No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Coach House

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
The Coach House Hollow Oak, Haverthwaite, Cumbria, LA12 8AD
The Coach House is a Victorian property tastefully converted to living accommodation in the 1960s. It retains many of the original features.
Our situation on the outskirts of Haverthwaite gives easy access to the Central Lake District As well as the Western Lakes. We are approximately a twenty minute drive from Junction 36 on the M6 Motorway.
The Haverthwaite Steam Railway is about half a mile away and gives access to the "Steamers" on Lake Windermere. The closest Train Station is in Ulverston. The X35 Express Bus between Kendal and Barrow-in-Furness stops in Haverthwaite.
We do not provide evening meals but we have a good selection of Local Public houses and Hotels within a few minutes drive.
The owners Peter and Janet Smith were brought up in the Lakes and can provide information about the area and suggestions for outings as required.
We do not accept pets.
Picture of The Coach House, Haverthwaite, Cumbria at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Great Service. Fantastic breakfast. Perfrect location to visit southern lakes.

Reviewed by
R BERZINS

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B in the Lakes District
The Coach House was an excellent place to stay for a long weekend while we visited/explored the lakes district. Located in Haverthwaite, near Ulverston, Peter and Janet have a truly lovely place that is beautifully maintained both in and out. Our room was just what we needed with a comfortable bed, a great onsuite bathroom, and a lovely view out onto their well-maintained garden, the nearby bowls club, and fields/hills/trees in the background.
Though we chose the same thing for breakfast each day (full english) there was the option to change it up if we wished. The food was truly excellent, with as much coffee, tea and toast as we could wish for. If we had wanted, there was plenty of cereal, fruit, yoghurt to be had as well.
While not much is in the immediate area (walking distance), the Town of Ulverston is an easy 5 minute drive away and has several restaurants and a Booths supermarket, as well as an outdoor gear store in case you forgot your wet weather gear or hiking boots. There are also a number of other pubs located nearby, which Peter and Janet have pointed out in a book that they provide to all guests.
The location is also easy to access anywhere in the park. While some may prefer to stay in the heart of Windemere or one of the busier areas, this location was perfect for us as it was quiet, uncrowded, and easy to unwind when we returned "home" from our travels each day.
Definitely recommend and would certainly return ourselves.

Reviewed by
J Nissenbaum

From USA
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely feel
Lovely welcome and friendly hosts. Great location.

Reviewed by
C WOODWARD

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant !!!!!!!!!!!
We had a very enjoyable stay and the best hospitality we have ever had . The breakfast was very nice also.
I wish I could stay there longer

Reviewed by
RAMANUJA P

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very welcoming host..great breakfast..particularly good sausages !!!
beautiful views from our room

Reviewed by
paul n

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very welcoming and accommodating
This is the 2nd time that I've stayed at this bed and breakfast. Although it's just 50yds from the main road, the rooms are very quiet and comfortable. Plenty of parking in the bowls club car park to the left of the building but no lighting until you get closer to the house. Would be happy to stay here again for business or with my wife when exploring the lakes.

Reviewed by
R Parnell

From West Wickham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B and B
The couple who run this place are been friendly, relaxed and accommodating. Room is standard but well kept and everything you need is in there. Good price in comparison for comparable B and Bs. You are well looked after during your stay. Good breakfast.

Reviewed by
K Adamson

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect!
I was greeted by made me feel very much at home and couldn't do enough for me.
The room was lovely set in a beautiful old house. Everything was extremely clean and tidy. I mentioned that I would like to watch the rugby on sky and when I returned from eating at the local pub the TV was already on the correct channel in the sky lounge.
The owners got up to make me an early breakfast that was really excellent, everything you'd expect in a good hotel but with the addition of a cafetiere of ground coffee.
I really have nothing bad to say about this place. A lovely stay

Reviewed by
Scott Leach

From Pudsey, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wee weekend away to Lake District
Great stay, very comfortable, run by a lovely couple and great value for money. Would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
Karen Busby

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
michelle g

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next