scrambled egg the best I've tasted. It is not the worst place we have stayed but it left us disappointed and we will not be returning, a shame really as the staff and the food were lovely.

  • R Wilkinson

  • May 2016

A great place to stay

The Devonport is a lovely place to stay situated on the banks of the River Tees.

The room we had was large with a comfortable large bed. The food was excellent, dinner and breakfast, and the cask beers well kept. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Meal service was prompt with staff being attentive. All combined it provided us with a most enjoyable overnight stay. We will of course stay at the Devonport on future visits to the area.

  • Paul S

  • April 2016

Excellent vakue for money

Good value / Good food / Attentive sfaff

  • Alison L

  • March 2016

Fabulous!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, although just for 1 night, we are hard pushed to find fault with anything.

The staff were most welcoming on arrival, our room was very spacious, clean and tastefully decorated, the food in the bar was outstanding, as was the full english the next morning. Would absolutely not hesitate to stay here again, thanks for marvellous hospitality!

  • Robert T

  • January 2016

Excellent

Excellent hotel, room, welcome, service, breakfast, evening meal, parking -----everything excellent.

  • Terry Fenton

  • July 2015

A Peaceful Haven

A fabulous location for stop-over or longer stay.

Good food reasonably priced. The front room had a great view over the river. On-suite rather tired but clean. Would stay again.

  • Dani R

  • April 2015

Very friendly

Staff wonderful.

Food was great - my husband said it was the best full english he had ever had. Evening meal good too - and great value for money. Lovely comfortable bar and great music - rock - not blasting though. Lovely view from the tables outside. Room a bit basic though clean. Our view seemed to be a pile of rubbish at the rear of the hotel, but then we were only there to sleep so wasn't too bothered. I imagine there would be wonderful views from a room at the front. Bathroom felt a bit like I imagine prison to be - very white, stark and echoey - but again very clean. Overall really good value for money - we paid £60 for two of us bed and fantastic breakfast. Would definitely recommend if you're not looking for a luxury room. Would go just for a meal too.

  • Mick Bedford

  • March 2015

Devonport Hotel

1st time I've stayed here but was very impressed with the friendliness of staff and excellent food quality.