No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Oak Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
South Street , Leominster, HR6 8JA
The Royal Oak is a small friendly town centre hotel & bar and is positioned in the town of Leominster in Herefordshire. Leominster, "The Town in the Marches", is located in the heart of the beautiful border countryside, where England and Wales nudge each other back and forth along Offa's Dyke.

The Royal Oak is the perfect place for short breaks, a base to explore the area and family get-aways in the heart of England.

There is an Indian restaurant within the building, so you can enjoy a tasty meal without having to leave the comfort of the hotel.

Our room rates start at £25 for single occupancy in a budget room. These rooms have en-suite baths and do NOT have a TV.

We have doubles, twins and triples with en-suite showers and TV’s for £35 (single occupancy)

The Bridal Suite has a four-poster-bed, full Sky TV and an en-suite bathroom with bath and shower and costs £65.

Payment is processed upon arrival unless otherwise requested
Picture of Royal Oak Hotel, Leominster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
44% recommended this accommodation to a friend 47% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful...not the ritz..but fine for the price...room 21...free tea and coffee making facilities....own bathroom...bed ok...staff very friendly

Reviewed by
s hunt

From Leominster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgracefully misrepresented
The hotel is NOTHING like the management photos - it was dirty, damp, broken and very unhygienic at an even basic level. Most definitely unsuitable for your children, in fact, anyone!

Reviewed by
Andrew Ostrowski

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful!
I was initially worried after reading some of the reviews but due to a tight budget and late booking went ahead. I was pleasently surprised, the staff were friendly and although the rooms are not to the highest of standards we had no problems, especially for the price I have no complaints!

Reviewed by
Elizabeth M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worry
The staff were friendly but overworked. The room was very small, no TV, but good Wifi. The toilet plunger had been removed apparently by an earlier client, and a broken splintered wood mat left behind the door. There was no fire exit info in the room although we were on the 2nd floor.
Downstairs the seats and sofas were beyond refurbishment, and there was a huge chip off the loo tank in the ladies.
The staff did their best to respond and deal with local drinking clientele.
I hope they manage to address the safety and refurbishment problems. Better to put the price up a bit than to risk life and limb.

Reviewed by
Catherine M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor
we were shown upto the room the door looked like the police had put it through, when pushed whilst locked a huge gap was made, awful smell coming from the bathroom, a good hoover needed around the bed. Mattress we could feel every single spring. Water pressure in the shower none existent hot water took ages to come through. Glad the children weren't with us.

Reviewed by
gemma j

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No, No, No, Please do not go there!!
I travel on business and leisure all around UK and Europe - this has to be the worst, dirtiest and most insecure 'hotel' i have ever stayed in - never, ever again!! All guest were disgusted by it. One couple even had a stranger wander into there room in middle of night - he had a key !!! Our bathroom had no tiles but rotten papaer hanging off the walls - honestly please stay away - this place deserves a visit from trading standards, because technicaly it is a hotel in reality its not!!!

Reviewed by
J Douglas

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful - but not for us!
If we were on a Stag or Hen night, then this would have been perfect - we had a family (4 single beds) room which was cheap and cheerful, on a busy & boozy high street with its own nightclub downstairs.
But unfortunately we booked this as a couple with a young baby trying to save a few quid and wished that we'd forked out a bit more! High points - cheap, free car parking, friendly service, enough brew kit to start up a cafe. Low points - the room was baking hot (and we had to precariously prop open the window with an ornament to let a bit of air through!), plastic mattress covers, wallpaper peeling off the walls, minging bathroom, noisy street outside and an even noisier nightclub downstairs!
There is definitely a place on the market for a hotel like this, but it wasn't really the place for a young family and we won't stay again.

Reviewed by
N Simpson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Third World comes to Leominster
Arrived on Friday afternoon for a 2 night stay. We were visiting for a weekend for a wedding and reception and just wanted somewhere to sleep for two nights.
When we arrived staff seemed completely disorganised and positively surly. Room was basic but good value for money, which was all we wanted. The room was not secure though - flimsy locks - and had obviously been broken into in the past. Bed was clean - but rest of furniture very cheap and dusty. We paid cash (card machine said to be "out of order") and eventually managed to get a handwritten receipt (you will have to insist). Given general lack of cleanliness decided to have breakfast elsewhere. On the cleanliness front, I would advise against using the bar's gents! Others in our wedding group decided to cancel the bookings they had made when they saw the rooms at the Royal Oak on Friday evening - they would share my views of this establishment.
Friday night was ridiculous. Loud party and later fighting in pub till 5am - only stopped when 2 NHS Ambulances were called to take some of those involved to Hospital.
Saturday night was an improvement. Pub almost empty with security staff on all doors. Try and keep out of the way of the "regular" Leominster humourist who finds his amusement playing with the pub's inflatable doll in the bar.
Left at Sunday lunchtime.
I have stayed in worse places - but only in the third world. Bit of a rip off really - but didn't let it spoil our weekend at an excellent wedding.

Reviewed by
Brian B

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was ok for the purpose of use
During breakfast myself and my 15 year ole goddaughter had to listen to the bar staff talking about their sexual activities they had the night before and fantasy they would like to try... Not age appropriate conversation, not professional conversation and not appropriate while people are trying to eat!

Reviewed by
Stavrina P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel would certainly benefit from a grand renovation. Old fashioned, beds mattress was just springs, however staff were really helpful and friendly, hotel very central, breakfast was great, and all in all for the price it was a pleasant stay

Reviewed by
P Hughes

From Prestatyn, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next