You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Royal Oak Hotel

3

South Street, Leominster, HR6 8JA

Price From 61.50 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (24)

17% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Alice B

  • June 2016

Not as bad as we thought

When we were given a flat to ourselves, I was impressed, we hadn't set our hopes high so we were pleasantly surprised, for the money it is worth it, the tv didn't work, but we bought entertainment expecting to have little there for us, our reservation was organised, as I was worried it might not have gone through, the beds were fine for the night and we had a fridge and the water seemed clean, we all had showers before hand, so didn't use the hot water, it wasn't 5 star but I've stayed at friends that are worse than this place.

We expected to worst but didn't get it.

  • I McClavin

  • April 2016

Do not stay here

Having been sent an email the day before I was due to travel telling me that there was no hot water apart from one shower, and no central heating, I reluctantly decided to take the room, as it was a bit late to make other arrangements and the alternative accommodation offered was too far out of town.

However, on the 2nd night I found myself locked out of the hotel altogether and could not gain access to my room. I would have been on the streets for a few hours if the neighbouring Hotel had not had a spare room available. The outside door at the Royal Oak was still deadlocked at 8:45 the following morning, and I had to wait for another party coming out of the hotel before I could finally get in. There were no staff to contact by phone overnight, and although the landlady has said someone was on duty, my hammering on the doors and windows was blatantly ignored. I finished up transferring to the other Hotel, and although my request for a refund for 3 nights has been initially turned down, the CAB advise me that I may still have a valid case under the Consumer Rights Act, which I am pursuing. The hotel is in a bad state of disrepair, broken windows boarded up and damp getting in various places.

  • S Pannell

  • December 2015

Cold night

Arriving at the hotel no one in reception tried the number given no answer.

Had to knock on bar door to get answered then the person wasn't sure that I was booking in taken to a room at the top of the hotel no power moved to another room on ground floor outside building was a decent size room double bed TVs an two arm chairs no heating . Booked for breakfast which was paid for at the time of booking an at 9.30am cannot get into hotel so no breakfast.

  • David S

  • October 2015

The Royal Oak in Leominster was the worst hotel that I've ever stayed in, the bar was closed due to the loss of their licence, I was never given the offer of food either evening meal or breakfast, I guess they didn't provide either.

The bed was very uncomfortable, to the point that I has very little sleep. The hotel wasn't particularly clean and generally in need of redecoration. I would not stay there again, neither would I recommend it.

  • B Kendrick

  • August 2015

Avoid

The hotel from the outside looked as If it was closed, when I eventually realised it was where I was staying I parked up.

On entering the hotel it was quiet and there was a notice to say the bar was closed. A friendly girl did check me in but she was rather vague as to why the bar was closed. I asked if there was food on to which the answer was no. I then asked if there was still breakfast in the morning to which the one word reply was again "no". I asked if they were being refurbished to which she said "well no.....I can't really say" ??. I later discovered by reading notices on the door that the premises had lost its licence and was under review hence the bar being closed. Not stated on LateRooms.com.

She took me to my room and the first thing that I noticed was the door, sorry, the piece of wood in the wall. The last time the door had been opened looked like it had been done so via a bomb. No apology or explanation as to why the door looked like this, and I know it's only a door but made get a feel as to what the rest of the hotel experience may be like.

I didn't bother walking anywhere for an evening meal as so attempted to log my device onto the weak wifi.

I closed all the ancient sash windows that were open but needn't have bothered as it didn't make much difference to the temp or the sound level as they were still pretty much open.

I laid on the bed and through my back could count all the springs in the cheap, also ancient, mattress.

In the morning I attempted to have a shower. It was nothing more than a cold dribble. I turned the hot tap on and the water that initially came out was Brown.

There were a few other odd things but I put this down to the age of the building.

Overall it was not a pleasant hotel experience and I would be a fool not to ask for a FULL REFUND. The staff were friendly enough but it would seem only there to give me my key and they take out from me again in the morning.

They said that payment had already been taken but didn't give me any receipt or invoice to say so. Currently going through complaint procedure with Laterooms. Its been 2 weeks and the Hotel are still not playing ball

  • paul dart

  • July 2015

disgusting

unprofessional and shouldn't be in this trade

  • D Walker

  • July 2015

Grubby

The staff are nice people but the whole place was so grubby, I have been in a teenagers room that was cleaner.

The cleaning crew must be a group of teenagers with bad eye sight. The dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Ian B

  • July 2015

Awful place to stay

The 'hotel' is part of a pub and nightclub and the room reminded me of my days living in squalid bedsits.

the window was rotten and wouldn't close (which didn't help the noise rom the nightclub). the door looked as though it had been kicked in and badly repaired several times and whilst there was a tv that didn't work.

  • Denise V

  • July 2015

Being renovated

The room was being renovated and had no architrave round the door, the new fire door had not been painted or varnished.

The room was a basic twin and for what we paid was worth it. Would like to see the hotel once all renovation has been completed as it had a lot of character. The staff were polite and helpful even though they doubled as bar staff

  • Susan Gould

  • June 2015

Not a good experience

I was also charged 5 pounds for a continental breakfast I didn't have because their chef was away on holiday?!