No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Devonport Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
16-18 The Front, Middleton One Row, , Darlington, DL2 1AS
Welcome to the Devonport Hotel. The Devonport offers our guests spacious comfortable en-suite rooms in a traditional hotel overlooking the picturesque banks of the River Tees. Its location, midway between Darlington and Yarm, make it an ideal base for touring Teesdale, Weardale and North Yorkshire, while the business traveller will find it a quiet haven for their overnight stays. Visitors to Darlington have the opportunity to shop in its more than 500 retail outlets, the Victorian covered market and a vibrant outdoor market on Saturdays and Mondays or discover Britain's railway heritage at the Railway Centre and Museum. While those visiting Yarm can admire its scenic High Street with its pretty pantile roofs and Georgian frontages, take a stroll on the widest cobbled street in England or enjoy its lively nightlife. Or you may prefer to stay in our friendly bar which serves fine wines, real ales and an extensive choice of liqueurs and spirits. Food is served all day in our comfortable lounge or restaurant. The dishes on our gastro pub menu are freshly made from locally sourced products from within a 25 mile radius of the hotel by our Head Chef Paul Ockleford. Non-residents are very welcome. Our attractive function room is the ideal venue for a family event or special occasion as we can offer a range of catering options to make these memorable events and a choice of seating arrangements to suit. We look forward to welcoming you to our Hotel..
Picture of Devonport Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just great value for money.
Just a nice friendly place to stay, great food, staff fantastic, can't wait to return.

Reviewed by
G BATCHELOR

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
Helpful, happy staff. Easy atmosphere. Room large, slightly old, but clean. Would have liked side lights on both sides of the bed (minor quibble). Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
David N

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devonport Hotel
Very pleasant and helpful staff, a clean and comfortable room and great food. It is an attractive building in a pleasant setting and the beer is good. We ate a couple of evenings and the food was good value and better than your average pub food. Pub quiz on Wednesday and Sunday is fun, especially when you win a share of the jackpot. We would be happy to stay again.

Reviewed by
Jeff Hoyle

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic friendly hotel
As it was my partner’s birthday I decided to book this hotel via the internet. And was I glad I did.
From the minute I arrived at the reception to check in I knew I had made the right decision.
The room was lovely and spacious with a nice bathroom and a powerful shower. The fact that it overlooked the patio area with its lovely setting was a bonus.
We decided to have a snack for lunch and opted for the “Davenport sharing board”...............what a delight. I won’t spoil the surprise so try it yourself, you won’t be disappointed!
In the evening I choose the “Devonport pie” while “she who must be fed” choose “Chicken Parmesan” were large portions, beautifully cooked and presented which was served by courteous and professional staff.
Wait till you try the breakfast, when they say a full English they mean a full English. A great choice of fruit juices and cereals followed by the best cooked breakfast I have had in a long time.

It is not for the fainthearted, we got bacon, two poached eggs, sausage, hash brownie, black pudding and beans. There was also plenty of toast and freshly ground coffee on offer.
If I ever consider opening a hotel there is not one member of staff whom I would not employ, well done to a fantastic hard working team!!!!!
I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to my friends and family.
Regards,
Glen & Maureen (Cramlington)
PS I am off to join a gym to rid myself of this excess weight...........lol

Reviewed by
Glen Gillies

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Backroom
The hotel was fine, the room had 1 window with a small opener and a view of the car park so the curtain was closed all of the time and no air flow but for a noisy electric fan which kept me awake all night.

Reviewed by
j hare

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devonport stay
Devonport in very pleasant surroundings. comfortable basic room, although rather warm in summer due to heating/vent in room despite radiator being turned off.
pleasant staff and good food.
standard off cleanliness v.good.

Reviewed by
Virginia L

From East grinstead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Great location and very friendly village pub. Food is cooked to order and very good value

Reviewed by
Pat Mee

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel, beautiful views. The staff were friendly and service was great. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Reviewed by
S Fairhurst

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff good food great beer and lovely location

Reviewed by
John Bowie

From Middlewich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in a great location
My partner and I stayed at the hotel for two nights whilst attending a race meeting at Croft. The hotel is the ideal location for the track and we couldn't praise the staff enough. The food was always good and the room was lovely. We would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
L Foster

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next